We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Nice.”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Argonaut is a very nice hotel. It is beautifully decorated, the staff (from the bellman to the guest services) are wonderful and helpful and the location is perfect! The cocktail hour from 5:00-6:00pm is a nice perk that is very enjoyable. The things that didn't bowl me over were the beds (very hard), the charge for WIFI and the fact that there is no pool. This was a family trip with 2 kiddos ages 8 and 10 and they didn't like the hotel because there was no pool. I HATE that all hotels now feel like they need to gouge guests $12.99 for WIFI, it is absolutely ridiculous! With all that said I loved it and if it had only been my husband and I, I would have given it 5 stars. We got a room with a view of the harbor and I loved it very much.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank am88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi, am88,
I see we *almost* earned that 5-star rating, and perhaps we will next time when I tell you this great news: we actually have fast, free wifi for all members of our guest rewards program, Kimpton InTouch. And, of course, there's no cost to join, it's just a matter of telling us your preferences (pillow type etc) so we can cater to you better when you stay with us around the U.S. On the second note, I say we see if your kids can brave the cold waters of the Aquatic Park bay inlet next door. Not a pool per se, but you wouldn't believe how many people swim there! Brrrr....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,387
    1,550
    342
    127
    55
See reviews for
1,520
2,319
128
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,090)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Wouldn't normally pick a tourist zone hotel but the Argonaut is worth making an exception. Easy walking to Colombus Ave and North Beach as well as along all the piers. Taxi distance to Embarcadero BART. And in the middle of tourist stuff, if you must.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zdoctorsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hello and thank you, zdoctorsin! We are flattered to be the exception to your rule :). I think as far as tourist areas go, there is actually a nice mellow quality to this end of the waterfront. Definitely better than the Pier 39 or Union Square areas. Sometimes at lunch time I like to walk the park and beach next door, though I make sure to stop short of the chocolate and cupcakes at Ghirardelli Square--most of the time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shurlock Row, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Lovely three day stay at this hotel at the end of May. Quirky and ideally situated for all the sites. The hotel has all the amenities you would expect from a hotel such as this. A lovely touch is the "free" wine tasting every evening. Other than the perfect situation, right in the heart of Fishermans Wharf. the best thing about this hotel is the customer service. All the staff were friendly and helpful and even after 3 days knew us by name. Special thanks has to go to Joe on the front desk who helped us sort out a few things .Also thank you to the management who left a bottle of wine for us in our room to help us celebrate a special occasion. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thanks so much, Penny L! I love your headline, and I've actually already shared your review with Joe and our front of house manager. It's great to hear that the service made all the difference in your stay. And of course the charms of the building and free adult beverages never hurt, do they...? I hope you got to check out our bartender's new Cannery Sangria at the wine party. If not, come back! We'll be featuring it all summer long... :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed at the Argonaut for 2 nights prior to our cruise early in May. We chose it because of the great reviews here on Trip Advisor, and our experience whilst there was first class. The Staff were extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. The wine reception each evening was great way of relaxing after a tiring day, and if you book one of the upper rooms at the front overlooking the Bay, you look out straight across to Alacatraz. The morning of our cruise, we were able to see our ship sail past our bedroom window and into Pier 35 just down the road!! That was a bonus !! There are a good choice of restaurants opposite the Hotel, or else you can catch the Cable Car at it's Turntable just round the corner and it will take you straight to Chinatown with wonderful views on the way. The terminal for the HOHO buses is just 2 blocks away. There is absolutely no doubt that if we return to San Francisco, we will be staying at the Argonaut.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay view room for fantastic views over Alcatraz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandshineson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Wonderful, wonderful! Thanks so much, sandshineson. We will look forward to your return, and we certainly appreciate your review. It is always hard for me to decide whether the Bay View rooms overlooking the Golden Gate Bridge and Aquatic Park (cove) or those overlooking Alcatraz are more breathtaking, but I suppose we're spoiled regardless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Loved this hotel and would stay here again. The check-in was very easy. Our room was well-appointed and spotless. We had requested a bay view and our room looked directly out at Alcatraz with the Golden Gate bridge also visible at the side. The staff were helpful and every request was met. A special 'shout-out' for Ruthien at the concierge desk who was extremely helpful in booking us a great tour and dinner reservation.
There is a bike hire shop next to the hotel and a Starbucks on the rear corner of the block. It is so easy to walk from the hotel to all the attractions on Fisherman's Wharf but the hotel's location is on a quieter block so that the only noise I could hear from outside was that of the sea lions !

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade for the Bay view. You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
Green Features: Glad to see that the hotel practices good environmentally-friendly practices. Recycling bins were available and pre-set temperatures appreciated.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunskichicago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi, sunskichicago1,
I'm delighted to read that our location was perfect for your San Francisco adventures, and of course we are pretty lucky to have the views from here, too... We'll make sure to share your kudos with the housekeeping team and concierge as well. Thank you for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed in a Specialty suite for three nights in May. These rooms have great views of both the bridge and the bay and are extremely spacious (separate lounge/dining area). Nice bathrooms. Decorated in line with the overall nautical feel. Good beds but sleep quality might be improved by a choice of pillow type.
The staff were helpful and provided good service. The location of the hotel is great - just out of the wharf craziness but right next to it, close to the cablecar. There is an Avis and Hertz just along the street if you are doing a fly drive and are looking to head out, and there is a Starbucks at the back of the hotel. The afternoon wine social was nice (though thought they might have managed some Californian wine - it was Chilean!).
I wouldn't rate the attached Blue Mermaid - just par for the Wharf area (which isn't that great) but the Argonaut is a great base to head out to lots of better ones (e.g. Gary Danko is just up the street).
Overall a great stay, and glad we stayed here rather than in the city centre. Book a specialty suite if it's in your budget.

Room Tip: Book a specialty suite if it's in your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spold905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Wow, thank you, spold905! It's always extra special to receive five-star accolades from TripAdvisor's senior contributor. With 93 reviews under your belt, I can imagine you've enjoyed some great journeys, and we're proud that the Specialty Suite measured up! It is indeed spacious, and it's hard to beat that super-deep soaking tub with a view. The room is so popular, I haven't managed to treat myself and stay it in yet, but that's on my agenda!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Argonaut from May 25 to 29. We were happily greeted by the doorman as soon as we arrived. He took our bags and lead us to the front desk. Check-in was fast & simple. We arrived rather late at the hotel & missed complimentary happy hour but the front desk gave us vouchers for two drinks on them at their restaurant hotel and referred us to a nearby restaurant that we can have a quick bite to eat. Very thoughtful on both accounts.

The first two day we walked around fisherman's wharf! The hotel is located perfectly in the middle of so many great places to explore! Buena Vista diner (best Irish coffee ever!) along with many other restaurants and bars are conveniently located just steps away! The original SF trolly is just a minute away and hardly any line if you get there early! The sea lions At peir 39, & all the shops and restaurants there are just a stones throw away. San Francisco port is conveniently right there also if you happen to be cruising out of SF! The next day we walked around the city again and visited Golden Gate park which is quite a hike to take ( we took a cab back for about $28) the grounds there are really pretty and the Academy of Sciences museum has some great aquarium exhibits in it as well as other ones such as a skull exhibit and earthquake exhibit. The Costa Rica aquarium and animal exhibit was our favorite. Each night we enjoyed a complimentary happy hour at the Kimpton Argonaut and the next day they provided us with complimentary bikes to tour the city as well. Get there early though, as I think they only had 6-8 to provide. The bikes were awesome. We road down along the wharf to the Golden Gate Bridge and sat just below it and got to take many pictures. We then road all over the city including to the beach, back to Golden gate park, a few restaurants and a stop to see the "painted ladies." A few parts of the bike ride were challenging but coming from Fulton to Polk st from the painted ladies, avoided most uphill! The bikes were a great advantage to have from Argonaut!!! All in all we had a wonderful stay and when we come back to San Francisco we will definitely be returning to SF kimpton Argonaut!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thanks so much, Jessica S! I have already shared your rave review of the staff, and made sure to praise the front desk team on their thoughtfulness as you arrived at the hotel later in the evening in need of food & drink!
I'm glad you loved the experience, and got to enjoy the free bike rentals. Like you, I recommend folks visit the concierge for their rental early in the day (at or before when the desk opens at 8am!) to ensure they get "first dibs" since they're such a great value. I have never been ambitious enough to bike the Golden Gate Bridge, but I do know the views from there are a great reward :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,018 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#63 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,052 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing