We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Make sure this is the place you stay in San Francisco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Make sure this is the place you stay in San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

To be honest, I would normally have stayed at the Westin as I have used them before, but chose this hotel based on good reviews and the location. I used the shared shuttle service from the airport and was the last person to be dropped off at their hotel. This meant I got to see three other big, well known hotels on the way. I am sure they are very nice but they are all in amongst other buildings and you could be in any city in the world. We came over the top of a hill and I saw the bay - it took my breath away. Then we arrived at the Argonaut. It could not be in a more beautiful location. I was greeted first by the fantastic doorman who treated me like an old friend he was expecting. The rest of the hotel staff were the same. I have never stayed in a hotel and received such a welcome as this. I had a king bay view room (Room 416) and could see the Golden Gate Bridge, the Bay and the Cable Car turnaround from my window. The room was large and very comfortable. Although the hotel is in Fisherman's Wharf it is tucked away at the end so is not in the really busy touristy bit. I love this place - and if you stay there I am sure you will too.

Room Tip: If you want a great view ask for room 416 or another with a similar view. Some have views of the br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you so much, Happy202!
I just love this story of your shuttle passing by the other hotels and then... suspense... you arrive at the waterfront and find our little hideaway at the end of Jefferson Street in the brick Cannery building. Very cool moment, and what we boutique hoteliers always hope you'll experience approaching one of our hotels. Thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,132
    1,426
    324
    117
    53
See reviews for
1,402
2,133
117
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,001)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I just had a lovely weekend at the Argonaut in SF. The staff is lovely, specifically Federico, the bellmen, and concierge. The manager Annette is also highly professional and responsive. My room was a king with a sitting area and was very clean, beautifully decorated, and provided a very comfortable sleep. The restaurant is also good for breakfast and lunch. The lobby is comfortable and smells like fresh cookies and waffle cones that permeate from the neighboring Ben & Jerry's, which is obviously amazeballs. The Kimpton in touch program is also excellent and gives free credits as well as points toward future stays. It also caters to women travelers and the LGBT community; it's nice to know the hotel fosters an inclusive setting. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, despite the potentially over-touristy nature of fisherman's wharf as it is nonetheless a convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexMStunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
AlexMStunts, you crack me up!
I love this image of you soaking up the smell of waffle cones when it drifts into the lobby! As you say, the thing about being in an area that attracts tourists is that there's a lot to see, do, and taste. From the sea lions at Pier 39 (cutest ever!) to the Aquatic Park mini-beach next door, there is a lot to take in just within our mile of waterfront. I definitely recommend checking out some of the more residential neighborhoods nearby, too, though, like Russian Hill, North Beach, or the Marina. But I digress! Most importantly, I should thank you for recognizing the team's efforts, and giving that special praise to Federico and Annette! We appreciate your time and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
430 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Argonaut Hotel is a gem in the Fisherman's Wharf area. Great location and beautiful rooms. Places to visit nearby.. Go jogiing to Golden Gate Bridge through Chrissy Field, visit the Marina, go surfing near the beach, have breakfast in Fisherman's Wharf, rent a bike from the hotel and ride through the Presidio Park, tkae the cable car to Pacific Heights.. Definitely a winner for a touristic visit to San Francisco with family or friends or as a couple..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiddlingTravelNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thanks, FiddlingTravelNotes!
I'm delighted that you loved the location and rooms here, and of course a free bike rental never hurts, right? The views from the cable car as it ascends Pac Heights still take my breath away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I am so happy that we chose to stay here at the Argonaut. Absolutely loved every aspect of our stay. Staff were all friendly and efficient. Rooms were clean and spacious. Check-in was a breeze. We travel a lot and were very impressed with this hotel. The evening happy hour was wonderful. It allowed us to meet the other guests some of which gave us great ideas on what to do while i the city. Fantastic location. I will always stay here in the future when visiting San Francisco.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hooray! Thanks, TraceyG. This is just want I love to read: the balance of cleanliness, efficiency and friendliness, with some fun at the wine party thrown in. We all love to talk about the local area, so feel free to hit up any of the team for suggestions of things to see, do, and EAT -- we San Franciscans love our dining after all...
We'll look forward to your next visit. Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Wish we had stayed longer at this great hotel. We were tired from our long flight from Melbourne and delighted we could get into our room at midday. The staff were really great and even remarked on the fact we were having our second Saturday!
The room (as well as the whole hotel) was well appointed and any disappointment that we didn't overlook the wharf was soon forgotten as it was quiet and just right for catching up on the missed nights sleep.
We had dinner in the restuarant which was very tasty and good value for money.
The high light (apart from the lovely bath products) had to be the free 'happy hour' which was open to anyone and was great to get to know people.....optional donation to charity.
All the staff we encountered were friendly and knowledgeable....I loved the uniform the porter staff wore.....all just added that bit of extra something.
Unfortunately we only had 3 nights booked which wasn't long enough to explore this vibrant city.We will definitively be using this hotel again as it's location was just right.
I will be searching for Kimpton group hotels where ever we go from now on, great value for money.

Green Features: I thought the idea of a free bar with donations to charity was a really good way of getting people together and raising much needed cash.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msox106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Argonaut Hotel was such a great find for our family trip to San Francisco. The hotel is gorgeous, stylish and well appointed with nice places to sit and enjoy a glass of wine or take a break at the end of the day. The staff were so friendly, and especially attentive to our kids who both looked forward to returning to the hotel each day with updates for their 'friends' at the bell stand. High-fives and visits to the treasure chest always followed. The room was comfortable, spacious and had everything we needed to be comfortable during our stay. The kids even got to 'take care' of a goldfish for the duration! Just part of the kids' welcome - which also included kid-sized animal print robes (to match our own) and a scavenger hunt through the lobby. All around just a fantastic place to stay, and while the Wharf area is very heavily touristed, we felt that the hotel was perfectly situated for all of our exploring and we could truly escape the crowds into our own oasis. The Blue Mermaid restaurant was also one of the highlights with equally friendly staff, great food and excellent value. Highly recommend it - and we'll be back on our next visit to the City!

Room Tip: Do ask for an outside room - the interior courtyard doesn't have the charm that you'd want i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmargani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here only one night, before flying back to Australia. What a wonderful place. All the staff from the doorman onwards were very friendly and helpful, which is the most important thing for us. Such interesting decor,with beautiful rooms. Loved the chowder in the hotel restaurant. We're sorry we couldn't stay longer. Right near Fisherman's Wharf and very easy to get into the centre of town.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lottiesandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thanks, lottiesandy! "Stay too short" is the ideal complaint for any of us to read. I'm glad the location and decor were perfect for you, and thanks for checking out the chef's famous chowder. Sometimes it is fun to try the sampler, though of course the specialty of the house remains the crab & corn recipe. I think it's the salty/sweet combo that does it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,415 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 235 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,400 reviews
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#17 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#32 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,843 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing