We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband found this hotel and it was a very good choice. It was the for tail end of a special trip to celebrate our 20th anniversary and it made a lovely finish to the holiday.
The decor is quirky and stylish; the staff are very friendly, efficient and helpful; there's even a "Happy Hour" with free drinks every afternoon. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom well-appointed. Look out for the techy "Privacy" light instead of a card "Do Not Disturb" notice to hang on the door. There was also a USB charging hub in the room, which is very useful these days. We had a room upgrade on arrival which meant we had a sea view - directly across to Alcatraz.
The position is ideal for visitors to the city, as you are right on Fishermans' Wharf, close to Pier 39 and to the Powell St cable car line, as well as being close to the F line and bus routes.
We ate at the Blue Mermaid which is attached to the Hotel, and that was very good. You are also next door to the maritime visitors' center (there's even a door from the lobby) and this is well worth a visit, especially as it's free.
If you have a late flight, they will store luggage free of charge. We also arranged our return trip to the airport via the exremely helpful concierge.
Overall, we had a really enjoyable stay and I'd love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thanks so much, Melanie A! I love reading reviews where the guest got the chance to really "soak up" the different aspects of the experience here, from the restaurant to the wine party to the FREE museum operated by our friendly landlord, the National Park Service. Did you know their park rangers also lead historic walking tours beginning at 10:30am on Saturdays and Sundays? Fun stuff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,750)
There are newer reviews for Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,180 - 2,186 of 5,750 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

This was our first trip to SF, we chose the hotel because we are very much into themed hotels and this nautical themed Boutique Hotel seemed perfect for us... turned out it was!

We spent four days at Argonaut Hotel and stayed in the King Bay View Suite. The Suite is beautiful, very spacious (ca. 900 sq ft). We had view to both Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge. The suite was divided into living room and sleeping room, separated by a sliding door. The living room had a big dinner table, sofa, tv, dvd player. The sleeping room one comfy King Size Bed, another big tv, Minibar etc.

The bathroom was very spacious as well, we had a soaking tub, a shower, big sink and a lot of vanity articles to choose from. If you have forgotten something (Shavers, etc.) you could easily call the concierge to arrange that to be brought to your room.

The wine hour was perfect, this is every day from 5-6 p.m., you can get Wine, local beer and Apple Cider and relax in the beautiful lobby area. Great start for a night out.

We had Room Service once for breakfast. It was very efficient, breakfast choice was good, but quite expensive. We also had breakfast at the Hotel Restaurant, the choice was also good but again, we paid almost 50 USD for a breakfast for two. You could easily go to Starbucks, which is just around the corner, and get something for 20 bucks.

But other than that, we can really recommend this hotel, the location directly at Fishermans Warf was perfect, you can take the Cable Car (stop right around the corner) or the Tram (5min walk to the M Tram) and get to the City centre. We took a cab once, it was 13 dollars from Civic Center to the hotel, couldn't complain about that.

The staff was very nice, from bellman, receptionist, concierge, everybody gave us a warm welcome and a good experience. Housekeeping was very efficient and everything was very clean.

If we go to SF again (which is planned because we loved the city), we would definitely go back to the Argonaut hotel.

Room Tip: The Suites are very spacious, and on the upper floors (3 and 4) you have a great view over the Bay A...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnkeMarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

I just can't get enough of this word "Perfect" this week! Thanks, AnkeMarita! I'm glad you loved the spacious suite and the sort of "luxury oceanliner" vibe our designers were going for during the remodel. I like to recommend the crab benedict in the restaurant, though I suppose I should also mention the oatmeal for a healthier and more economical option :). We also try to defray your costs a bit with the free Starbucks coffee in the rooms, and the other perks like free wifi and the "Forgot it?! We've got it!" toiletry items you mention. Some guests also get a kick out of the yoga mats in the room, but I am not much for working out on vacation :).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is a really comfortable, clean hotel with friendly staff. You can't beat the location and the view looking out over the Golden Gate Bridge and on Ghiradelli Square.
The Blue Mermaid Restaurant is casual and has accomodating staff.
Our room could have used more counter space in the bathroom but otherwise was great.

Room Tip: They are pet-friendly and environmentally friendly. We had a room over looking the courtyard that wa...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thanks so much, Nicole S!
I am glad that the location was perfect for you, and I think that the view rooms on the West side (overlooking the Bridge) are my favorite, too, though the Alcatraz views on the North side are unique, too. Both are such special "only in SF" vistas! We'll share your praise with the crew here, and I know the servers at the Blue Mermaid will also be happy to know that their helpfulness made the difference in your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed here between Thurs 1st & Sun 4th May 2014 and it has everything a tourist of San Francisco would want, great 5 star service, right on Fishermans Wharf, only a 10 min walk to Pier 39, the Trolley Car Turning Circle close by and the hop on, hop off bus main stop just around the corner and too many excellent restaurants near by to try them all, we had just a great stay. Free beer and wine daily between 5 & 6pm helps, but with lovely rooms and excellent service throughout, can be the only choice for top end hotel lovers in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_cadmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thanks, the_cadmans!
I love to see two "perfect location"s posted in a row! Woohoo!
I'm not sure if we had the chance to meet at the wine party, but I'm happy you enjoyed it and the service overall. Did you get to see the silly and charming sea lions at Pier 39? They are my favorite part!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The service at this hotel was outstanding. From check in to check out nothing was too difficult for the staff. A surprise extra was that they got boarding passes without our having to sign onto a computer. I had sent a wheelchair in advance of my stay and they assembled it without our asking. When we needed to change rooms due to our request they were most accommodating.
Andrea and Denise were especially helpful as we're other staff

Room Tip: If you are slightly handicapped ask for a handicapped room as the commode is a bit low
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bckay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi, bckay1, and thanks for your review! I am glad the staff was so helpful, and YES we are all about making boarding passes easy with three ways to do it, all of them FREE: in the business center, from the fun new lobby iPads, and via the front desk agents for the full service option. For the ADA rooms, please know that we have many options, including rooms that offer accessible features and others that offer those features plus a "roll in shower" (tub alternative). Feel free to drop us a line if you have any questions about which one you want to reserve. We will look forward to your return! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

travelled to San Francisco as a group of 6 to celebrate our parents 50th anniversary. Even upon arrival we were so surprised by the amazing staff. We arrived at 9 AM and even though check -in wasn't until 3PM they not only made rooms available to us but even put us all on the same floor. When we returned from a bit of sightseeing and lunch my parents were thrilled to find in their room a bottle of champagne and truffles.

The doormen were so courteous and very funny! The concierge were above and beyond helpful!!! as were the front desk staff. The wine hour every night was such a lovely treat and a great way to begin our evenings. The hotel is perfectly located and the rooms were so nice and clean and very quiet. We couldn't have asked for more!! it made for a perfect 5 day home away from home! thanks to all the staff that made our parents' 50th anniversary a memory of a lifetime!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

We're flattered, Linda B! What a heartwarming review, and rewarding for us to know that we were a meaningful part of this 50th anniversary.
The doormen are funny indeed, and it's always a great idea to tap their knowledge and take full advantage of the concierge service. I'm also still picking up tips from our own guests at that nightly wine reception. It's fun to constantly see the city through new eyes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Could not have asked for a better location - on the same block as the famous Hyde-Powell street cable car turntable and catty-corner from the famous Buena Vista Cafe - home of Irish Coffee. The staff were very friendly and always willing to help with any questions we had. The decor was lovely, and I have NEVER had more comfy pillows in a hotel! Free wine/beer happy hour between five and six gives you time to make the evening bus tour with CitySightseeing or catch an early dinner and just stroll the wharf. A very short walk to Ghirardelli Square, the park below or the beach. I would stay there again in a flash.

Room Tip: There is no pool, so that doesn't figure in. Rooms on the "cannery" side are quieter t...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thanks so much, ColleenH! I'll have to tell the crew here their "wonderfulness" made the difference in your stay. I'm sure the proximity to Irish coffee followed by the fluffy pillows you mention didn't hurt, but we'll give the staff all the credit ;).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#46 of 229 in San Francisco
2,210 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,310 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
3,280 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $283 - $671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing