We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Suites at Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Columbus Motor Inn(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,113)
Filter reviews
6,113 results
Traveler rating
3,806
1,714
384
147
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,806
1,714
384
147
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnautical themeblue mermaidfisherman's wharfthe golden gate bridgecable carchowdermaritime museumgreat locationghirardelli squareirish coffeebuena vistabay viewking suitewine hourwharf areawine receptionevery evening
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,533 - 2,538 of 6,113 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Talk about convenient location! right beside the trolley to head into the city and right at Fishermans Wharf to walk along to all the attractions and Alcatraz. The hotel theme was just beautiful and rooms were lovely - a little smaller than we'd had the rest of the trip but still lovely. We were only here for 3 nights and the weather was terrible and rainy for most of it but San Fran still never disappoints. From the hotel to the city - it has the most amazing character!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracysmallman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Two perfects in one headline -- we love it! Thanks, Tracysmallman!

I am glad the rain didn't get you down. (After the drought, many locals were taking it as a sign that it was finally time to check out the local museums or ... dare I say... do taxes :).)

I hope we were able to warm you up with some complimentary wine or chowder. When in doubt, it's all about putting on a silly leopord print robe and enjoying an in-room movie after dinner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

It was my families first time in San Francisco and we booked this hotel based on all the fabulous reviews. I am so glad we did! The hotel is right on the wharf in the center of everything. The hotel staff and doormen?... (I do not know the proper name for the gentlemen who stand outside the hotel) were so friendly and accommodating. The hotel lobby is nicely decorated and the 5pm free "happy hour" was a great way to unwind after a long day walking around the city. The rooms are very nice and clean. We have absolutely no complaints and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thanks so much, SunnyNJ! I'm glad we were the perfect place for you, and that you enjoyed unwinding at the evening wine party. We'll share your praises with the doormen in their fun puffy sleeves and pith helmets, too! They wear that crazy uniform with charm and pizzazz!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Our family of four stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights. We had a 1 BR corner suite on the 3rd floor. View was awesome! Golden gate out one side and Alcatraz out the other. We like comfortable not overly elegant when traveling with the family. This was perfect. A nautical theme with exposed beams and brick - they did a great job on the renovation. While we were right on top of the main street that feeds all of the wharf touristy stuff - heard NO street noise at night:) So most important aspect of a hotel - good night sleep after touring all day - A+. Suite has just one bath off of bedroom - 1 1/2 or 2 would have been ideal. Toiletries they provide and offer to provide are outstanding and thoughtful especially with all of the restrictions when flying. They offer a free happy hour every night in their lovely/cozy lobby with wine for adults and juices for the kids featuring California products. It has a big gas fireplace, which was nice as it can be cool. Location is great for touring the wharf (Alcatraz, sea lions, and piers) with easy access to other neighborhoods - China and Italy and access to the street car end line. It also allows pets. So we thought it was a great location for a family trip - but if you want romantic - might look elsewhere. Staff from door men to the check in desk to the concierge were all awesome and helpful when advice was needed. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the west or north side so you can see either Alcatraz or the Golden Gate.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Hi, Kathy! Thanks for your review! I just love suite 345. Both 345 and 445 are our "Specialty Suite View" rooms, known for those corner vistas of both the Bridge and Alcatraz. I know you probably didn't get to enjoy the deep Jacuzzi tub with water views in all its glory since it was a family trip, but I do highly recommend taking some of the complimentary wine party drinks upstairs for a good long soak!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at the Argonaut for 3 days & attended a meeting there of our professional group. Great (tourist) location almost at water's edge & close to Ghirardelli. Busy hotel. Comfortable room, except for the scarily high beds. Forgot to ask why these were so high. Another scary item was an enormous round mirror at the foot of my bed. At night, with lights off, it looked like a monster tunnel. We had no view, but we hadn't asked for one, having a bathtub was more important. As usual, the evening glass of wine was welcome, although this happy hour was a crowd scene. Had to climb a hill behind the hotel to get coffee(Starbucks) in the early morning. Our meeting room was adequate although full of big square columns, which we presumed were unavoidable in an older building in the earthquake zone.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay view, especially if it is your first trip to SF.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank futurist-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Hi, Futurist-on-the-Go!
Thanks to you and your group for checking out the Argonaut. I see your meetings must have taken place in the Maritime Room. That space does have fun historic columns, and the advantage of indoor/outdoor access to the Del Monte Cannery Courtyard. For the future (so to speak), we do also offer a boardroom space and a 3-part ballroom that I believe is the Wharf's largest unobstructed open meeting space.
Next time, you may like to try one of our accessible rooms with the lower beds. They are still a Sealy pillowtop, but on a different foundation. Also, if you prefer not to make Starbucks in your room, we are happy to deliver room service. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

this hotel is perfect for a first time visit to san fran. we could walk to any pier or any local activity. however in this area everything shuts down by 7 pm and there is no nightlife. the room was beautiful, but when they say no view they mean no view. we didnt have our room cleaned one day until almost 5 pm and the woman told us that they had staffing issues for the day and she had to leave at 530. the staff were abundantly friendly and helpful.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BelindaG912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thanks, Belinda G! I'm happy that staff was so "abundantly friendly" - love that, great wording! And please know that if you ever want your room serviced at a certain time we can make sure to plan the service to work best with your days' adventures out and about. Speaking of adventures: you might like some of the night life in North Beach (our "Little Italy") or in the young and vibrant Marina district next door. We can make some recommendations of walkable places when you're back in town. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews