We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first trip to san fran”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 21, 2014

this hotel is perfect for a first time visit to san fran. we could walk to any pier or any local activity. however in this area everything shuts down by 7 pm and there is no nightlife. the room was beautiful, but when they say no view they mean no view. we didnt have our room cleaned one day until almost 5 pm and the woman told us that they had staffing issues for the day and she had to leave at 530. the staff were abundantly friendly and helpful.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Belinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thanks, Belinda G! I'm happy that staff was so "abundantly friendly" - love that, great wording! And please know that if you ever want your room serviced at a certain time we can make sure to plan the service to work best with your days' adventures out and about. Speaking of adventures: you might like some of the night life in North Beach (our "Little Italy") or in the young and vibrant Marina district next door. We can make some recommendations of walkable places when you're back in town. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,770)
There are newer reviews for Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,218 - 2,224 of 5,770 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This was a great location; we had a view of the Golden Gate Bridge (in the distance), room was lovely, it's right next door to the tram stop (great for beating the queues) and easy access to all the Piers. Only downside was no bar for an evening drink. There is a wine bar and a restaurant attached to the hotel but these were shut by 9.30. Staff are friendly and as there was no bar we sat in the lobby people watching by the fire which was nice.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Wutheringheight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Hi, WutheringHeight!
I am always jealous of folks sipping wine by the fire late in the evening. Another great option (albeit off property) is Jack's bar across the courtyard. They have a lot of local charm and an amazing selection of beers on tap.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel made our stay in America from the moment we met Jon the doorman to the time we left felt like family ,rooms were great ,daughter had her birthday there and when we came back we had a gold fish in our room with chocolate's and sparkling apple juice, well done to all,

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haddockSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thanks, HaddockSussex!
I'm thrilled that your daughter enjoyed the special birthday treats and that John made everyone feel so at home from the first moment. He's a good egg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and had a fantastic time. Room was spacious and had a lovely bed and good size bathroom. Hotel left a bottle of wine in room to help me celebrate my birthday.You are right next to the cable car turnaround and fishermans wharf and a short walk to pier 39. All the staff were friendly and helpful although I have to say so was everyone we met in this great city. We had a great time here and would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jonanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thanks, Jonanden!
Happy birthday to you once again, and I'm glad that you loved the friendly San Franciscans here (and especially the Argonaut crew)! Who wouldn't be happy when blessed to live so close to the bay, vistas, history, restaurants... don't get me started! We try to remember that folks come from all around the world to see the sights here. Sometimes I step outside just to look at the Golden Gate Bridge on a quick break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

For a nice hotel and very central
Next to the major attractions on Fishermens wharf
No internal restaurant and the attached one is average
Very many eating options within walking distance
Parking is in an adjacent garage and expensive
Rooms are very nice with a Marinas theme and quite spacious
Staff and service very friendly

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Hi, Brian M,
I see you were just with us for a quick trip, and hopefully the hotel's location made it easy to "soak up" a lot in a short time? As you mention, the rooms are very large -- especially by SF standards -- and comfortable for longer visits. I hope we'll have the chance to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We asked for and received a room w/ a view of the Golden Gate Bridge. The bed was rock hard, but some may like that. Pillows were just what I wanted, so that was a plus. all 3 concierge were super helpful and booked us into Ideale for 2nd night; we'd book Boulevard for 1st -both excellent. found us best routes for car, shuttle, taxi...Room was not quite as clean as we'd thought, found an old M&M and someone else's Victoria's Secret tag by the trash can. Bath products smelled disgusting - don't know why Kimpton uses them. Towels are threadbare. The lobby area is crazy noisy -like Disney World or preschool, so don't expect peace & quiet anywhere but in your own room. Didn't bother eating in their restaurant, but did do room service, delivered when we wanted it and was very good.
If you must be in Fisherman's Wharf, this is a great spot.

Room Tip: ask for 316 - great view of Golden Gate Bridge
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etakwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Etakwill,
I can see you must have been staying with us during the busy Spring Break / Easter week with so many kids on vacation :). I see that you still got some nice "quality time" with the concierge, and Ideale and Boulevard are both neat SF restaurants to try. I'm glad the Blue Mermaid's room service was also to your liking! Did you get to try the famous chowder? They're all great, but the crab & corn variation is pure magic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed at the Argonaut for one week at the end of March. We were greeted warmly by the front desk staff and a small problem with our reservation was resolved quickly. We enjoyed a complimentary bowl of chowder and glass of wine while we waited. We were disappointed that our request for a room with a view was not granted. We had made the request several weeks prior to check-in and were assured by the manager that a note to this effect had been made on our file. Despite the request, our first room had no view at all, and looked out onto a roof and other hotel rooms. After mentioning this to the bellboy we were taken to a room that overlooked the courtyard. The view was hardly spectacular but it turned out to be a great room anyway, very quiet and easy to access via the stairwell. Our bed may have been the best bed we've ever slept in. The ocean air and daily walking probably helped, but we slept like rocks every night. The hotel was very quiet, clean and comfortable. It is also located within walking distance of many sights and attractions, including Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Alcatraz Tours, and a wide range of great restaurants. Other SF sights were easy to access via public transportation, such as the cable car or F train, both of which stopped very close to the hotel. The daily wine reception was a nice touch but there was rarely any place to sit and we attended maybe only once or twice. For our purposes, a light breakfast would have been preferable, but we welcomed the opportunity to drink a morning coffee while sampling some of the delights at local bakeries. It should be noted that we are an older couple and the Argonaut is very much a family place. There were plenty of families with younger children and pets around the hotel. However, we were away most of the day and in the evenings their presence didn't seem to be an issue. Overall, we loved this place and we would highly recommend it to anyone looking for first rate accommodation close to many of SF's great attractions.

Room Tip: We ended up being grateful for a 2nd floor room near the stairwell. This allowed us easy access to t...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Hi, JulienH -

I'm sorry, I see that I have inverted my responses to your review and the adjacent "Great hotel! Great location!" review from Colin52. Whoops! In any case, thank you both for your reviews.

I see that you were not thrilled with the restaurant here, though I hope that we found some other great dining options in the neighborhood that you preferred? North Beach has some great Italian dining right behind us, or it is also fun to walk/cab into the adjacent Marina neighborhood for some neighborhood boutiques and people watching...

Thanks for your kind praise of the rooms and the staff. We'll let them know their service shined!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
2,225 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
3,295 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $283 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing