We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect.....”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We chose to stay here for an extra few days as a couple after being in Orlando and Las Vegas with friends and we couldn't have picked a better place. Right from check in with the cheery Lavon we found every single member of staff couldn't do enough. Their can do attitude was fantastic.
A lovely room overlooking the cable car terminus was brilliant and the highlight of our stay was the free use of hotel bikes to cross the Golden Gate Bridge.
For us the location was excellent and complimentary wine each evening was an added bonus!
Couldn't recommend this place more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silversurfer020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi, there, Silversurfer020!
I've already shared this heartwarming review with Miss Lavon and her manager. It's great to hear the team earned high praise from one of TripAdvisor's "Senior Reviewers."
I'm happy that you had a chance to take advantage of our bike rentals and pedal over the Bridge for free (well, unless you count the cost of feeling the burn, right?! Hello, ferry boat home!!)
Hopefully our paths will cross back here at a future wine party :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,536
    1,606
    357
    136
    56
See reviews for
1,617
2,411
133
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in October 2013 having stayed previously. This is a very smart hotel with excellent staff. The location is great being next to the cable car turnaround and by the Bay. The surrounding area is very good and feels safe, Each time I have stayed I have had a room with a view of the Golden Gate Bridge which is a lovely view but you must decide if the extra cost is worth it especially if you will not be in your room too much. I am very disappointed that breakfast is not included as the room price per night is expensive and the hotel has to have these facilities anyway. Almost everything is an extra except that the hotel has some free bikes available but you must get to reception at 8am to stand any chance of getting them. This was a nice extra over our previous visits and having to hire a bike next door.
If you are staying only for a couple of nights it is worth having a rooms with views which are large and quite well maintained but our room was looking slightly tired. Stay for a week and it is very expensive as you will spend hardly any time in the hotel, I do not recommend eating at the hotel unless you are too tire as there is better choice nearby and in the city.
The evening free wine event is a good idea but far too early and we did not manage to get back in time any evening as we would rather spend the day site seeing the beautiful city.
The windows in our room were very dirty and so you could not make the most of the view so we would not have bothered if we had known.
I would stay again but only for a couple of day max as there are very good hotels nearby but at a more sensible price considering you spend little time in your room. I just love San Francisco but don't drive but use the fantastic public transport and get the multiple days tickets at the cable car turnarounds, great saving and so much fun exploring the city this way.

Room Tip: get a room on the top floor and away from the lifts. don't get a room with an adjoining door wit...
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved the free bikes but get up early to get one. one negative is that you now get the soap and shampoo in dispensers fixed to the walls which I hate.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi, Simon, and thanks for coming back to see us again! I'm glad you had a fabulous time in the city, and also happy to report that yesterday we cleaned the windows so the only thing to obscure a Bridge view would be the city's signature fog :). That said, all of our rooms are quite spacious by SF standards, so, as you mention, you could also enjoy a great experience in a Deluxe or Standard room. These offer the same decor and service, of course, and with the same access to those free "goodies" like the in-room coffee, wifi, Forgot It, We've Got It items, Bigelow bath products, laptop-sized safe, nightly wine party, and bike rental program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Denver Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I hosted a group of company colleagues and spouses from Russia and the Ukraine. We arrived middle of the evening from an industry convention in Las Vegas. The concierge had reserved a table in the hotel's Blue Mermaid restaurant. The food was very good, but the big benefit was being able to avoid a trek offsite after arrival. The location enabled those who wanted to limit their walking around to enjoy the waterfront, including Fisherman's Wharf. It was also convenient to the cable car and street trolley, which were used to get around various parts of the city.

Service by the front desk staff, concierge and doormen was all top shelf. I had previewed the lobby and a guest room on a previous trip to SF, so I knew what to expect. My colleagues loved the guest rooms' nautical décor and the lobby with comfortable sitting around the fireplace. From the Argonaut we made day trips to redwoods in Armstrong State Park (Muir shutdown, besides Armstrong is much better than Muir), Sonoma and Napa. I'm glad we stayed in SF, as we were able to get to great SF restaurants each evening.

The price we paid for rooms (corporate rate) was not cheap, but worth every penny. This place is so much nicer than a big chain cookie cutter hotel.

Thanks Argonaut!

Room Tip: If you want a very quiet room ask for an interior one. No view but very quiet, and who wants to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi, Alvin V! Thanks for painting this delightful picture of your stay. It sounds like you really got to take advantage of things near and far -- from the Blue Mermaid restaurant right here all the way to Armstrong State Park! I hope you got to check out the crazy local fish food trucks as well! We will let the "top shelf" staff know your praises, and the fact that you said we were NOT cookie cutter. That speaks to our very core philosophies of service and design! You are a true "Kimptonite" :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Despite the excellent previous reviews we were arriving skeptics. The hotel is really close to all the tourist traps and the location could imply that this could be just a mediocre place. How wrong we were!

The service mindfulness of this place is outstanding and we were treated in an excellent way from pulling up to the hotel until checking out. All the staff we encountered were really nice. And the service concept goes beyond just nice manners; it is obvious that the business is centered around providing an excellent experience for guests.

We had a nice room with a view of the Golden Gate Bridge. Spacious, clean and up to date. The view option does cost a little extra and isn't really that important but nice...

The only disappointment was the breakfast restaurant. Not very tasty, expensive and there are many far better places to enjoy breakfast nearby. Like the Hollywood Café - check out that review! :)

So - management of the Argonaut: Your next challenge is to get the restaurant up to the standard of rest of your excellent place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuitePickyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Well, hello, QuitePickyTraveller. If a five-star review weren't good enough all on its own, your moniker makes the honors that much sweeter!
We will look into your feedback with our restaurant colleagues and also make sure to share your high praise with the team here. We just finished our regular window-washing and the views of the Golden Gate Bridge are stunning on this sunny day. I hope you'll let us "spoil" you again soon ;).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I think this hotel has many positive aspects. The location is right next to all the tourist stuff. Not ideal but nice in some ways because it's very easy to get a taxi to anywhere you want to be. We had trouble checking in because some information was not processed correctly on their end, but they made it right and it eventually all worked out. The rooms are nice and spacious. The views are wonderful from the Bay Side!!! Staff was friendly. We did not dine in the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay Side Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi, Corylyn,
I suppose it's like they say, "When in Rome..."
Sometimes people tell me they are not sure they want to be near the tourist attractions, but of course so many are attractions for a reason. I'm glad you loved the waterfront views here and hopefully you got to check out Alcatraz or ferry over to Sausalito. You can also find a lot of locals at the Market/Embarcadero intersection where the Ferry Building hosts gourmet restaurants and purveyors. It's THE place to be every Saturday morning for the weekly farmers market extravaganza. It is also fun to walk or cab into North Beach, Chinatown, and Polk Gulch/Russian Hill and the Marina/Cow Hollow neighborhoods (all right near the hotel). Hopefully we can help point you in some fun directions if you come and visit us again! I'll make sure to let the team know that you liked your room and their friendly service -- thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a really great hotel. Staff are outstanding, in particular, Blase on reception was exceptional. Breakfast is first class. Our room was well equipped and offered a good view of Alcatraz.

It's right next to the cable car turnaround, so it's really easy to get public transport to the rest of the city.

The icing on the cake is "compulsory" free drinks between 1700 and 1800 in the lobby. I haven't come across this before and it surprised me how many people we got to know that otherwise we'd never have spoken to.

Only mild criticism is room 411, one of the king suites, is above Starbucks which opens at 0500. The Starbucks staff appear to start setting up at 0430 when my wife and I were woken by them moving supplies around and playing music. To their credit, the hotel staff moved us as soon as we spoke to them about it. I suggest that the hotel management needs to do something about this as 411 is an incredible room, but I wouldn't stay in it again unless the Starbucks problem was resolved.

An outstanding hotel with outstanding staff. I'd be delighted to visit again.

Room Tip: Avoid the corner of Hyde Street and Beach Street - this was noisy throughout the night. Avoid room 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hello and thank you, James E!
I heard about that little morning jam session in Starbucks and did reach out to the regional manager. She trained the new shift leader to never turn the music up like that again, and all has been smooth sailing since! Thank you for bringing it to our attention while you were here so that we could fix the problem.
Thanks also for the high praise of the wine party and of Blase, our longtime character here at the front desk. We'll make sure to share your review with him :).
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We loved this hotel - friendly staff, spacious rooms, quiet, but near transportation and the waterfront. We would definitely stay there again - has personality, different than a typical chain hotel, made both my teenage daughter and my mother happy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRichards19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Well, TRichards19, I am terribly upset: I cannot believe that a guest from my own hometown passed through our doors and I don't think I had the chance to meet you!
At least you and the family loved the visit, so perhaps we'll see you back here in the future. In the meantime, give my best to Maine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,243 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#42 of 229 in San Francisco
2,136 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#92 of 229 in San Francisco
95 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,215 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing