We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Made our trip!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel with a great theme. Very friendly service and all the trimmings including free alcohol in the early evening! Result! Great location, couldn't have asked for better location. Our only criticism is that the walls are thin and we had some noisy children next to our room. Valet parking was also very easy. Although overall it was the most expensive hotel on our tour. But you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoopsnakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello, Hoopsnakers! We're delighted to be your favorite hotel of the trip, and that valet was a seamless part of the experience as well. I am not sure if you got to visit our restaurant, but the Blue Mermaid is a fun nautical chowder house as well. A lot of the race watchers have enjoyed evening drinks or dinners on our heated patio. It looks marvelous!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,500
    1,587
    352
    133
    56
See reviews for
1,582
2,389
133
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The nautical theme at Argonaut was well done. The beautiful wood beams and the subtle octopus themed bathroom wall paper were all nice touches. I don't know I'd spend the extra $$$ for "bay view" since you had to crane your neck to see it through a busy/touristy street. But service was great. The impressive lighthouse bulb at the entrance and the fireplace in the lobby made it very hip but cozy. Highly recommend if you don't mind all the tourists...but then again you're in San Fran and tourists are unavoidable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi, Amy L - I know what you mean! When in Rome... as they say...
There is really something to be said for being in the SF waterfront at the heart of it all, where you can eat that sourdough bread bowl and hop a boat to Alcatraz. These things are popular for a reason, right?! I'm glad you had a great time and felt our humble home was hip & charming -- thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

.... extremely disappointed with the location of our room. Came all the way from Australia to see 4 days of my favourite sport, Americas Cup Yachting Finals, between USA & our heroes - Team NZ! Paid a premium price for a Bay View room overlooking the race course, but have only a fine view of the queues for the cable car, a wedge of the bay looking back to the bridge, and a big tree ! Apart from that, location of the hotel is superb, staff are excellent, and Happy Hour is unbeatable ! The room we have got (326) is otherwise excellent. We love the doormen's garb, very reminiscent of a Monty Python skit !
Shane & Susan Doyle

Room Tip: If you want a Bay View room, might pay to spell that out clearly when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi, Shane D,
I'm sure you're a happy camper given Team NZ's recent victories out on the Bay! It is always hard to predict whether a guest will prefer the Golden Gate Bridge or Alcatraz side of the property for their view room, so, YES, please do feel free to drop us a line before your next visit and we'll do our best to make sure you have a Northern view if that's your pick! I'm glad you were so wowed by our location and the staff, so hopefully it won't be long before your return :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

From start to finish our stay in the Argonaut was amazing. From the time you step onto the pavement outside the hotel you are treated warmly and the booking in was friendly and efficient. Our room was beautiful, so comfortable and spacious, it was a pleasure to return to it at the end of a busy sightseeing day. The Blue Mermaid restaurant within the hotel is good for breakfasts and dinners, their chowders are delicious as is the rest of their menu. You are right on Fishermans Wharf and can walk the coastal route towards the Golden Gate Bridge through the Marina district , or turn right out the hotel towards the hubbub of the Wharf where there is an abundance of restaurants and attractions. The famous Cable Car terminates right on Hyde Street at the hotel. Can strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks so much, Alison D! A beautiful experience is just what we hope to provide! I'm proud that the team gave you a warm welcome and treated you with kindness and efficiency throughout the visit. We'll share the kudos with Chef, too, and let him know everything in the restaurant was delightful as well! Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed here twice before an Alaskan cruise and thoroughly enjoyed both stays. The location is very close to the cruise terminal; maybe only 2 miles away tops. It is right by the famed Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel is updated and very clean. The staff is friendly and inviting. The doorman add an elegant feel to the red brick building. Would recommend to any family or couple. I also believe they are pet friendly too.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks, Charlotte V! How perfect that our nautically themed hotel should compliment a cruise adventure, right :)? We love to showcase the history and feel of the waterfront without being "theme parkish" about the whole thing. I hope you got to check out the neighboring (free!) Maritime Museum or weekend ranger tours. It's also lovely to bike from the boats to the beach and all the way to the Bridge now that the great weather is upon us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We loved, loved, loved this hotel! We recently stayed here for part of our 25th wedding anniversary trip and fell in love with the city and the hotel! From the moment we arrived being greeted by the door man and having our car whisked away by the competent valet staff, being welcomed at check-in with a happy anniversary, to finding a lovely bottle of wine and chocolates in our room, to the moment we departed the staff went above and beyond to make this a very memorable trip for us!

Our king deluxe was warm and welcoming and very, very clean, which is for me is the most important part of any hotel stay! There are many places that bill themselves as a "hotel" which in fact they are truly a motel, the Argonaut is without doubt a Hotel, with a capital H! I know where I'm staying during my next trip to San Francisco!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aklawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Awww, congrats on the big anniversary, aklawl, and thanks for spending it with us! I'm sure the team will be happy to know they are a key part of the memory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The nautical theme was a lot of fun.
The room was comfy and clean.
The location was good for San Francisco tourists because you are very close to Fisherman's Wharf but just far enough away that it is quiet.
Service. Fantastic! Wine at check in, extra toiletries brought to the room with one call, and a very helpful, courteous staff.
They have bikes that they can loan guests however they only have a few and it is first come first serve. If you talk to the concierge they can offer a discount on rentals at the bike place next door.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jez+stacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Jez + Stacy, you are too cute! I'm glad the service really hit the mark for you and everything was delivered quickly when needed from housekeeping or the all-important evening wine reception :). The bikes are in demand with this great weather, but hopefully one of the six can end up in your hands next time. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,168 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,060 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#62 of 229 in San Francisco
4,116 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,129 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing