We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay on the Wharf”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 7, 2013

A really great hotel with its own character. The conversion of the old cannery building has retained its character but built in that luxury feel of a top hotel. The location is great close to the restaurants and bustle of Fisherman's Wharf but keeping a calm and relaxed feel amidst all of the action. Having the Hyde Street terminus of the cable car around the corner is another bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Hi, Sandra W, and thanks for your 5-star shout-out! I think the reason we Argonauts fall in love with this place is that soul, history, character, and charm of the building. The hotel is an intrinsically local experience in the middle of a touristic center, right?! I'm glad you connected with the place; we'll look forward to your next voyage here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,769 - 2,775 of 5,945 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was my first visit to San Francisco and I picked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and they were absolutely correct! This hotel is a gem! The ideal location for seeing the city.The staff were amazing and the wine hour is not to be missed. Parking can be a bit dear but a small price to pay for wonderful hotel experience. One night one of the doorman personally walked us to a pub so we could get a cold beer! Excellent all round! We will be back very soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gsemech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thanks, Gesemech! But now you have me wanting a cold beer... it is so wonderful to read about that friendly doorman, and how the whole experience matched your high expectations. Parking is crazy expensive everywhere in the city, so you might as well be right by the water, right? Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

an amazing hotel from the minute you walk in the lobby ! Staff real friendly pet friendly also managers wine tasting every evening at 5pm all free ! Valet parking a bit high but we found a few local car parks at least 15 dollars a day cheaper !
Also has probably the best value resturant on the Wharf just opposite Cuppurros.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view they charge a little extra but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank journey108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Hi, Journey108,
"Wow" is just what we go for, so I loved reading your review -- thank you! Capurros and Cioppino's are indeed right across the street, and Scoma's is just a tad past there at Pier 47. But, my hands-down favorite for my vice (crab) will always be our very own Blue Mermaid restaurant. And that's not just my bias talking! Come try the crab and corn chowder and you'll see what I mean. Better yet, pair it with that free wine from the evening party 5-6pm :).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Well priced. Fantastic location if you want to do the "tourist thing". Very friendly and attentive staff. Good job Kimpton Hotels. The bell hop/concierge staff were really helpful, friendly and knowledgable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sjmullet100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Hi, there, SJMullet100,
I'm happy to hear the team was their friendly, charming selves at the front of house, and the location and value were there for you as well. If you'll indulge my shameless plug, I really suggest you consider joining up with our loyalty club if you have not already. At all your Kimptons, the program connects you with free wifi, your choice of pillow & newspaper, and ten bucks free from the minibar... not bad for a program that's complimentary to join, no strings attached!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Brilliant hotel in a great location. A litle quirky which is nice and the fire is lovely - if you can ever get a spot in front of it that is! Would definitely stay here again and would thoroughly recommend it. Don't forget to go to the museum next door is very interesting.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janey020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Hi, Janey020,
Many of our guests love that fireplace but, you're right, far too few of them get to that Maritime Museum. The history in there is fascinating, and they expanded the exhibit a few years back. It is so discrete that many of our guests walk right by and miss the chance to learn what the wharf is all about! We're lucky to have such a good partnership with the National Park Service (aka our landlord :) )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed with two teenagers for 3 nights. Great location and very nice hotel. The price reflects the location of the hotel right on the wharf. Rooms were nice and can accommodate a family but bathrooms are small. Hotel is vey clean and has a complimentary wine hour from 5-6pm. Lots of restaurants and things to do nearby. Make sure to get Alcatraz tickets ahead if you can.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank MK-Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thanks, MK! I'm glad you thought the location and 'good time had by all' made the Argonaut a great pick for your family group. Alcatraz is fun for all ages, and I'm glad you mention how popular it can get, especially in the summer! If you get "shut out," our concierge can always help guests with bay tours aboard boats or even sailboats to see "The Rock" and the other gorgeous sites of the bay from atop the waves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was our 8th visit to this hotel, once again it has never failed us.
On arrival the receptionist was very polite, helpful and courteous, as we were celebrating my wife's birthday and our wedding anniversary we were greeted in our room with a nice bottle of wine and chocolates, we were really made welcome.
The hotel is well situated for all amenities, Pier39 is close and just round the corner is the famous San Francisco cable cars which run directly to Union Square.
Every evening the hotel has a free wine tasting session. There is also a maritime museum within the hotel.
Rooms are exceptionally clean and the beds very comfortable.
Would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning next year which will be our 9th visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptionally good, but the rooms facing the Golden Gate bridge has a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reesgillvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Hi, Reesgillvin! I think an 8-visit record from a UK resident is the best compliment we've seen in a while. THANK YOU! If we haven't met yet, I hope to say hello and welcome back on visit # 9 :)...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
2,362 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,476 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
3,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $222 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing