We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location at Fisherman's Wharf” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location at Fisherman's Wharf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Argonaut has a great location on Fisherman's Wharf. You are close to everything (trolley care next door, Buena Vista Café with its famous Irish coffee, Pier 39, etc.). Despite it being on a relatively busy stretch of the Wharf, the hotel and rooms are quiet. The staff, including a full time concierge with great restaurant recommendaitons, is helpful and friendly. You certainly feel welcome. The hotel has a nautical theme which is a bit cheesy but fun. Our room was clean and large, probably bigger than we needed. The only drawback is that you are required to use expensive valet parking in which the cars are kept off-site which means you're paying a bunch of money ($45 a night) to wait 15 minutes to get your car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi, Dan G!
I know parking in SF's prime areas is a bummer, but I'm glad you found the location was big benefit overall, and the concierge helped connect you to so much fun and tasty stuff around our immediate area. I'm thrilled to read you felt welcome since that is our top priority! We'll share your kind words with the team. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,313
    1,521
    336
    124
    54
See reviews for
1,482
2,266
125
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,062)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and from the moment we arrived until we left the service had been excellent. During our holiday from the UK we have stayed in 5 star hotels in Las Vegas and Los Angeles. This is by far the best.
Hotel immaculately clean. Staff very friendly, knowledgeable about city and helpful.
Really enjoyed the complimentary glass of wine between 5-6pm. So welcoming after a long day sightseeing.
Would highly recommend this hotel when staying in San Francisco.
Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bebholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks, Bebholl! The competitive part of me just loves to hear that we beat out all those five-star hotels on your route to win "best in show" :). The team here loves to share local tips and tricks with our guests, so I'm glad that you enjoyed talking with them, and meeting people at our festive wine reception! Summer sangria is the way to my heart...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The staff was excellent, the restaurant food marginal, the clam chowder had a whole clam shell in it! Imagine what my dental bill would be if I thought it was part of the soup? The waiter trying to make lite of it said they always put one in the chowda.The room with a king bed is so small ( about 110 sq ft) you couldn't put a cot in it? I asked for one as a relative was making a 6 hour drive to visit us unexpectedly. I was told it would be a fire hazzard as the room was so small. They also forget to tell you about the view from the room? As a former fireman, the view reminds me of a prison court yard! Nothing but windows and sky and they have many rooms with this view.

Room Tip: "Make sure the room doesn't have a court yard view!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solair1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello, Solair1945,
Thanks for reaching out with your concerns via Tripadvisor, our Kimpton Loyalty Desk, and our guest survey. I am disappointed to learn that we let you down. I am reviewing your clam shell concerns with the restaurant GM, and with the Executive Chef as soon as he's back from his vacation. As for the room, it is true that our historic footprint here means the rooms are different sizes, but they are still well above average for the city. Many are even bigger than our studio apartments, but I guess that's the price we pay to live in the city by the bay :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nice hotel, but small rooms. Location is very convenient if you want to walk to tourist things. A little too crowded on the streets. Took cab to restaurants as we didn't want to eat tourist food in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Not sure where the best rooms are as we did not have one. We had a sliver of a view of the bay, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellarae3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks, Bellarae3,

I'm happy that you loved the convenience of our location, though I have to put in a good word for some of the local restaurants, especially Kimpton's Blue Mermaid and Pescatore, which are both tasty. There are a couple of other great seafood spots along the water, and if you head a little farther down the Embarcadero or south into Russian Hill you'll find even more options. Many of our visitors also love to stroll into North Beach for a taste of authentic Italy. I skip right to the gelato...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We arrived 3 nights in May 2013 at the start of a 6 week tour of US. After a long flight a quick check in at 1am was appreciated and took ourselves off to a spacious and comfortable room, no view but we were not there to sit in our room. There was a maintenance problem with a dripping air conditioner which was immediately rectified. The hotel is in a great location at the end of the wharf precinct, the cable cars start at the back door and trams stop nearby. There are a number of reasonable restaurants and pubs nearby (we had a good evening at the Fiddlers Green but did not eat there) . The staff are friendly and helpful. Next time in SF I would look no further than the Argonaut, perhaps request a room with a view but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TONY_B2257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
TONY_B2257, I definitely relate to your point that sometimes a room with a view is worth it and sometimes it's not... definitely depends on how much time you'll be spending in the room versus out exploring. The good news is the rooms without a view are still the same quality with boatloads of square footage as you mentioned :). Oh, and I'm glad you got to Fiddler's for drinks...I bet you saw many of our team there after work -- it's definitely a favorite in the neighborhood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The location is fantasic (romantic and near Ghiradelli square at Fisherman's wharf). It is within walking distance for eateries and shopping. There is even a Starbucks at the back of the same building. However, service is not a 4 stars hotel standard. When I first arrived, struggling with my many bags, the bellboy was more preoccupied talking to a family without bags to show them the directions than helping me out. Ok, putting that aside, when I checked in, my room was prepaid. The conceige just smiled and processed my hotel room, mentioned to me about the free wine tour, and left me to struggle with my bags again to my room. NO OFFER to ask the bellboy to come over to help. I expect the conceige to enquire if I need he service (whether I accept or reject is of course my pregogative as a hotel guest). I had better service at my 3 stars hotel at union sq the night before!!!

I thought this was a fluke incident, until I checked out. I asked for a taxi to the airport, and the conceige directed me to the entrance where the bellboy is, to call for a taxi. AGAIN, NO OFFER to ask the bellboy to come over instead (it's about 50m from the conceige to the entrance, no joke with many bags). Instead they just watched on as I struggled with my bags to the entrance to ask for a taxi. I am VERY DISAPPOINTED at such a service level for a renowned 4 stars hotel. I expected better, considering I had better service at my 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Addict4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello, Addict4Travel,
I'm sorry to read that you did not feel the love from our bell staff, and did not receive their help during your stay. I regret that the bellman was distracted by the other guests and did not give you a warm welcome aboard. And, yes, the front desk team definitely should offer up help with your bags! In their defense, the darn counter is so high they might not have seen that you had so much luggage. I am really hoping to redesign desk that in my perfect world one day, but in the meantime we'll have to keep this issue in mind so everyone can enjoy a 4-diamond check-out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

It's refreshing in this day and age to find a hotel which such an emphasis on great service. On arrival there had been a mix up that was entirely the fault of the agent my company uses to book hotels and the front desk team were so helpful in sorting it out. Once I had sorted it by calling home the front desk team still took the effort to follow up with me and confirm everything was ok - no other hotels do this when the agency (all-too-often) mess things up.

Location on the waterfront is great, took me less than 15 mins to walk to the Alcatraz pier one morning.

The approach to social media and marketing with passwords etc is great too, makes you feel much more engaged and not just like you are using the hotel as a place to sleep.

The hotel itself is themed almost to the point of tackiness, but it's all still fairly luxurious so it's not overkill.

Concierge were great when I asked about activities and the front door team were quicker than normal too which all added up to a great service experience.

I had an internal double room which wasn't that spacious but it was big enough. Bed was comfy and the usual facilities were all present. Bit unusual to see the coffee maker in the bathroom though! Air conditioning was a bit noisy.

One final thing worth mentioning was the internet which is free as long as you are a member of the Kimpton loyalty club, although even if you're not they will give you an e-mail address to log in at the front desk. Fast too.

I will definitely look out for other Kimpton hotels when travelling in the USA in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi, PaulWilkinson, and thanks so much for all the service kudos! I'm glad you are falling for our Kimpton hotels. Now that you're joining up with our loyalty club, remember to let us know (or have your agent tell us) when you travel so we can get you your preferences (newspaper, room location, pillow type, you know, the works!.. and of course the $10 off your minibar, too!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,812 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#53 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,995 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#19 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing