We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Historic Argonaut Hotel is right down at Fishermans Warf only a small walk from Pier 39. We embarked on a 14 day road trip including 9 hotels and this was by far my favourite.

The location was absolutely ideal, the room was not only spotless and interesting but had everything we needed. The staff were fantastic, the concierge helped us plan our city tour and Ethan our bellman was extremely accommodating and gave us some great advice on things to do, places to see and places to eat.

I am already counting the days until I can return to The Argonaut.

PS: Walking distance to the ferry for Alcatraz and Angel Island!

Room Tip: I think the best advice I can give is stay at this hotel, it is the best location for a visit to San...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you, Kelly D! I am ecstatic to read that the Argonaut was your favorite of 9 hotels! (What a tour- we're jealous!). I'll let the concierge team and Ethan our amusing bellman know that they made the difference in your stay. Of course, the location doesn't hurt, either! Between that and the cool character of this building, I'd like to think we have an unfair leg up on the competition. ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,441
    1,566
    345
    129
    55
See reviews for
1,546
2,351
130
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

And that is saying something as all the hotels we stayed at on our trip were great but the Argonaut tops them all for service.

It also had a great atmosphere, top location, good rooms and view. Lovely restaurant on site. Great location for our visit to Alcatraz and easy to get to Lombard Street and Cable cars.

Our family of four with lots of luggage had heaps of room.

This hotel was one of the more expensive of our trip but worth the extra expense to experience such a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: A room with that has windows facing the outside of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJane01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thanks, Ozziedon! I'm delighted that your family of four felt comfortable and pampered here, and of course our competitive sides love to read that our hotel was your FAVORITE :). I'm glad you got to enjoy the restaurant, too, and all the fun sights around here. The Blue Mermaid's award-winning crab & corn chowder is perfect for a cool summer night with the patio heat lamps on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiptree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Sadly, we were only here one night, but we fell in love with this hotel. Large, airy, well-appointed rooms and very peaceful. Most comfortable bed we slept in the whole trip. We missed the wine hour by minutes, but were given vouchers for a drink at the bar to make up. We will return to the Argonaut when we are back in San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Elmrosie, you have a way with words! I had not thought of the rooms as "airy" and "peaceful" but I think you're spot on as I read this. We are blessed to have some of the largest standard rooms in the city, and the suites are tons of fun, too.
I am glad your stay was a great little "teaser" and you're eager to come back! Hopefully you can make the full wine party with the summer sangria. We are also doing a healthy afternoon treat called the "Summer Reviver" which includes unfiltered apply juice blended with chamomile tea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Beautiful tastiful rooms, with fantastic views across the Bay and right on the Water front but there was no noise from the street or nearby cable car. Very good service & the Doormen topped the experience off! Easy Wifi connection.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out of the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello, Penelope, and greetings from across the Pacific! I'm glad you got a chance to soak up the sea views and the everything was so quiet and convenient for you. We'll share a high five with the doormen as well. Hopefully in addition to the free wifi, you used your Kimpton InTouch status to "Raid the Minibar"? Remember your loyalty earns you that $10 off the honor bar on each stay! (Now all I can think about are the fancy potato chips with an Anchor Steam beer...)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a great hotel. The nautical theme is not my style, but the quality, cleanliness, and staff were all beyond reproach. It is expensive, but worth it. Great location, really pleasant and supportive staff, and a hotel that keeps everything clean and up to date. I would go this this property again and again. Nice job!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks so much, GGGun, and a belated happy 4th to you! I'm so glad you enjoyed a great celebration here in our prime spot at the water. We'll applaud the housekeepers and engineers for their hard work as well! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

In a historic building very close to what we were interested in. We walked everywhere from the hotel. Our room attendant Lily and her supervisor Michelliana were the best! The bellhops were helpful with directions and suggestions. We ate in the hotel restaurant every morning for breakfast - we were greeted enthusiastically after our first morning; the food was good and priced well. We were completely pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: We had a room with no view but we were never in the room except to sleep, so that was fine with us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi, BTD_13! I have family in Austin, you'll have to send them a wave from me. I'm glad "y'all" had such a great time and the bellhops and breakfast crew at the restaurant were all so great and helpful. I've already alerted the housekeeping team to your kind shout-out as well. It is nice of you to take the time to recognize our staff in detail! This means a lot to all of us in this industry. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,088 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#45 of 228 in San Francisco
1,992 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#65 of 228 in San Francisco
4,081 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
3,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing