We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

5,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,495
    1,583
    352
    132
    56
See reviews for
1,576
2,386
133
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

In a historic building very close to what we were interested in. We walked everywhere from the hotel. Our room attendant Lily and her supervisor Michelliana were the best! The bellhops were helpful with directions and suggestions. We ate in the hotel restaurant every morning for breakfast - we were greeted enthusiastically after our first morning; the food was good and priced well. We were completely pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: We had a room with no view but we were never in the room except to sleep, so that was fine with us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi, BTD_13! I have family in Austin, you'll have to send them a wave from me. I'm glad "y'all" had such a great time and the bellhops and breakfast crew at the restaurant were all so great and helpful. I've already alerted the housekeeping team to your kind shout-out as well. It is nice of you to take the time to recognize our staff in detail! This means a lot to all of us in this industry. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the last night of our trip to America. We were delayed and therefore only checked in at 10p.m. and out by 12p.m. the following day. But we were very glad we chose the Argonaut. The room was lovely and the bed was huge and soooo comfortable! Great bathroom and enough toiletries provided with more available if you had forgotten anything from reception. The communal area with plenty of quirky comfortable chairs and the fireside area to sit and have a cold glass of iced water or a drink was a welcoming place to sit and relax. Also the staff in this hotel were lovely, efficient, friendly and enthusiastic and made us feel better after our exhausting travels. What a shame we could not have stayed longer! The hotel is just close enough to the action of Fisherman's Wharf and the cable car stop for the trip to Powell Street and the rest of SF.

Room Tip: We had a room that looked inwards on the 3rd floor but we were pleased as this seemed a quiet area o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkeyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you, CorkeyWilson! Our doorman taught me a great saying: if you don't leave, you can't come back!
So, hopefully we'll see you on your next trip to the ol' USofA. I'm glad you're a fan and your room was so super quiet! The team will be happy to see your review. Take care and have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was the ideal hotel to stay near everything! Shopping, restaurants and attractions were as close as across the street. Pier 39 was only 5 blocks away and an easy walk. Free wine every night in lobby, concierge, and valet parking. (Valet parking is $45 for a 24 hour period plus tax and tip so come prepared)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks, Jamie! I hope the concierge and the rest of our crew were able to give you some great recommendations for touring and dining. We are lucky to be situated on this spectacular patch of land :)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were quite excited to begin the first part of an 8-day vacation in California in Fisherman's Wharf. The excellent location of this hotel increased our excitement. It is very conveniently located near all of the attractions on Fisherman's Wharf and we loved that we could walk to each place that we wanted to explore without the expense of a cab. The hotel itself is very beautiful, and we loved the decorative scheme of the rooms and the lobby. We enjoyed the room service on a number of occasions and found that the service was quick and the food was enjoyable.

We utilized the valet parking since we were venturing to Napa for the second part of our trip. The price was a tad high, but when you consider the fact that you are saving a ton of money not taking cabs everywhere, it pretty much balances out.

As Kimpton members, we did place specific requests for our room. One was that we be on a top floor, as we do not like to have people over our heads and we were celebrating a much overdue honeymoon so relaxing was a top priority. In the past, this request has always been taken into consideration. Since we were traveling at a touristy time, we did not receive a top floor room. This was acceptable until kids began stomping over our heads after 10pm at night. However, a quick call to the front desk had this issue resolved right away. We were impressed that the situation was remedied quickly and the manager and I had communication about how important it would be to consider these requests in the future. I felt that my feedback was taken seriously and will help to improve the experience of future Kimpton members.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider staying here again. We're always excited to explore a new Kimpton, and are already planning to try another Kimpton location on the east coast at the end of this week!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MakingMemories317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you, MakingMemories, for making those memories here with us! And around the Kimpton nation no less! It is great to hear you're headed to another one of our hotels shortly. I'll let the team and the front of house manager know that their attention and follow-through showed really care and hospitality! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is located in Fisherman's Wharf within walking distance to shops, restaurants, Pier 39, and many other attractions. The rooms are very nice and the employees are friendly and helpful. There is a wine tasting every afternoon with birth white and red as well as a select beer.and a drink for minors.

Room Tip: Reserve a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
LAS10 - I'm so happy to read that you loved the rooms and the team here as well! The wine tasting is definitely a big hit here, and all summer long we'll be offering the afternoon "Summer Reviver" drink 2-4pm and then a fun watermelon and basil sangria alongside our normal red & white selections at the wine party. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

"Very nice and attentive. Nothing bad to say. Would go back again. Put that on your blog or Facebook or whatever."

- Grandma Betty's response when asked how her stay was

Aw grandma. She tries so hard, but no matter how many times I try to explain yelp, she doesn't quite get it. It's kind of endearing.

Both her and my grandfather were here celebrating their 60th anniversary. The big 6-0. Does that just blow your mind? It does mine.

Sis and I booked the stay, and upon arriving to pick them up for dinner, I saw that the staff delivered a complementary bottle of wine and card congratulating them. A very, very nice gesture. Someone was taking notes when I made the reservation.

Theme is nautical and whimsical, and the location can't be beat. I didn't actually stay (so yes yelpers, you can flag this, but perhaps you'll let this one slide considering my grandma has no computer and can't yelp herself), but I felt like I got a good feel for the place hanging out there with the couple of the moment, and of course their enthusiastic review. At their age you only get so many nights left, so to say you'd come back is about the nicest compliment one can give.

Love you grandma and grandpa. Thank you Argonaut. You'll be top of the list for the big 7-0.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Jason,
What can I say? -- your review is so heartwarming! Thank you for taking the time and posting this clever and thoughtful review. I can't wait to see them back here for future anniversaries :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,163 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#44 of 229 in San Francisco
2,053 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#63 of 229 in San Francisco
4,112 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,121 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing