We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Argonaut hotel San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
FOURQUEUX
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Argonaut hotel San Francisco”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Ideally located, this elegant hotel features a maritime style decoration. It is near Pier 39, with cruises for the San Francisco Bay, Golden Gate and Alcatraz. Also close to the cable car station which brings you downtown and to the maritime museum. Also very easy to rent a bike to bike the bridge to Sausalito and return by ferry. The concierge proved helpful. The restaurant offers chowder specialities. Don't use valet parking very expensive. Park your car in the garage behind the hotel (35 dollar a day). Ask for a room with a view.

Room Tip: Ask for a roomwith a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAUL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi, Paul L! Great to hear you loved the views and nautical "sense of place!" Thanks for mentioning the maritime museum. That is part of our partnership with the National Park Service (our building sits on preserved federal land), and a lot of our guests rush right to the cable car and pass the exhibits by, a pity since they're FREE! Speaking of free, remember the first four guests to claim our hotel's bikes (at 8am daily) get to enjoy them at no charge. That's a great perk for that ride over to Sausalito. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,495
    1,583
    352
    132
    56
See reviews for
1,576
2,386
133
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great hotel, great staff, great location. If you want to be in the right area then fishermans wharf is the place to be. Could not be any better. Well connected for tram and street car if you need to go and see the sights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
GWLush! What a cute review - I love your headline, and of course I love your love of the Argonaut! You must be quite clever all around ;).
THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Am at the Admirals Club heading home after a three day meeting in San Francisco. This hotel was wonderful for this type of meeting. Our group was around 50 and the meeting rooms accommodated us well with one large room for meals, two smaller for sessions and breakouts. This is all the space they have. This is a boutique hotel with only 4 floors but right near Fisherman's Wharf and Ghiardelli Square.

One problem to be aware of is that the street in front of the hotel is currently under construction and it delayed our arrival by taxi from the airport. Taxi Fare or Town Car is $50-60 from SFO.

Check in is quick and very courteous. Going to your room there are only two elevators so when meeting broke up there is a delay but not too bad.

Hotel has a very nice reception each evening from 5 to 6 PM with wine and local beer. Their restaurant was closed by 9 each evening so this hotel does not have a late night bar scene. There is a small wine cooperative tasting room in the hotel with great wines and very friendly staff. This also closes at 9 but worth a stop in to try their wines.

Rooms are clean and comfortable. WIFI is free once you sign up for Kimpton's reward program and works great throughout the hotel including meeting rooms. Rooms have a nautical theme because Maritime Museum/ National Park Service shares the ground floor. Bathroom was small but room itself was good sized. Quirky item is the robes provided are animal print and the bathroom wallpaper is octopus tentacle print - a little creepy if you asked me.

Room service, food and beverage and waitstaff at evening reception were all excellent; friendly, courteous and professional. Food was very good even for buffet meals for group.

Very good location, very good service and drawbacks were not anything serious. Definitely would stay at again vs. staying at large hotels downtown.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 407, top floor, this view is away from water and into building across the street to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndraDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi, AndraDallas -
I'm glad to finally see a review from one of our meeting attendees! Thank you! By necessity, my meetings HAVE to take place here, but I do have to say that if I got to choose, this is a great place to bring a sense of play and luxury to a corporate meeting/training/sales event etc, right? Sometimes people just think of the waterfront for weddings, but I think the environment and boutique vibe here do make work obligations a little lighter. Though we'll take your feedback about the leopard print robes, that's funny that perhaps they are a little quirky for a business group. On the bright side, everyone donning one of those knows they're at a fun Kimpton, not a "big box" generic hotel! Not that I'm biased :)....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Nice hotel. In a convenient Fishermans Wharf location location in the historic Cannery building. Nice rooms. Good meeting space.
There are a few quirks. The bar closed at 9 PM.

I wanted to print a few paper copies at their business center. $8 to use the computer and .79 a page to print. A real ripoff. I have never paid to print before in a hotel. Don't think I'll stay here again on that basis.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a rectangle with a space in the middle. Rooms on the inside face the other side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calsun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi, CalSun,
I'm glad your meeting/event brought you to us from Truckee, California, and you were pleased with the boardroom, guest rooms, and the whole shebang overall... but I wish we had known the bar closing time and printing put a wrench in things for you. Next time, we'd be happy to make it right by helping however we can! And of course boarding pass printing is always free, and there are many other bars in the area we can connect you with.
Our own Blue Mermaid restaurant & bar does stay open till 10pm on weekend nights, and 7 nights/week in the summer as cocktail demand picks up.
Hope this helps - we appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great room, comfortable bed, great staff. Loved the location with Fisherman's Wharf across the street, the cable car turnaround right outside to go nearly anywhere, and most importantly put us 5 mins from the pier to take a fishing trip on the "Fishin' Game" which was awesome, and the highlight of the trip for us

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 914ChrisH914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks so much, Chris! It's great to see another all-out fan. And that sounds like a wonderful boat trip tip! I also love the Adventure Cat, a 55-foot catamaran that goes around the bay for 1.5 hours, complete with NO cheesy narration and great views from under the Golden Gate Bridge :). Let us know if we can point you in the direction of any more fun waterfront stuff when you're in town again next! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I started a new job near Los Angeles and we decided to drive to San Francisco for a short break. We stayed in some good hotels on the way and we hoped the Argonaut would be the jewel in the crown, given the high cost of the rooms.

The big plus of the hotel is its location on the Market Street strip and near the Powell-Hyde cable-car terminus, with plenty of restaurants and activities nearby, including the mind-bending trip to Alcatraz. The room was fairly large and the bed comfortable.

But that is about it.

On our first morning we went to breakfast, admittedly about 15 minutes before it closed, but as we sat down in the restaurant the waiter asked for our blue card to allow us to eat. We were never given them so we offered to pay the full charge. But he insisted we need the cards. I then spoke to the concierge who rang the restaurant and we were allowed to eat, paying the full amount. However, the breakfast was smallest of the entire trip, three slices of bacon, two eggs and some potatoes; a meal clearly marked for the weight conscious or someone not particularly hungry. Though the whole episode was not necessarily the fault of the hotel, it was unwanted hassle, made us feel uncomfortable, and subsequently we ate all our meals, including breakfast, elsewhere along the strip.

The internet was free, but you had to join the loyalty program to get it. I tried to pay instead, but the hotel website rejected the payment and insisted you join the loyalty program. No big deal, but again unnecessary hassle. But to give the hotel credit, the internet was free and worked very well.

No free water in the room, only bottles at $3 and $5 each. The hotel toiletries were blue bottles attached to the wall. The body wash bottle extruded a small globule of strange smelling liquid. We used our own toiletries.

The parking charges were an eye-watering $63.32 for three nights, including tax. The television had an unusually limited number of channels for a high class hotel, hard work for HBO “Game of Thrones” fans like us.

A good hotel but the impression, rightly or wrongly, is given of over-zealous cost control of the accessories. I don’t mind paying for extra facilities and I am prepared to pay extra not to have any hassle or problems during my stays, however minor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morris_minor_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi, there, Morris,

Thanks for visiting us on your big trip! I'm glad the location and comfy, big rooms here lived up to your expectations for a 4-Star, 4-Diamond hotel.

It is just disappointing to hear that we left you feeling a bit 'nickel and dimed.' The breakfast voucher confusion is very strange indeed, and then you absolutely should have received $10 free off your honor bar as a new Kimpton InTouch member. (Our "Raid the Minibar" program provides that on every one of your stays). I know the internet billing snafu was a technical glitch which was just resolved two days ago, but I'm glad that everything worked out for you to get the free internet. Please know we have many other amenities included as well: free boarding pass printing, "Forgot It? We've Got It!" toiletry amenities (including use of a steam press, hair straighteners, fashion tape, deodorant, the list goes on!), nightly wine reception, and first-come, first-served bike rentals. The Bigelow artisan toiletries in the showers are in the large pumps as an eco standard, and we did choose the scent to be "gender neutral," but I see it missed the mark in this case. Thanks for your feedback, and I hope you'll give us a second chance to prove our generosity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Argonaut for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay. We paid a bit extra for the Sea View room and were pleased with our choice. We were initially placed on a room on the 4th floor but due to a noisy air conditioning pipe in the closet, my husband had to speak to the Reception staff late at night about a move. We got an immediate visit and on hearing the noise, the duty manager offered to move us rooms. However, after my husband took a visit to a few rooms that night, we decided to stay where we were as they couldn't find us another sea view due to hotel being fully booked but I was very impressed with the friendliness and willingness to help. We did ask at Reception the following morning and they immediately offered us another Sea View room that had been vacated that morning and offered to move us straight away if we were happy with the new room, which we did.
In addition to the amazing customer service, the room was really well decorated and comfortable. The bed was firm but comfortable with amazingly soft pillows. We had a 3 seater sofa in the room along with a desk, TV unit and flat screen TV. As a Kimpton In-Touch member we immediately got free wifi and a $10 'Raid the Bar' credit which got us some bottles of water. In addition, as part of our room booking, we received free continental breakfast which included toast or pastries, fruit, juice and tea/ coffee. We found this ideal to set us up for day. However, for those without that inclusive deal, the Blue Mermaid has a good breakfast menu or there is a Starbucks round the corner.
We loved the daily hosted wine hour - this involves free white or red wine, and now also includes the local SF beer. You can donate cash for the drink which goes to charity, which is a great idea. The hosted wine hour is a great opportunity to chat to fellow travellers - ideal for social butterflies and those who like to hear about other people's lives and travels.
To top it off, the Argonaut is in a perfect location at the far end of the Wharf. It is ideal to either walk along to Fishermans Wharf or go in the other direction to Ghiradelli Square (The Pub is a great little spot for late night dining and cheap beer :-)) We also walked up to Lombard Street (approx 15-20 minutes away) and Union Square/ Market Street (approx 40mins walk). Beware, Lombard Street and surrounding area is very steep and hilly. However, if you don't want to walk, you can take the Tram Car from the end of the block. The best tip we got was - don't wait at the queue beside Jefferson Street as it can be a long wait - just walk up one block to the next stop and get on first time! It worked like a treat - also the same at Market Street end of the track.
We definitely plan to return to San Francisco and wouldn't hesitate to return to the Argonaut.

Room Tip: book a sea view room - we had views over the Golden Gate Bridge in one room and Alcatraz in the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks so much, LEHF. We will congratulate the crew on their friendly and helpful service. And kudos to you for sharing this tip about the cable car! Guests today commented to me how much your suggestion helped them :). Hopefully I'll get the chance to say hello on your next visit, perhaps I'll find you butterflying around the wine party!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,163 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#44 of 229 in San Francisco
2,055 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#63 of 229 in San Francisco
4,112 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,122 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing