We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great hotel fit out! It is very modern with some great exposed brick through out. The beds are high and so comfortable.
The gym is also fantastic.
Location is down in the tourist district & a fair bit of walking is required to visit the city however there are some great restaurants and bars near by the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millsy_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,770)
There are newer reviews for Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,812 - 2,818 of 5,770 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

we decided to stay here for the first week of our honeymoon . the location was amazing right on the seafront and within close walking distance of pier 39 and the port to Alcatraz . the hotel itself was clean and the staff were very welcoming and helpful . upon our arrival to the room the guy who took us there told us about how to get tickets to a baseball game and how to get there . also upon our arrival the room had a bottle of champagne waiting for us we thought it was a lovely gesture . the doormen were helpful and incredibly willing to guide you and suggest locations in the area . we also enjoyed the free wine tasting held every night in the foyer . certainly helped us get in the bay mood . my wife was also pleased at a location from one of her favorite movies was literally around the corner. also the one of the main hubs to get on a tram was very close as well our room was lovely and had a view of Alcatraz and the golden gate bridge . we would absolutely return here some day in the future

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnm209958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very nice hotel, the Maritime National Park vistors center in located adjacent to the hotel lobby and the park itself is accross the street. Staff was attentive, street reconstruction was ongoing during my visit but is scheduled to be complete before June 2013. Great location.

Room Tip: Join the Kimpton Hotel frequent traveler program (free) and recieve free wireless internet and a $10...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hi, Tim! Great photo - I can tell you are an outdoor adventurer, and I'm glad our historic waterfront spot was just what you wanted. Many of our guests walk, jog, or bike through the Presidio over to the Golden Gate Bridge. Me, I look at the bridge from the beach and enjoy a chardonnay workout, but to each his own :). I'm glad our team was attentive to all your needs and you even joined up with our loyalty program. Pretty painless way to get $10 off the minibar every time you stay, isn't it? Just our way of making sure you get a welcome gift in your room each time you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Wonderful architectural example of adaptive reuse in a terrific location. Friendly and helpful staff and clean, clean, clean spaces. We took an inside room because of the street construction going on outside and it was quiet, but still had plenty of light through the plantation shutters. The building itself is a marvel with exposed beams and brick here and there. It was an interesting locale with all the wharf stuff outside the door, but also a nice grassy park and great public transportation connections. An atmosphere of friendliness, especially during the free 1 hour wine tasting at 5PM, and the nautical theme was unique and only slightly overdone in the bedrooms.
We will go back, but will use the public parking garage 2 blocks away because the valet parking is quite high at $40+ per night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hi, Susan! It's always great to see a happy five-star review from one of TripAdvisor's "senior reviewers." I'm glad everything was squeaky clean and the staff was their warm, friendly selves. Between all those folks and the unique charm of the building (as you noted), I'm lucky to call this ship home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is our 2nd visit to this hotel, we chose the hotel based on our last visit, this time with children in tow. We had a lovely room with a view of the bay and the Golden Gate bridge, had no noise from the roadworks outside, 2 lovely comfortable beds and the kids were allowed to keep a couple of gold fish in the room. The room was spotless, couldnt fault at all. Was a pain to get into the hotel, the taxi driver couldnt figure out where to park and there was no room in the designated area so had to park outside of starbucks and walk down the hill, not fun with tired kids, lots of suitcases on wheels, also no help but we did arrive at 7 in the morning, thankfully the room was ready and we were allowed in straight away. We had breakfast in the blue mermaid a couple of times and it was lovely, didnt have any other meals here but that was mainly as we were out and about so much, did take advantage of the wine tasting one night which was very nice. Not really a fault of the hotel, but we did appear to have sombody who seemed quite noisy above us, we could hear a lot of stamping up and down at all hours, but I guess you get this in all hotels to some degree. There are roadworks right outside, didnt really bother us apart from on the first day and trying to get into the hotel. I'm sure they will vastly improve the area once completed. If we were fortunate enough to come back to San Francisco I would not hesitate to book this hotel again, and would try other hotels in the Kimpton chain based on our experience of this hotel. I have just marked Sleep Quality down slightly as noisy person above us, but beds were lovely and comfortable.

Room Tip: Room with a view
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thanks so much, Jenkel! I am pumped that you are already a loyal return guest of ours here at the Argonaut. That's too bad about the -- shall we say -- aerobic (?!) neighbor above your room, but I'm glad that you enjoyed the great beds and no disturbance from the city's little sandbox out front. I will let the amazing ladies in housekeeping know you found the hotel so spotless. I'm glad your kids enjoyed their goldfish friends up in the room, too :).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My family spent a week here. Nice rooms. Friendly staff. Walking distance to great attractions including the cheesy Wharf stuff. Right across from the Hyde Street Cable car. There is a nice wine bar attached. The public transportation was so convenient (get a week long pass) that we covered just about every neighborhood while we there. Go see the Sea Lions at Pier 39. Go early. My surly 14 year-old had to be dragged to see them. Then he asked to go back the next day. They provide comedy, drama and will put a smile on your face.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

What a great tip, Terry! Those sea lions are wonderful. I'm glad you got out and around town, too, and found the transit system convenient for "all things local." We'll have to let our wine bar tenants know you liked their spot, too! It's a great way to taste some of the wine country if you're tight on time. And you can round out the afternoon with a free Anchor Steam at our 5 o'clock wine hour ;)...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Super clean...real close to the waterfront and Fishermans Pier....ALL staff were really nice and helpful!...ERNIE and BROOKE stood out!
The cable car was easy access from the hotel as it was right next door....The rooms were super nice and clean and quiet!
Would go back in a second and probably will!
Alcatraz awesome....down by the waterfront some fishing boats were offering 1 hour tours of the bay for $15.....well worth it.....allowed us to bring spirits and we toured under the Golden Gate bridge and then around Alcatraz.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slaveto911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
2,223 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
3,297 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $283 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing