We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not ask for more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gerringong, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Could not ask for more”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We arrived a couple of hours early but the hotel had the sue available and so there was no waiting. Staff were extremely final and helpful. The wine (and beer) tasting each evening was an excellent way to meet other travellers.
The suite was excellent with a lot of room and all the facilities you would ever need including a nice deep spa bath. Everything was neat, clean and functioned.
Food in the Blue Mermaid was good as was the service.
Location of the hotel was ideal both for walking or driving to wherever you wanted.
Only grumble was some form of machinery noise (clunking randomly) late at night was noticeable but tolerable.

Room Tip: If you can afford a suite, go with that. The room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ogslpash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Ogslpash,
I'm glad that the stay was spot-on for you! The suites are certainly a worthwhile luxury aren't they? Larger than many San Francisco apartments! And the only problem with those soaking tubs is prying yourself out of them after a nice glass of wine... but I digress :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,435
    1,561
    345
    129
    55
See reviews for
1,541
2,347
130
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Argonaut Hotel for 3 weeks nights on business. The hotel is a decent 4/5 star, with large comfortable rooms and pleasant lounge area with an open fireplace. I didn't eat breakfast or dinner in the hotel so cannot comment on the food, but the hotel is right by Fisherman's Wharf which to me looks like a horrific Disneyland parody of itself but I guess others might like its tackiness. We ate dinner in a couple of the local restaurants which were both decent. Overall it is an expensive hotel if you just need a bed for the night, but the location is great if you're a tourist seeking the local attractions.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riverside-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hello, friend from London! I hope we get the chance to see you here again so you can check out our Blue Mermaid restaurant and point you in the direction of some fun bits of local character, history, and charm. We are also near several other neighborhoods so the Wharf can be a jumping off point for your next visit. Glad you enjoyed some other nearby restaurants and found us to be so convenient. Take care and thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My expectation was high for this hotel as it was recommended by a friend who told me it is the best around the area of San Francisco Fisherman's wharf. Well, I was not disappointed, instead the stay was fabulous. The rooms were clean and tidy. Everything is pretty well maintained. Perhaps only the lift needs some upgrading. We did not get to try the evening cocktail as our tour ended late most of the days e.g. 7pm. A pity, we hoped it could have been of a longer duration. The location is great, walking distance to most of the restaurants e.g. Scoma's. But I would feel that for the price per night we were paying for, there was not any punch to our stay. Nothing really bad but nothing really good too which is out of the ordinary for me to boast about. Perhaps the hotel should work harder to impress their guests and visitors. A good hotel of that price should not be just hi-bye.

Room Tip: You might want to pay more for a Bay View room but most of the time you find that you cannot see muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesOngSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I spent 2 day here in a beautiful suite and it was amazing! I loved the property and it was at a great location. The is so much to do just in the hotel itself, the service is very good and trustable. Very friendly room service and there are plenty of spot really close to go to. And it's really easy to find it and I am deffinatly come here again and this time with my family!

Room Tip: Get the suite, if you want to have a good stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddhi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We did get a deal & that is reflected in my review... however, this hotel is FANTASTIC. This is the only place I would stay at in The Wharf area. Have fun! Make sure to pack a sweatshirt in the summer! It can get down right cold when the fog comes in! Check out Lou's Blues down the street for excellent Blues!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Fun and friendly hotel right in the heart of the Fisherman's Wharf district. The building is a converted fish cannery building with a grand lobby with fireplace which encompasses mist if the main floor. Rooms are timber beams, brick walls and primary colors with accents of mirrors and modern eclectic collection of art and furniture. Friendly includes a complimentary wine reception every day at 5 for the guests. A wonderful hotel with all the right touches. Free wifi.......newspaper - all the essential extras - when in San Fran - not to be missed.

Room Tip: King suite - if entertaining is an exceptionally large space if you are entertaining or having a bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had chosen this hotel for its location and it was an excelllent choice. Easy to walk to all tourist areas on the waterfront, but on the quiet end of the action. Rooms were clean and we had a king with view of alcatraz. Wine happy hour was perfect in the afternoon before dinner! Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Can only say great things about this hotel!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,078 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#45 of 228 in San Francisco
1,983 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#65 of 228 in San Francisco
4,079 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
3,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing