We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location (Far end of Fisherman's Warf)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Argonaut Hotel is small boutique hotel (recently renovated) located very close to Ghirardelli Square, the cable cars, and the BV Cafe. It's approximately a ten minute walk to catch the ferry to Alcatraz and not far from the Hop On Hop Off bus stop. We rented a car and took some day trips out of San Francisco and it was very easy to leave the city from the hotel's location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nice/taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,023)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,232 - 3,238 of 6,023 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our family group included 6 young kids ranging from age 8 to age 1. I can't describe the amazing hospitality and enthusiasm staff have for kids. The doorman had treasure hunts inside the hotel every day. Free wine and bourbon cider in the lobby for guests every day. Location is perfect walking distance to cable car and Ghirardelli Square. Sure, The Wharf is a bit touristy but just staying at the Argonaut made it so unique and special. Fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrankw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Hi, JRankW, and thanks for coming all the way from El Savador to visit us! I always say there is no shame in being a tourist, though all the better when you can operate from a boutique with staff ready to point you in the direction of whatever floats your boat. And I'm thrilled that our warm and wacky doormen entertained the kids and the warm nightcap was a hit with the grown-ups! Cheers and thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our family stayed at the Argonaut during our vacation to San Francisco and northern California last summer. First, the location is fantastic, right near Fisherman's Wharf. We were able to walk to so many attractions from there, taking public transit only once or twice. The rooms were very comfortable for three of us - not huge, but ample. We were given very good restaurant sugestions by the staff. The nightly happy hour gave us some relaxing down time between our sightseeing and dinner. Our son did not come to the happy hour, but was very happy nonetheless to use the hotel's wifi to play games with his friends.

During our stay at the Argonaut, we also started the process of selling our house back in Texas. We had to fax back and forth a lot documents. The hotel staff made sure we were able to send and receive the necessary papers promptly. They were extremely helpful (and the house sold in two days, while we were staying at the Argonaut!).

FInally, on the last night, we had rented a car to drive the next day to Yosemite. The door man gave us a helpful hint about parking on the street, rather than in a lot. It saved us some money and left the car right across the street from our room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dag1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Hi, dag1963, and thanks for the high praise! It is neat that we got to be a part of that rapid sale of your home -- congrats and best wishes for the new place! Please come back and see us and let your kids know they can come drink sparkling cider at the wine hour, play Wii games, or try out our treasure hunt for a prize!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We have just done 3 of the most heavenly nights at this wonderful hotel. It is faultless. In particular Lavon on the front desk was an absolute gem. Would love to stay there again someday. Room 351 is a beauty. The best hotel and staff that we stayed at by a long long way in the states. You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

1  Thank Lyall Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

What a headline, Lyall! Thanks so much - I've made sure Lavon sees your comments and knows that she was the highlight of your FAULTLESS experience. Heartwarming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel has the whole nautical feel going on. The rooms are quite nice. The location is something else, this place is close to everything, bus tours, Alcatraz, restaurants, etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only downfall with our stay was the restaurant was closed due to a gas pipe. But there is sooooooo many food places close by so it wasn't really to much of a problem.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Hi, Lauren. Glad you had a great time and enjoyed all the local eateries around the hotel. The good news is that gas pipe outage at the restaurant is totally resolved now, so hopefully we can see you again for some linguine and clams or crab & corn chowder (my comfort food fave).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for three nights in mid January based on a referral from a friend. We were so impressed! Firstly, it's in an ideal location for many of SF's main attractions, including Fisherman's Wharf obviously, Pier 39, Alcatraz tours, ferries and a 2 minute walk to the cable car ride which takes you directly to Union Square, another major attraction, as well as China Town! The staff were friendly and the room was spacious and clean with the most comfortable beds we had ever slept on in a hotel. We didn't dine in the restaurant, however, being located right on Fisherman's Wharf meant first class breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as the amazing vendors selling shrimp and crab cocktails. The free wine hour every evening is also a plus and the decor gives it a special unique touch! I took away a star as the room included many different lights and lamps instead of one main light, the bathtub had a few cracks in it and there were a couple of concierges who were not as welcoming and friendly as the other amazing staff. Overall, I'd definiely stay here again and would happily and confidently recommend it in a flash to anyone, particularly if you have never been to SF before and want to experience all of the main attractions.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have hotel and street views but if you prefer a view of the wharf you can pay extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKL777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Hello, and thanks a lot, JKL777! Thanks for recommending us in a "flash" -- we appreciate you right back! Thanks for spreading the word about our prime locale and those comfy beds. Hope to see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year for two nights. We booked a suite, which was spacious and nice. Hassle free check in/check out and the staff were super friendly and helpful. The valet service for the car was generally pretty good but one morning there was a mix up and they hadn't brought the car around. We ate in the restaurant one night for dinner and again one of the mornings for breakfast. Both times we were not disappointed with the food and the service was good. The only downside is that next time I will request a room on the fourth floor as we had kids stamping around in the evenings in the room above us (would have thought they should have been in bed asleep by 10.30pm). Overall; not a bad location and a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor as we had kids running around in the room above which was annoying late at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcr11185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thanks for the 5-star review, pcr! I'm glad you got to savor some of the chef's treats in the Blue Mermaid restaurant and that the service was spot-in in both the dining room and hotel. We'd be happy to look into that valet issue, and can always "regulate" on night owls of any age and size. Security is available each and every night in case of any monkeys jumping on the bed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf
#28 of 231 in San Francisco
429 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#54 of 231 in San Francisco
2,464 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#31 of 231 in San Francisco
3,622 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 231 in San Francisco
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $272 - $842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid restaurant, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing