We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A can of scenes....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 11, 2013

LOCATION: To the east there is ugly and too the west there is beauty: this just about sums up Argonaut Hotel. It lies to the western edge of Fisherman’s Wharf a place where the romance of San Francisco's fishing community has been broken by a cotton candy fairground culture that has ripped away all meaning of the past. However, within the Argonaut Hotel is the National Park Visitor Centre for the San Francisco Maritime Park which offers a deep and informative story of San Francisco’s rich maritime history. Across the street is Hyde Park Pier with its fantastic exhibit of historic boats. To the west are parks galore, the magnificent Bay and of course the Golden Gate Bridge. Is the Argonaut Hotel ideally located? You bet!

Hotel: it is a 3 star hotel, which tells you that you’re not going to get a sumptuous Nob Hill experience, but you are getting a lovely, comfortable hotel, with great rooms with nice touches. During our stay our kids got to have a pet goldfish in the room for company and novelty. Complimentary hot chocolate was served in the afternoon and wine early evening. The overall decor offered a funky maritime feel with deck loungers lining the wall, sails and plenty of decking. The staff were all friendly, proactive and helpful. Within the Argonaut building were a Starbucks, Ben & Jerry’s, a wine merchant and a Blazing Saddles bike rental outlet.

Room: we stayed in a very spacious suite which had two well appointed rooms and a great bathroom with a very deep, deep spa bath. Beds were great, towels were good and plentiful. A big thumbs up!

Dining: probably the only downside of the hotel. Breakfast was okay but the service was a little tardy. We also dinner there (on new year’s eve) and again it was okay but nothing special.

Overall:
Do Stay if: you’re a family
Don’t stay: if you enjoy a martini before dinner

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,208 - 3,214 of 5,988 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a visit around California. We arrived in a taxi from the airport, and even by the time we opened the car door, the door staff were there with a trolley to help with our luggage. The reception staff were really friendly, and upgraded us to a bay view when they heard we were on our honeymoon. We were on the first floor right at the front of the building, and whilst the vies of Alcatraz were great, I thought it might be noisy from the street - it wasn't.

The quality of the rooms was great, the beds comfy, the robes a nice touch, and the bathrooms modern and clean. We were given a complimentary bottle off champagne on our second night.

The location is excellent for all the sites and public transport. There are loads of places around the immediate vicinity for dinner and breakfast.

I did notice some other comments about the sound proofing between the rooms. We could hear the guy in the room next door snoring (his poor wife!) but it honestly was no worse than many other hotels I have stayed in.

All in all, we really enjoyed our time here, and if I was to visit San Fran again, I would definitely stay here (hopefully in summer, where I would definitely use the bike hire service in the hotel to cycle to the Golden Gate Bridge as the hotel is right on the cycle path)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Cathy B, you charmer, you! Thanks so much for the flattering comments. I'm so glad that you enjoyed a quiet stay and found the whole thing to be flawless, just like my hairline (yeah right! But a guy can dream.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

You won't find a better launching pad to see the sights than the Argonaut Hotel. It's within walking distance to Pier 39 and all that Fisherman's Wharf has to offer. A 2 minute walk in the other direction takes you to the start of the Hyde cable car line. Add 30 seconds more and you'll be having Irish coffee at the world famous Buena Vista! Cool hotel with great service....
Now for the downside. Since my last visit the powers that be have replaced the normal sundries with shower dispensers. It's cheap, cheesy and downgrades the experience from what used to be outstanding to just average. In spite of the hotel channel honking about Kimpton's altruism I just don't but the "save the planet crap". This is purely a cost cutting measure. Lack of decent amenities in the bath make this hotel overpriced. It will keep me from staying at a Kimpton hotel in the future.

Room Tip: There are "view" rooms that overlook the street with the bay behind...they are noisy and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogusmalarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 43rd wedding anniversary recently and we decided to stay at the Argonaut hotel in San Francisco. The amenities are nice, free wine hour in the evening and an all-around eclectic yet warm vibe and whatnot, and the rooms are tastefully decorated and reasonably priced but what really stood out was the superior customer service, from the doorman Steven to the ultra friendly and accommodating front desk agent Levonne, the Argonaut, or, more specifically, Steven and Levonne, made us feel like family. I've stayed at The Ritz Carlton, The Four Seasons and The W hotel previously, but the Fact that Levonne and Steven went so far above and beyond in accommodating us have given us no choice but to swear our allegiance to the Argonaut hotel and return again next year for our 44th anniversary! Keep up the great work and we'll see you in December!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillyFranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Excellent location and a quality value.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Alva (reservations) and Steve (doorman) were exceptional.
Unfortunately the Blue Chowder was closed due to external construction on the street.
The wine bar was relaxing and well stocked.
Highly recommend and will return.

Room Tip: Queen double with bay view are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NTO_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were only going to be in SF for three full days, so we decided to pick a more unusual place than our typical Hilton. It's a cool, funky place with a STRONG maritime theme, but you get the impression, from the helmeted door man to the wine tasting every night, that they WANT to be better than they really are.

The location is close to the wharf and walking distance from Ghirardelli Square and a great breakfast place called Joanie's (do not miss Joanie's!), so the location was good.

Our bed was debatabley barely a king, closer to a queen...we let that pass. The king "deluxe" room we got was micro and the windows looked out on the roof top. There was a distinct formaldehyde-chemical out-gassing smell to the whole room. Not sure what that was and it didn't go away. Hmmm. Decor is VERY nautical. If you like that style, this will make you very happy. lol

The bell staff was ok if they were handling your bags with a tip waiting, but the front desk really didn't know much that was helpful. And what they didn't know, they didn't try to find out. The hotel restaurant was barely passable and we only had dinner there when we got in because it was late. The clam chowder, by their own admission, was like water, so don't get that if you go. My boyfriend had the asparagus and chicken, which were both heavily salted and inedible. But like most people say, don't eat at hotel restaurants, so there you go.

It's the little things that count during a stay. For instance, we stayed there through Christmas Day, so on that day, we thought we'd pick up some iced tea or coffee at the restaurant, only to find out they closed it early. Ok, it was Christmas, but really? For the guests? So, I asked where else we could go that wasn't closed. They had no idea. Wow. I mentioned Cioppino's near the restaurant and the door man quipped "Do you HAVE to go there? I mean, I hear the restrooms are really dirty." lol Tacky, and, since we went there for dinner that night as it turned out, totally untrue. It was a great, clean place.

Hotels should be in the know about the city they're in...the Argonaut staff was not.

So, all in all, not impressed with the level of service, the room was cute but micro, the price was about $140 a night plus fees and taxes, the location is great, but I doubt we'll be back.

Room Tip: We had a room with a window facing in to the roof, which was pretty quiet, sans view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaybird61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Hello, Jaybird, we take pride in being the quietly cool kids on the block, not the poser, the nerd, and only sometimes the jock. I am glad we had an exterior view for you at a holiday discount, but of course we regret that that dining snafu. The chowder here is award-winning, so I am very concerned that it had an off night and that the staff made that strange comment as well. Thanks for bringing this to our attention, and I hope that we will get a second chance to show you our a great time. We have a new iPad in our lobby with all kinds of local recommendations and of course our concierge is here 8am-7pm daily and the other staff are available 24 hours. We promise to give you some more useful tips and suggestions for exploring next time. Please reach out to me if we can be of any help in showing you a truly cool time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was the 2nd to last stop on a whirlwind tour of USA & Mexico....and Argonaut left the others in its wake.
Hotel Reception was excellent.....couldn't be more helpful.
Rooms were great ...clean..spacious...
Gym all good
Location outstanding..close to great restaurants etc

One tends to think that if you don't like it here you will never be pleased

Take a bow

Room Tip: Pick rooms looking toward street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zulu0175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
367 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#54 of 230 in San Francisco
2,407 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
3,565 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $267 - $674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid restaurant, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing