We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sept 2011 stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent service; very friendly staff; great location right at Fisherman's Wharf. 2 Adults and 2 kids so we had a double room, was a bit small but we were out most of the time so no major impact. Steve on front door was extremely friendly and welcoming

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mowen_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,182 - 3,188 of 5,945 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in a prime tourist spot if that is your thing! Walking distance to Ghiradellis (definitely check out GiGi and Rose while you are there for clothes, handbags and unique gifts), alcatraz ferry, curvy lombard st, cable car hop on, ferry market (we walked-but may he far for some), and great restaurants on the wharf!

The rooms are spacious and comfy enough-nothing über fancy but a great price so you don't care! They host a wine hour each night from 5-6pm.

They are connected to a nautical museum, wine tasting room and a restaurant (which was unfortunately closed along with room service while we were there-Jan 2013). There is a Starbucks, chipotle and In-n-out burger within a block. And their is a fabulous running trail along the wharf towards the golden gate right in front of the hotel.

My only complaints are not having the added addition of an extra safety lock and hatch on door (which I have never seen!)-however I must admit I never felt unsafe and the $46 a night to park your car.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S0muchfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Would stay here again in a heart beat. One of the highlights of our San Francisco trip for sure. Better to stay in fishermans wharf than union square for sure! The hotel offered complimentary drinks at happy hour that was a lovely addition to their very clean very friendly hotel. Beds were comfy. Quiet at night. Easy to get to any mode of transportation.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Soooooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the last leg of our honeymoon, we had a really nice suprise when we arrived we had been given a bottle of bubbly which we enjoyed in front of the big fire in the lobby area it was really cosy.

We had a king bay view room which was amazing , the decor was great, the room was spotless and we loved the dressing gowns, the bed was so comfortable as well.

The hotel is in a great location, lots of restaurants around and a short walk to the other piers. The cable car turnaround is a 1 min walk away so really handy.

The staff were so helpful and friendly, the hotel overall is immaculately clean, couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foleyfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights including NYE. On check in we were given little information about the hotels restaurant, location or opening times. We were impressed with the size of our room, it was very clean and amazing pillows! (I want to buy some they were that comfortable). Unfortunately as mentioned by other guests the walls seem to be incredibly thin. We could hear neighbours talking quite clearly, it sounded like they were in the same room as us. Not good.

The Hotel is in a good location for sightseeing...but after a while the busy fishermans wharf area became quite tedious due to number of tourists taking over the whole pavement and walking at snails pace! lol... so we opted for turning left out of the hotel and walking down the back streets down to pier 39 etc. was quicker and less manic with people :)

We were really looking forward to our room service breakfast on New Year's Day after a night out... but apparently there was an issue with the hotels gas supply! We were informed that it should be up and running later in the morning so completed an order just incase. We received a phone call about 5 mins before it was due to be delivered saying that the kitchen was still closed (they could have told us much sooner) we had no offer of any other food from elsewhere so instead went and sorted our own breakfast! Wasn't impressed with lack of room service on nye or the following couple of days. I guess this was the fault of the works taking place outside the hotel though......

I emailed the hotel about a month before my visit and asked about the options for a seaview room on a higher floor as we didn't want to be too close to the ground level. I never received a reply. I also put on the original booking that I would like a higher room with seaview. On arrival we were second floor with the view of a square. Thankfully there was no noise from the outside...

One night another couple tried to get into our room for about half an hour - the door was locked as we had been sleeping but I wonder did reception give out the wrong room number?! as this couple would not give up trying to enter our room!

..Having just checked my bank statement it appears I have been charged over £9 for a TINY bottle of vodka from the mini bar (no email to confirm this though). Minibar prices are always pricey though I know..!

Overall we really liked the quality of our room at the Argonaut (deluxe double) but a few things were a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Argonaut Hotel, San franscico- good hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Staff who enjoy working there as opposed to having to work there. The attached restuarant, Blue Mermaid also provides provides good food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOY3_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Well your joy brings us joy! Thanks for the kind words and for recognizing the warm fun staff here. We pride ourselves in providing friendly service and an atmosphere were guests never sense our team members are punching a clock to collect a paycheck! Cheers and happy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Lovely hotel with a nautical theme carried throughout (without being cheesy). From the welcome at the door, through reception, the restaurant and the wine tasting at five the whole experience was friendly and slick! The hotel is conveniently situated near the Piers, the trolley car station and some really nice restaurants. Nice views either onto Golden Gate Bridge, or Alcatraz.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms face a bland inward looking atrium. Ask for a room overlooking the trolley car sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Hello, Leon, and thanks so much for the high praise all the way from South Africa! We're thrilled that the cozy fireside wine hour and prime location here made your time in San Francisco fantastic! And, yes, I am thrilled that last year's redesign really focused in on that classy nautical feel, avoiding cheesy at all costs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
2,362 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,476 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
3,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $222 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing