We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to Fisherman's Wharf”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hanford, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A trip to Fisherman's Wharf”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The wife and I stayed at the Argonaut for two days. The location is great if you are interested in visiting the San Francisco Wharf area. Everything is great about the hotel and I would give it the highest rating except for the bed. Both the wife and I had back pain after the first night and she slept on the couch the second night and felt better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MingMing70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hello, Ming Ming, I'm so glad that you had a great time here with us. I had the opportunity to enjoy one of our rooms the other night, and I slept like a baby. Usually, our mattresses get great reviews (and the pillows, don't even get me started!) but, of course, everyone's body is different, so if you prefer some additional fluff on top of the mattress, we are happy to provide some from the housekeeping department next time! We hope to see you again. Thanks for checking out the Argonaut!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,536
    1,606
    357
    136
    56
See reviews for
1,617
2,411
133
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I traveled here on business. I love Kimpton Hotels and always try to stay at them. I'm a loyal customer for sure.

My room was great. First of all, it was huge and well appointed for a decent price. I understand that it is an old factory (canning, I believe) so the building itself is really lovely. The interior was also totally worth it. If you're a tourist, this is a great spot.

The only downside was the noise. Even though the walls are brick, the woman next to me was so loud, I could hear her cackling voice at 6am talking on the phone to her kids. Also, there's a restaurant across the street that played music outside all day/late-night. The windows are well-insulated but, if noise bothers you, definitely ask for a room away from this restaurant. One real issue that I did have was that the front-desk staff was not that friendly to me checking in. Not a huge deal but...

Finally, if you're traveling on business, it's likely you'll have to take a cab to wherever you're going since this hotel isn't central. But, you do get a better hotel for the money here.

Room Tip: I was traveling on ET. If you want to go to sleep early, ask for a room away from the courtyard as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StopForDirections
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our stay was really good and we found the hotel brilliantly located for local shops and transport links. The trolley car terminus was right outside our window,but weren't bothered by noise at all. Our room was a little on the Vikki side but everything was well appointed and the beds comfy. The hotel retains a lot of charm but all facilities were modern and fully functional. Our only gripe over 5 days was the coffee maker, but all in all a great base to see 'the City'!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjk7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hi, tjk, and many thanks for the high praise of our location and comfy beds! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed a quiet and restful night's sleep and the chance to explore the city by cable car. Our friends down at Starbucks aim to please with the in-room coffee service, so if there is anything in particular you'd recommend we switch up about the machines, do give a holler! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the argonaut for 3 nights in December 2012. The hotel is in a fantastic location on the wharves close to the tram that takes you all the way to union square. It's a great spot for first-time tourists as you are just a step away from lots of great attractions (pier 39, bike hire, seals on the wharf) but the food on offer in the area is much a tourist trap and very average (unless you like overpriced seafood!) so I would recommend taking the tram to other areas for meals. The rooms themselves are impeccably clean and large-sized with all the amenities you can think of.
Tips: go downstairs for a complimentary hottie tottie or glass of wine at 6pm to meet the other guests and hire a bike from blazing saddles and ride to Sausalito - absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoannaB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

One of the best places I've stayed out of all the hotels I've been in. Service was excellent. Food was awsome and the wine tasting was a nice treat to start an evening on the town. "Close to eveverthing" - just like my friend said. Most sites were within walking distance and the view was top notch also. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for an exterior room. Perferably on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kodadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Kodadad, thanks so much for the happy hellos from Canada! We love pouring that wine every night and everyone's good holiday cheer is making it all the more festive. Thanks for capping it all off with some scrumptious seafood and chowder (or chowdah as they sometimes say back East)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA Central Coast
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The detail to hotel decor is amazing; it has very pleasant surroundings! The rooms are not super huge, but it's nice to have two queen beds (instead of two doubles as many SF hotels do) if you're traveling as a family. The location is also great -- just across from Hyde Street Pier -- which works for first-time SF visitors and SF die-hards alike. The hotel does not have a pool, but even with kids, you don't need one in this city. There's so much to see and do outside of your hotel. Anyone can easily walk to the Fisherman's Wharf area. If you're walkers, which we are, you are within walking distance of much more: North Beach, Coit Tower, and even the Marina District. If you're not walkers, you can catch the Hyde-Powell cable car line right outside the hotel door. This hotel carries out the Kimpton "way" of customer service better than other Kimptons I've stayed at. The bell staff is pretty spot-on. We had a blast chatting with other guests at the wine hour. Very kid friendly too, as they provide a lobby area/ground floor treasure/scavenger hunt for the kids. Kids also get to visit a treasure chest daily for a little prize. If there's any negative to this hotel, I would have to say that the front desk agents could use a little polishing -- nothing bad, just not as polished as the bell staff. There was, however, one particularly amazing, helpful front desk agent that we just made a habit of seeking out when we needed front desk help during our stay. As a family, we have to be pretty budget conscience, and this is not an inexpensive hotel -- although you can find an internet deal from time to time. We wish we could stay more often!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CentralCoastTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,243 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#42 of 229 in San Francisco
2,137 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#92 of 229 in San Francisco
95 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,215 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing