We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the nautical theme”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I got to the hotel late on a Sunday night, so luckily the roads (and valet) were not busy. The guys outside at the valet were really helpful, even pointing me to the nearest self park garage, which saved me about $20 in parking per night. The hotel is really neat, with a nautical theme that suits it well near fisherman's wharf. The room had exposed wood beams and the bathroom had wood accents, adding to the rustic feel--simply great designers. Besides the design, the room was clean and very comfortable. Not a negative thing to say about the hotel, the Argonaut should definitely be on your list of places to visit!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l0vet0travel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,757)
There are newer reviews for Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,019 - 3,025 of 5,760 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

It won't be to everyone's taste with the over the top nautical themes; but look past that and it's a really well run hotel with great staff.

The rooms were clean, modern enough, and plenty of space for the three of us.

Location was great - fisherman's wharf, cable car, etc

Best chowder in town as well; and a good range on the in-room dining menu.

Finally, ask for a goldfish in the room - yes, one that swims around.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank reklaw_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is great, we had a king bay view room overlooking the Golden Gate Bridge. The room was spotless and very nicely set up. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed each one, including the wine reception! The weather was bad while we were in town so Fishermans wharf was not the most appealing and very tacky but we got to see everything that San Fran has to offer because the hotel is in an accessible location.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

I absolutely loved the argonaut! San Fran has long held a special place in my heart and I have finally found a hotel that matches the warm, stylish quirkiness that I love about the city. Our arrival late after an awful 48 hours of travel plans gone wrong was like a breath of fresh air - at last things seemed to be going right! Steve the doorman was a delight, he immediately endeared himself with our daughters and continued to do so throughout our stay. The room was gorgeous. At checkin I was told I had booked king suite so could choose larger without view or smaller with some view. I chose the view. Whist nor outstanding given the weather we've had, it was still nice and the room itself was beautiful. I certainly didn't feel we were missing out in terms of size. Staff are all pretty good, certainly some of the front desk staff stand out as better than others but overall a warm welcome was felt from most. We ended up booking an extra night to make up with the one we'd missed in the first place. Looks like we will have to change rooms as I seem to have booked a higher class of king, what they call a specialty suite. Whilst it is a pain to have to pack up two days in a row, I have been to look at a specialty suite and it was certainly special - corner views, loads of space, full dining table. I think I won't want to step outside!! I will miss San Fran and the argonaut and hope it won't be too long before the next time

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyLadybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have been staying here when visiting our family in the East Bay area for a good number of years. My lovely wife has MS and is wheelchair bound. This means that we have special requirements and needs. From the minute that we arrive and are greeted by the excellent door men who have been there for years - making sure that we are protected from traffic while loading and unloading my lovely wife and her wheelchair from on coming traffic - to the bell hops handling our problems to the front desk personnel - we are treated like special, very welcomed guests. Add to that the free daily afternoon hot chocolate and wine tasting and you have a magic time. The hotel is only a couple of blocks from Fisherman's Wharf and around the block from the cable car. Lastly, the attached restaurant is excellent - definitely not your average hotel food.

We look forward to returning in 2013.

Room Tip: It may cost a little more but ask for a room with a view of the Golden Gate Bridge.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lrothfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Hi, LRoth, and thanks for your kind comments. We have a bellman/doorman meeting coming up and I'll be sure to let them know that their care and thoughtfulness set a great tone for your stay here. We'll share your high praise with the chef as well - thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We visited several hotels on our road trip holiday and this was definitely our favourite. It is perfectly placed at the quieter end of Fisherman's wharf close to the trams and with easy access to all the tourist attractions.The room wasn't huge but was tastefully furnished, very quiet and the bed very comfortable (loved the snazzy bathrobes!). The staff service is excellent we felt like VIPs, and the complementary hot chocolate by the fire in the afternoons and wine reception in the evening were much appreciated. It was also nice to see that doggy guests were treated just as well with a box of teats for them by the front door! The restaurant is well worth a visit too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellestone22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Hi, MichelleStone22, and Happy Holidays! We are thrilled that you felt like a top VIP and that your stellar experience carried through at the lobby receptions and in the Blue Mermaid restaurant. Today it's raining here and we all are going for bowls of that chowder to make the day cozier! Too bad our manager desks are not set up by that fireplace ;)...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at The Argonaut for three nights and were very happy with the staff, facilities and location. The hotel had a free wine every evening from 1700-1800, which was a welcome after a long days sightseeing. Great transport links right outside the hotel to various places across the city. Perfect for families!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank grahamwhite78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
2,216 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
3,290 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#57 of 230 in San Francisco
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $285 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing