We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but you'll pay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice, but you'll pay”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a very nice hotel, rooms are a little small and we had a premium room too. The beds are extremely comfortable and the place clean. You will pay a heck of lot more than other hotels in the area, but if that's not an issue, you'll love it.

Room Tip: If you pay even more, you can get bay views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mack0168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,384
    1,548
    342
    126
    55
See reviews for
1,519
2,315
128
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,089)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Liked the location of this hotel on the end of Fisherman's Wharf. Easy to rent bikes, grab public transportation and get to Alcatraz. John the doorman was especially helpful in directing us to good breakfast restaurants and general city information. Room was very clean and comfortable, comfy bed and free wine at happy hour during the week. Watch out for the street people on Fisherman's Wharf that jump out and yell from behind fake hand held branches or hydrants, scared the daylights out of me! The Fisherman's Wharf area was a little run down and cheesy but it was a little seedy. But the central location was a plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fantarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clio, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have stayed here several times due to company meetings. Best avoided due to cramped, noisy quarters, average service, poor location (who needs to stay at the Wharf?), and high price. Find a smaller, better place closer to Union Square or the Financial District.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Clio2,
I'm sorry to hear you were underwhelmed with the level of service during your visit. That is certainly not the impression we hoped to leave you with. While I enjoy getting great feedback, knowing when we drop the ball is still my best tool to ensure perfect service. I'll make sure this is addressed, thank you again for your feedback.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our huge king suite bay view nr. 356 (corner suite) was on the 3d floor wih a nice view to Alcatraz and seaside. Fancy hotel and room design in nautic style (but would not speak of a luxurious style), brick walls and bathtube with Alcatraz view, large windows. We never used the large living room with dining table and sofa. Even it was more than 20 degree celsius outside, it was always a bit cold inside the room. The room was well maintained, looked new and clean.
Location is good for visting Fishermans Wharf, Alcatraz and cable car station but takes a while to get into the shopping district.
Public spaces looked nice but were small and the few chairs by the fire were always occupied. As for the service, it was good and friendly. We did not use the hotel restaurant, other restaurants had a fresher lookout and the better menu. Would I stay here again? I loved the seaside location, the view, the fancy nautic design and the huge room. For a first time visit, its worth to stay in this location, for a repeat visit, I'd stay close to Union square. For breakfast, go to Hollywoood caffe, its the best. Show up early in the morning as it is small and always full.

Room Tip: top floor, corner room, seaside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxuryvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel that is glass encased and absent of soul don't stay here. The building by itself establishes a character which is amplified by the friendly and outgoing staff.

The hotel is directly beside Cannery Row and is just a few blocks away from the piers (which allows for a very pleasant walk). So there is no want of choice when considering eateries or entertainment. In fact, the Mermaid Bar that is off of the lobby is excellent.

We arrived earlier than the 3pm checkin but the staff provided beverage vouchers for the Mermaid which we used until the room was ready, clearly demonstrating the committment the hotel extends toward their guests.

The room itself was charming. Brick, beams and beautiful views......simply fabulous.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here just for one night after a flight from the UK before travelling to Lake Tahoe.
Great hotel, lovely room, all very nautically themed (unsurprising). Quiet location considering you are near Fishermans Wharf and Giardelli Square. Had a twin room, 2 queens, one for me and one for my wife and son, slept like a log really comfy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yukon164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community of Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Upon our arrival, the girl at the front desk received us while holding a puppy so that she only could use one of her hands to complete the check in procedure that took like forever!... from that point everything seemed a little surreal, kind of being at a crowed college dormitory, it could be fun but for the high rates of a Kimpton hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,004 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#62 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,050 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing