We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed over the busy fleet w/end, Blue Angels, Parades, Americas Cup so really busy.

The greatest asset of this hotel is its location, right where you need to be on the Wharf.

We booked a package that included valet parking & breakfast, this came with a 3 day pass for all Muni transport (cable cars, buses, trams) & I would definitely advise having a look at the hotels website for these deals as it can be expensive for parking etc.

No problems with check in & staff had all details for our stay to hand. Concierge (Terry) was informative & can give good recommendations for almost anything.

Rooms were good size for us & we liked the nautical theme. Nice touch with the different bathrobes & bed socks! The let down in the room was the shower, it was an old type & wasn't in keeping with the rest of the bathroom or room.

Like a previous reviewer has said the breakfast is a bit of a let down & we were told there is a better option just a short way down the Wharf. We also ate in the Mermaid for dinner on 1 night but wouldn't return as the service fell short of what we have experienced elsewhere.

The wine reception at 5pm was ok although we didn't see any cheese, only a small plate of battered prawns was on offer which wasn't very substantial at all (they were all gone in a few seconds). We have had better wine receptions in B&B's on this trip.

If returning to San Fran we would def look at this hotel again & with a couple of improvements it could be top class.

Room Tip: Cable car terminal is just a few yards from hotel but there were long queues so go 20-30 mins before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncancolwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

duncancolwell,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us such a detailed review of your stay. I am happy to hear you had such an enjoyable stay, especially since you traveled from the other side of the pond! You picked a busy weekend to stay with us!

You are 100% correct, it's tough to beat our location, trust me we realize just how spoiled we are. We hope we can welcome you back soon, we'll make sure to hold on to a zebra print robe for you!

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,259 - 3,265 of 5,879 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Superb location! Loved the ambiance. Very comfortable. Only one thing kept me from giving 5 stars. The front desk staff was rude on two different occasions. For a hotel of this caliber, this was really surprising, especially in a city that is known for its outstanding service. Once instance was them telling us to look again when we called to say that our room did not have a bottle opener for the beer we had taken out of the mini bar. When we ended up calling back to say that we looked again and that it really wasn't there, they replied that every room had one. If everything else about the stay hadn't have been so wonderful (including a free wine hour every afternoon!!!), I would have left with a much worse taste.

Room Tip: Bayview is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgauthier42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel was the first hotel we stayed in on our 3 week holiday travelling down the coast of California & a 4 night stop in Las Vegas & it was perfect. Lovely room, great atmosphere & very helpful staff. Just round the corner from the old tram that takes you to the centre of San Francisco, walking distance of excellent restaurants (try the one just opposite, lovely food & staff) & hop on, hop off bus. San Francisco hotels are quite expensive but best price we found was with Hotels.com & also found a 10% off voucher on the internet. Next stop was Monterey where we stayed at the Hotel Portola which was also very good & central & EVERYONE must go to Las Vegas once. It was amazing!!!!

Room Tip: We had a basic King Double room which was lovely. No view but not necessary. Hotels with view are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Overall very positive experience at the Argonaut. We managed to get a cheaper rate for our 4 nights. We paid extra for the Bayview rooms but I would recommend just a std room as the windows are small and you are usually out all day anyway. Ernie was a top fella & was a wealth of information on all the best restaurants to explore. We enjoyed the wine tastings - a great way to relax after the day and meet fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorgeguito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the Argonaut as we picked probably the busiest weekend in SF and there was nothing else available. We therefore paid over the odds and so this probably colored my view that I was a little disappointed. The room was very small with a view of a brick wall and there was no 'hotel buffet breakfast' which I enjoy so much. There is an attached restaurant where we had breakfast one day but I would recommend you go further afield - there is a great bakery at the wharf a little way down the road which does casual downstairs and table service upstairs.
The hotel was all fine with no problems but other than the doorman, not that helpful. There were a couple of nice touches for the children but not worth the money but as I said, we paid around $500 per night.
The wharf area is a bit too overrun for my taste so would stay a closer to union square if I went again. The argonaut is well placed for Alcatraz with only a 15 min walk to the ferry.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieFamilyAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The room we had was top notch-very clean and service workers were very friendly.Our room overlooked the Bay-we woke up to Alcatraz every morning with ships etc.-loved the room with the view.It was a busy time for San Francisco as it was Fleet Week,Blue Angels and American Cup.We too found the personal on the Front Desk not wanting to exert friendliness or wanting to help.There was a couple of guys and 1 girl that was very accomadating but on the overall not good.Beautiful atmosphere with fireplace and sitting area in Lobby was very nice.Restaurant had good food and staff was very friendly as well.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view of the Bay-on the 3rd floor has an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Everglade62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Very nice hotel near Fisherman's Wharf. Couldn't fault it!
- Competitive prices
- Spacious room
- Complementary wine tasting
- Mini-bar credit is handy when you really can't be bothered going out to get a snack
- Roaring hot fire in the reception area
- If you're staying with your other half, the mirror in front of the bed is incredibly sexy!
- Amazingly helpful concierge
- Prompt check-in and check-out
- Unique style & decor

It's a small-ish hotel and is not what you'd call a classic five-star hotel at all (think 'trendy' rather than 'luxury'), but would not hesitate to come back. Wouldn't rave about it, but would highly recommend it as a decent comfortable and cool place to stay. Didn't spend a great deal of time in the hotel itself, but we found it pleasant and unique.

How could it improve? Bathrooms are nothing special. I'm not a fan of the dual shower/bath thing, but I discovered that this is very much the norm in US hotels.

Room Tip: We actually got a better rate on the Bring Your Pet package. We didn't even have a pet! Just che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#52 of 230 in San Francisco
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,429 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
3,423 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $247 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Splitty, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing