We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thin Walls, Dated Decor for a newer hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Ranked #7 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2010

I could hear conversations so clearly in the next room that I could've typed a transcript. The interior of the hotel, while there was nothing "wrong" with it, seemed way out of date (example - TV was not a flatscreen, bathroom reminded me of an airport that happened to have a shower). The hotel seemed to have a lot of flight attendants & pilots staying at it and did not seem as well suited to a leisure traveller. The lobby was nice and staff was pleasant and helpful. Free computers/internet in the lobby was also nice.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaK16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,899)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,586 - 2,592 of 2,899 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2010

We strongly encourage anyone even thinking about booking this hotel to run, run, run. You will be very upset if you don't follow this advice. We booked this as a "4 Star Hotel," and were shocked by this obvious false advertisement. The lobby was cramped and full of back-packing students. The quality of the materials used to build this place reminded us of something you would find in an old industrial European hostel..cheap, fake marbel countertops, cheesy laminate, bad carpet. The room was the size of a dorm and only contained one washcloth, one towel and one face towel (there were two of us). We were told this is how they set things up and we had to ask for more. We also had to ask for ice buckets (flimsy plastic with no liners), there were no in-room amenities like hair dryers, irons, etc. Instead, these "extras" were contained in a common closet down the hall, next to the water bottles you could fill with their purified water. There is no room service, as advertised. Instead, the room has take-out menus from local restaurants that can deliver to the front desk, who will in turn bring it up to your room for a fee. The staff was overworked and unfriendly and very unhelpful. It was unbelievable that this place touts they are 4 STAR. If you are looking for a college dorm experience, this is it. If you are looking for a 4 STAR accommodation, steer clear. Whomever is responsible for misleading consumers like this should be arrested. The room charge was criminal for what we got...almost $160 for a lousy bed, a room we could not even turn around in, a 19" console t.v., absolutely NO in-room amenities and a royal pain in the keister. By the way, their advertised "business center" consisted of 3 standing computer stalls located in the noisy lobby. Their supposed free Wi-Fi did not work in our room either. What a rip-off!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannonslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

I frequently stay at the Club Quarters hotel in San Francisco when I travel on business. All of my stays have been pleasant. The hotel is clean and quiet. The rooms and bathrooms are small but for a solo traveler who is coming in to town for just a few nights, it is fine. The rooms are comfortable and well set up for working on the road. The location is good as it is a easy walk to many great neighborhoods including North Beach and Chinatown so lots of great restaurants to choose from in the area. There are also some great shops at the Embarcadero buildings across the street. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good quality but budget accomodations in San Francisco.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
Thank AnnaDLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

There is a high speed internet which blocks VPN to corporate sites. Room temperature controls did not work. Tiny, dark rooms, no iron. Shower only. No parking. No knowledgeable staff on premise. No views. No on-premise restaurant, they will bring in food from a bar next door.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank water b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

This was one of the most comfortable stay that I had while traveling on business. Comfortable rooms within the heart of the city, and with excellent amenities. The price is also affordable and the only draw back i found was this hotel does not provide complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exce008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

my husband and I stayed there for two nights for $95 per night and we learned they don't have parking for hotel so you have to park your car in a parking lot about one block away from the hotel and you have to pay $32 a night! so do not being fool by the good price! if you have a car. every thing about this hotel was average and poor. room was too small with a very low ceiling and you could CLEARLY hear next door rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunriseflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We stayed three nights here booked off hotwire for $75/Night. The Location is great, two blocks from the Calfornia Line Cable Car, and close to market street, and union square.

The Amenities at the hotel were good, and checkin was quick. Free internet and printing in the Lobby was great, and the rooftop area was very nice.

The Actual room was a bit 'cheap'. No safe, and only queen beds available. Some of the hotel staff are not very good with English, and we often had difficulty explaning our needs. We requested a non-down duvet, and the hotel was unable to provide.

Overall for a cheap rate it was fine, but next time I would spend a bit more to get a bit more.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianGuy2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,578 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 231 in San Francisco
5,398 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#17 of 231 in San Francisco
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf
#28 of 231 in San Francisco
429 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 231 in San Francisco
3,813 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 231 in San Francisco
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco

Address: 424 Clay St, San Francisco, CA 94111-3207
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $145 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, San Francisco provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere with 346 rooms located in the center of the prime business district and a short distance from Embarcadero Center, the city's most prestigious office complex, with shopping, movies, and restaurants. The hotel is minutes to fine dining, shopping, and entertainment. A short walk to Market Street and most downtown points of interest, such as Chinatown, Union Square and North Beach. Club Quarters provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Fast and easy self check-in and check-out• Fast, free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in-room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 5 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 100 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID• Laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Quarters San Francisco
Club Quarters Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing