We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, location and amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Ranked #15 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2006

Club Quarters San Francisco is a great travellers hotel. The hotel is clean and modern. There is free high-speed internet access (you can bring your own lap top or there are computers downstairs in the common area.) The bed was extremely comfortable. The room was a bit small, but my fiancee and I are both over 6ft tall, and we never felt cramped or in each others way. Check-in was a breeze, and the staff was excellent. I actually saw one of the desk attendants walking a party from the hotel around the financial district to help them find a place to eat on labor day eve...talk about service!!! The room had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. (I'm not sure if all do, so you may need to request.) In addition to all of this, there is a gym with some pretty decent equipment and a roof-top deck w/ somewhat restricted views of the bay.

I read some negative reviews about the location, and I'm not sure what those people are smoking. The hotel is about 3 blocks outside of North Beach. It is also about 5 blocks form market street, along which there is access to muni, bart, busses and ferries. In my opinion, that's a damn fine location.

Booked a last minute trip to San Francisco for labor day weekend. I am not sure of the exact price that was paid for the hotel as it was a package deal, but based upon my guesstimation and arithmatic, it was probably around $65-$75 per night....an absolute steal for this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jaypeaznuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,301 - 2,307 of 2,502 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2006

I was very happy with the location, very close to china town and also to the embarcadero. We walked to dinner most nights in chinatown and little italy. I was a little worried when I saw the reviews saying that the rooms were small, I can tell that the people who wrote them never stayed in new york city hotels because our room was twice the size of the average hotel room in nyc. The room was clean and more than enough space for two people. I was also happy that we did not have the homeless people hanging out near the hotel like many of the other hotels had. I felt secure here.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 46red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2006

We stayed three days in San Francisco . It was the first time I visit that beautiful city with my boyfriend. We visit Fisherman Wharf, Cliff House, Planetarium, Mission Street, Downtown, Chinatown. It is a big city with so many places to go nearby. We visit Berkely, Oakland and Sausalito , too. We took also a Golden Bridge tour. We keep the Alcatraz tour for a second visit. We spent two night at the Hyatt Regency in Burlingame and one night at the Club Quarters. The first hotel is big and confortable with a beautiful view of the bay. The second is an ideal hotel at downtown, everything is near!!!! I strongly recommed these hotels, they are not expensive, 3 star hotels and extremely clean and comfortable.

Stayed: June 2006
1  Thank Nellrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Columbia, MD
16
Reviewed June 24, 2006

Club Quarters is a hotel chain that contracts with large companies for discount hotel stays during the week. On the weekends, they lift their "private club" restriction and allow other travellers to stay at relatively inexpensive rates.

We found that this Club Quarters, in San Francisco, is in the financial district - a great location for business travellers during the week, but on the weekend the entire neighborhod is completely dead. The hotel has no parking at all. Guests are instructed to park at a pay garage around the corner - for $28/day. So much for saving money on the hotel.

Our other complaint was that the walls are paper-thin. Other reviewers have mentioned that there seemed to be a party going on all night in the hallway, and this was definitely our experience. If you're looking for a party atmosphere at 2 am in a low-cost hotel, this is the place! But if you were hoping to get some sleep, you're out of luck. In addition to screaming, yelling, laughing, and slamming doors, we could also easily hear "normal" noises (tv, talking, flushing toilets) from the rooms on either side, above, and below us.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2006

CQ bills itself as a business hotel, and it is that, but nothing more. Most of the rooms are VERY small, with double beds, small bathrooms and only one hand-towel. We spent one night in a room that was more like a cell--its window looked out at a bare concrete wall just 3 feet away. And it reeked of tobacco! But the second night we were moved to a much larger room on the top floor, with great views, and no smell. On the holiday weekend we were there, most of the patrons were foreign tourists and youf couples. We had no issues with noice. Being in the financial district, there was always street parking available, which saves about $35/night.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evanescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2006

Stayed here April 30 - May 3 as a good alternative to the Hyatt down the street, where my meeting was located. The place is nice and the room is adequate for a single traveler. The savings averaged $50 per night over the Hyatt. However, the walls are so thin that you can hear the TV and the conversation of the people in the next room. Be sure that you like them, because you will hear everything that they have to say.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GAHighRoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2006

I just got back from a trip to San Francisco and a stay at Club Quarters. I found the previous reviews to be very helpful. It was in a great location and the room was fine - clean and met our needs. I agree they were a little skimpy with the bathroom towels, but immediately brought up a couple more when I requested them. We had to find an blanket in the guest closet in the hallway (the bed only had the top sheet and bedspread on it) - which was fine; I just hope they clean those blankets regularly! The staff was easy to deal with and allowed us to have a late checkout, which we needed. The only real complaint I have is with the parking - parking is at the Embarcadero Center garage, which is fine, but expensive. Even with the parking expense, it was still cheaper to stay here than anywhere else downtown.
I didn't have any trouble with "thin" walls, but I travel with a white noise machine anyway since I'm a light sleeper. I also liked the free internet access - helped with getting directions to places outside of the city and just to check on a few things. All in all, I would defintely stay at Club Quarters again.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,339 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,429 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco

Address: 424 Clay St, San Francisco, CA 94111-3207
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $128 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, San Francisco provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere with 346 rooms located in the center of the prime business district and a short distance from Embarcadero Center, the city's most prestigious office complex, with shopping, movies, and restaurants. The hotel is minutes to fine dining, shopping, and entertainment. A short walk to Market Street and most downtown points of interest, such as Chinatown, Union Square and North Beach. Club Quarters provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Fast and easy self check-in and check-out• Fast, free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in-room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 5 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 100 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID• Laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Quarters San Francisco
Club Quarters Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing