We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Ranked #14 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Comfortable, near Chinatown, Market St-- can walk anywhere or use public transportation. Too bad BART was on strike though. Chilled water, cappucino- quiet-- everything we needed was there-- price was right for this pricey city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drkcnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,224
    716
    260
    76
    43
See reviews for
249
681
152
958
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The room was a bit small and the "king" bed was actually two twin mattresses put together. Bathroom and shower were fine and the fitness facility was ok. The different meeting areas and snack arrangements were excellent and the staff more than accommodating. About a 30 minute cab ride to the airport. The Elephant & Castle restaurant in the building was very convenient and good food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRaskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights to be near a wedding reception and do a little sight seeing. The location turned out to be better than expected for its close proximity to cable car lines, Ferry Building, and Union Square. Be advised that the area is pretty dead on weekends, but still a short walk to get out of the financial district.
Other than the location, I was very impressed with the service at the front desk. In particular, Sarbi, was extremely helpful with directions, and took time to greet me and ask me how me how my day went when I returned. I was very impressed with the person attention.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times. It's a good choice for weeks when a convention in town makes 3-star hotels to costly for the work budget. But it is pretty utalitarian, definitely 2 star as far as the rooms go.

The rooms are pretty plain. It's usually clean but seems likes it went a little downhill on cleansliness during my last visit. Very sparse on towels and extras. You will mistake nothing for luxury here.Also, I always smell cigarette smoke here; don't know if it's people smoking in their rooms or on the rooftop deck.

Having said that, positives include a machine in the lobby that makes surprisingly good espressos and lattes. Great free snack bins at night when you want just a little somethin-somethin; snack mix, wasabi peas, m&m's. Free purified water every hallway. Food at pub next door not bad if you order right; try the steak and mushroom pie with puff pastry; tasty and comes with a side salad with homemade vinaigrette; not too heavy and good deal at $13.50.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I was on business and this hotel could not have been better. Five minutes from the office, comfortable beds, and great service. Jenny gave me some great recommendations for dinner and was on point with her suggestions (not to mention she always had a smile on her face). I will definitely be back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed four nights at the CQ when visiting San Francisco October 10-14th,Columbus Day Weekend, for a family wedding.. Jenny was the ultimate concierge! From maps, to street directions, to bus information and restaurants, she helped make the weekend an enjoyable and fun get-away for us! In addition, her perpetual, friendly manner towards the guests made our coming and going from the hotel each day welcoming.
Also, the Elephant and Castle served tasty breakfasts, with good service and excellent individual pots of coffee for each guest. Fitness Room was also well-equipped, considering it's small size.
The only things they still need to work on is to find linens that actually tuck into the beds!
Overall, we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends/family visiting San Francisco.

Room Tip: Since we prefer a king bed, we opted for the room where they put 2 twin beds together to make a kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stay here frequently as I have a business across the street at the Embarcadero Center. The hotel stays pretty full and is always clean and quiet. The staff at the front desk are exceptional and go out of their way to make sure things go right and you get what you want. Unlike most hotels the answer is usually YES! Ask for Sarbi, Jon, Aaron, Jenny or any of the other staff at the front and they will take good care of you.

Room Tip: The suites are roomy. Ask for one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,163 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,760 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
438 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
4,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco

Property: Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Address: 424 Clay St, San Francisco, CA 94111-3207
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, San Francisco provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere with 346 rooms located in the center of the prime business district and a short distance from Embarcadero Center, the city's most prestigious office complex, with shopping, movies, and restaurants. The hotel is minutes to fine dining, shopping, and entertainment. A short walk to Market Street and most downtown points of interest, such as Chinatown, Union Square and North Beach. Club Quarters provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Fast and easy self check-in and check-out• Fast, free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in-room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 5 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 100 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID• Laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Quarters San Francisco
Club Quarters Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing