We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Battery(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel North Beach(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Grant Plaza Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Orchard Garden Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (3,228)
Filter reviews
3,228 results
Traveler rating
1,904
874
301
93
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,904
874
301
93
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe financial districtfront deskpurified watergreat locationearly checkembarcadero centerferry buildingbusiness travelerrooms are smallbusiness tripcoffee machinequeen bedgreat roombart stationfew blocksmarket streetpublic transportation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,832 - 2,837 of 3,228 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This hotel is definitely geared for the business traveler, as the room are quite small and oriented towards work. Our room had a window, but it looked out onto a light well, which, being on the second floor, did not see a lot of light. It was a bit like an interior stateroom on a cruise ship, right down to the bathroom countertop, lack of a decent shower, and twin beds pushed together.

On the plus side, the pricelined rate was reasonable, and free internet access is provided, along with free bottled water. It's about a five minute walk to the subway and F line, and not too far from everything else. A pro or con, depending on how you look at it, is that this area is very dead on the weekend -- there are not many restaurants or even cafes open in the near radius; however, the Elephant and Castle pub is in the building.

Room Tip: Try to get an exterior room on a higher floor, to avoid a dungeon-like feel.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbreweral2or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I've never stayed at a Club Quarters before, so I cannot comment on how this hotel is versus others in the chain. This hotel has the advantage of being in an excellent location -- across the street from the Meridien Hotel and nearby the Embarcadero Center. Another plus -- it is reasonably priced. I paid $159 per night which for SF, seemed like a good deal to me. It's a downtown location, which can be a little dicey at night. When I walked by the hotel, I passed by a few folks who didn't seem like they had a place to stay that night. They seemed harmless enough.

The lobby is spare. The front desk folks direct you to electronic kiosks to check-in. They're helpful enough, but perhaps, working with you at the front desk is against the rules. The kiosk spits out a key and a sheet of paper that tells you where to go. Up the elevator and to the room you go.

Security is good. The elevator will not go up to your floor without your key. It's a nice touch. when you exit the elevator, you pass by a closet with stuff you might need (iron, ironing board, coffee, pillow cases, etc.) and a clever purified water dispenser. Above the dispenser is a rack with plastic, disposable bottles (eco-friendly they are not, perhaps, but convenient) that you open (seals are intact), fill, and close.

My room was quite a bit away from the elevator (three turns). Not a big deal except when dragging an ironing board.

The room was big enough -- double bed with a desk, small bathroom (shower only), small closet, and a comfortable chair. Small flat screen, but high def. A nioe view of a window facing mine, so scenery was not much to look at. The bed was comfortable (though the duvet cover was stiff and not very soft. Great pillow. Towels were okay. Toiletries were okay.

As for amenities, they had a big lounge with three open computers, lots of couches and chairs, enough coffee and tea. It lacked newspapers, though. When I asked for one at the front desk, i was pointed in the direction of the lounge, which had none. When I asked why, I was told that they purchase six (6) newspapers for the entire hotel. Okay...sure, it's a minor detail, but annoying.

It has a fitness center, but I never saw it so cannot comment about it.

Breakfast, if desired, is located next to the hotel (access through the lobby) at a pub. did not try that either.

In summary, really good location, great price, adequate hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrEricJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We spent New Year's Eve and New Year's Day at the CQ-SF ... and what can I say other than the hotel is super nice, the staff were excellent, and the room was spot on. It's in an older building adjacent to the Embarcadero Center ... and even though it not your big fancy chain hotel, it is modern, attractive and clean. Plus it's close, or has easy access, to most attractions in the City. And what makes this even nicer, is the fact that they are less expensive than those chain hotels. Gotta' love that!!! Yes, we are CQ fans, have stayed in some of their other properties, have never been disappointed, and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike995134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Location was great. Easy access to public transportaion. We took two tours and had hotel pick up. Having read reviews we knew to expect a very small room. It was small. Everything else about the stay was great. The water bottles at the elevator. The computers in the lobby were always available. The staff was helpful with suggestions on transportation and what to see and do. They also held on luggage after our check out on our last day until we returned later in the evening for a late night flight out. I would certainly stay here again and plan to use Club Quarters in other cities if given the option.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Stayed here on a business trip. The hotel is at a great location with close access to the financial district. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are smaller than normal, but this hotel is more for the business traveler. They had free Wifi and fill your own water bottles. There is a Starbucks located in the building which came in handy. The hotel rooms were clean, nice flat screen tv, microwave and fridge. Parking is available across the street at the Embarcadero, and while expensive, is much cheaper than the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perryfamilyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews