We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Joanne is the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Beach Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Beach Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Joanne is the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

I stayed here for a week in June, and it was such a lovely experience. Joanne is fantastic, and it felt like home. We're vegetarian, so she always had a different special breakfast from a local natural bakery for us (my waist would have preferred to just have the cereal, but the choice was mine lol). I'm not sure what she serves for those who eat meat, but I'm sure it's just as lovely. The B&B is located a few blocks from the beach and is a block away from two major streets with buses, Balboa and Geary. The area is quiet, and the view in the suite is amazing. Highly recommended and will definitely go back!

Oh, and there are lots of sushi restaurants and sweets shops in the area including a frozen yoghurt shop about 8 blocks away, not to mention the usual Walgreens (1 block + others), Starbucks (at least 3 on Geary alone), etc. There's something for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrotter_5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

This is a great location, a ten-minute walk down a steep hill to a gorgeous beach, with bus service to downtown SF. The rooms are beautifully and simply decorated and very clean. The hostess was accommodating and understanding of the challenging personal circumstances under which I was visiting the city. This was the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

There are only two rooms in this beautiful home and Joanne the hostess, who lives in the house, does a great job managing this property. My wife and I lived in SFO for five years but we now live in New York. Our son currently lives in the Sunset District of the SFO, so when we visit him we were looking to stay in a residential neighborhood away from the tourists and traffic. This place was perfect for our needs and we stayed for 6 nights. The bedrooms are comfortable, the living and dining areas are spacious and beautifully decorated, and Joanne does a great job of making you feel at home. She also does a great job with breakfast every morning, and knows where everything is in the neighborhood since she has been there for many years. We never had any issue with street parking and the city bus line is a block away. We drove to the B&B and most places we wanted to visit, but took the public transit for any visits downtown in order to avoid traffic and parking. The neighborhood is very nice and safe, and you are close to the ocean so be ready for fog and cool temperatures.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cobi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

I enjoyed the great hospitality together with this cosy quiet bed & breakfast. I would reccomend to everyone looking for a small place quite near the famous Cliff House restaurant. Its a private 2 room establishment but just what we needed after a long trip.
will hope to go back oneday.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LevinsonGedera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

We spent two nights in this very nice house with a lovely hostess.
We booked the family room with ocean views which would be considered a suite in any hotel.
The room has a private living area and lots of personal touches.
The breakfast was fantastic and the home-made cookies from Joanne a not to be missed experience.
It´s not in the tourist area and really you need a car to move around, although there are some nice things to see nearby, The Ocean Beach and Golden Gate Park are only minutes away.
Also some nice restaurants which Joanne recommends.
Listen to Joanne advice regarding parking in the street.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glorobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2009

We are frequent visitors to San Francisco and have stayed at many fine B&Bs. The Ocean Beach Bed and Breakfast didn't disappoint. We can highly recommend it to visitors who want a quiet, peaceful place to return to after a full day in San Francisco. It felt more like a home than a regular B&B. If you have a car there is plenty of parking on the street. Joanne is a wonderful host and has breakfast waiting for you when you want it. We will return and next time we want to try the room with the sitting area.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoKonos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2008

I grew up in the Richmond district, so coming back for a stay with friends was a chance to show them how the "real" San Franciscan's live. This house is exactly what I wish my childhood house had been. All the authentic feel I remembered, but everything (kitchen, bathrooms, windows, beds, etc.) was updated and much better than "in the good old days".

Joanne was a gracious host, and was very helpfull with ideas on where to go and what to eat. Her cinnamon buns were great, and the cookie jar was always full. The fridge was stocked, and the coffee was Starbucks.

PROS: Very authentic. Not turn of the last century antique experience so many B&Bs give you. Close to beach, Cliff House, Beach Chalet, Golden Gate park, Lincoln Park, Legion of Honor, and VA hospital (if you need to). Not in the middle of the tourist sceen. Quiet neighborhood. If you come with another couple, you have the house to yourself. Very reasonably priced. Easy access to the Golden Gate bridge and the Presidio.

CONS: Out of the way if you want to do the bar sceen or spend all of your time at the trendy parts of the city. No in house internet access. The Richmond district is in that part of the city that stays in the fog for the longest period of time during the day.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mic-vic-md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#104 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Rodeway Inn & Suites San Francis...
#161 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 71 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Richmond
Geary Parkway Motel
Geary Parkway Motel
#105 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 71 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Inn at the Presidio
#3 of 71 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ocean Beach Bed and Breakfast
Address: 611 42nd Ave, San Francisco, CA 94121-2532
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Richmond
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Bed and Breakfast accommodations with ocean views, within blocks of the Pacific Ocean, Golden Gate Park and the Cliff House in San Francisco, California - Ocean Beach Bed & Breakfast, San Francisco. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach b&b
Ocean Beach Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing