We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful, quiet, off the beaten path” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Beach Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Beach Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, quiet, off the beaten path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

This is a great location, a ten-minute walk down a steep hill to a gorgeous beach, with bus service to downtown SF. The rooms are beautifully and simply decorated and very clean. The hostess was accommodating and understanding of the challenging personal circumstances under which I was visiting the city. This was the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

There are only two rooms in this beautiful home and Joanne the hostess, who lives in the house, does a great job managing this property. My wife and I lived in SFO for five years but we now live in New York. Our son currently lives in the Sunset District of the SFO, so when we visit him we were looking to stay in a residential neighborhood away from the tourists and traffic. This place was perfect for our needs and we stayed for 6 nights. The bedrooms are comfortable, the living and dining areas are spacious and beautifully decorated, and Joanne does a great job of making you feel at home. She also does a great job with breakfast every morning, and knows where everything is in the neighborhood since she has been there for many years. We never had any issue with street parking and the city bus line is a block away. We drove to the B&B and most places we wanted to visit, but took the public transit for any visits downtown in order to avoid traffic and parking. The neighborhood is very nice and safe, and you are close to the ocean so be ready for fog and cool temperatures.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cobi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

I enjoyed the great hospitality together with this cosy quiet bed & breakfast. I would reccomend to everyone looking for a small place quite near the famous Cliff House restaurant. Its a private 2 room establishment but just what we needed after a long trip.
will hope to go back oneday.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LevinsonGedera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

We spent two nights in this very nice house with a lovely hostess.
We booked the family room with ocean views which would be considered a suite in any hotel.
The room has a private living area and lots of personal touches.
The breakfast was fantastic and the home-made cookies from Joanne a not to be missed experience.
It´s not in the tourist area and really you need a car to move around, although there are some nice things to see nearby, The Ocean Beach and Golden Gate Park are only minutes away.
Also some nice restaurants which Joanne recommends.
Listen to Joanne advice regarding parking in the street.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glorobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2009

We are frequent visitors to San Francisco and have stayed at many fine B&Bs. The Ocean Beach Bed and Breakfast didn't disappoint. We can highly recommend it to visitors who want a quiet, peaceful place to return to after a full day in San Francisco. It felt more like a home than a regular B&B. If you have a car there is plenty of parking on the street. Joanne is a wonderful host and has breakfast waiting for you when you want it. We will return and next time we want to try the room with the sitting area.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoKonos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2008

I grew up in the Richmond district, so coming back for a stay with friends was a chance to show them how the "real" San Franciscan's live. This house is exactly what I wish my childhood house had been. All the authentic feel I remembered, but everything (kitchen, bathrooms, windows, beds, etc.) was updated and much better than "in the good old days".

Joanne was a gracious host, and was very helpfull with ideas on where to go and what to eat. Her cinnamon buns were great, and the cookie jar was always full. The fridge was stocked, and the coffee was Starbucks.

PROS: Very authentic. Not turn of the last century antique experience so many B&Bs give you. Close to beach, Cliff House, Beach Chalet, Golden Gate park, Lincoln Park, Legion of Honor, and VA hospital (if you need to). Not in the middle of the tourist sceen. Quiet neighborhood. If you come with another couple, you have the house to yourself. Very reasonably priced. Easy access to the Golden Gate bridge and the Presidio.

CONS: Out of the way if you want to do the bar sceen or spend all of your time at the trendy parts of the city. No in house internet access. The Richmond district is in that part of the city that stays in the fog for the longest period of time during the day.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mic-vic-md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2007

What a wonderful place to stay! My teenage children and I had the Ocean View Suite. You can indeed see the breakers from the windows. The kids slept in the sitting room and I had the bedroom with the comfortable queen size bed. There is a TV in the bedroom with a DVD player. The suite has a bathroom with a shower. The other room had a full bath but it was down the hall. Guests have the use of the entire top floor of the house -- living room, dining room, kitchen, and bedrooms.

The owner, Joanne, made us feel so much at home. The entire visit was like staying with a beloved aunt. She visited with us each morning at breakfast and in the evenings after we came back from our adventures. She allowed her Himalayan cat Maui up to visit us. (Maui is only allowed upstairs if the guests request it.) Breakfasts consisted of granola or those fun-size boxes of cereal, warm baked goods (we had muffins, scones and cinnamon-type rolls), and a fruit cup, plus yogurt, cheese, or eggs if we wanted. There is a microwave and a full-size refrigerator.

The B&B is in the outer Richmond, a very quiet part of town. It is convenient to the bus lines. It takes about 20-30 minutes to ride to downtown. You can walk a block up to Geary or a block down to Balboa and catch the bus in. It's easy walking distance to Golden Gate Park and the beach. There is a Safeway store just off of Balboa, and a Walgreens Drug on Geary, right at the bus stop.

There is a phone which guests can use -- bring a phone card if you need to make a long distance call. There is weak WiFi reception, but Joanne has a list of Internet access points in the neighborhood.

All in all, a beautiful and convenient home away from home. We hope to stay there again when we come to the city!

  • Liked — The beautiful house and friendly hostess!
  • Disliked — Having to leave it!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank IdahoPug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#107 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Rodeway Inn & Suites San Francis...
#162 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
The Richmond
Geary Parkway Motel
Geary Parkway Motel
#105 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 71 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
The Castro
The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 71 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ocean Beach Bed and Breakfast
Address: 611 42nd Ave, San Francisco, CA 94121-2532
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Richmond
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Bed and Breakfast accommodations with ocean views, within blocks of the Pacific Ocean, Golden Gate Park and the Cliff House in San Francisco, California - Ocean Beach Bed & Breakfast, San Francisco. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach b&b
Ocean Beach Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing