We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for adults”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you're one of those travellers that usually stays in B&B's but likes to occasionally slum it in hostels due to the opportunities they offer to meet and participate in activities with other travellers then Pacific Tradewinds hostel is not for you.

The rooms in the dormitories are door-less, the bunks are tiny and crammed together. Any noise on the floor can be heard clearly from your bunk e.g. snorer's in the next room and travellers coming back from the pub or packing for early flights will ensure you are kept up all night.

You can barely turn around in the showers and a single toilet services the entire floor. The cleanliness of the linen is highly suspect; when I got up in the morning I had a rash on my face, hands and feet.

The only group activity offered on the night that I was there was a pub crawl but all the staff were too hung over to participate. Other guests were mostly American and 21 and under.

Overall, very disappointing especially coming from the HI Chicago.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Appoooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 456 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've stayed at Pacific Tradewinds three times now (and once overnight while transitting), and have yet to have a bad experience there. The staff are amazingly friendly, and since the place is so small, you'll be on first-name basis pretty much from arrival. They're willing and able to help out with travel queries, and are generally incredibly welcome hosts.

Location-wise, it's great - on Sacramento and Kearney, so it's only a block away from the California St cable car (if you're in SF, I recommend getting a Muni Passport and making good use of them!), which connect with Embarcadero Muni Metro and BART station. There's also a bus running up Sacramento itself, and it's also an easy walk to Embarcadero or Montgomery stations (or Powell, if you have a little bit of extra time).

Well-stocked kitchen, with, generally, plenty of free stuff to make use of. I did a grocery shop on my first day and saved a ton getting my own meals together, and they offered free breakfast. The beds are one of the best hostel beds I've ever slept in - they're custom-built for earthquake stability, which means no dreaded squeaking, and they have lockers big enough for big suitcases. The structure of the rooms isn't 100% my favourite thing, since they're open and privacy can be an issue, but if you want privacy, why stay at a hostel?

The only other two real downsides are the showers, which are... okay, but not great, and the fact that it's on the fourth floor but doesn't have an elevator. This probably isn't a good place to stay if you have mobility problems, since you'll be going up and down a lot, although the staff WILL help you with your bags.

In general, definitely the best hostel I've stayed in, and next time I'm in SF, I'll be dropping by again!

Room Tip: If you want a slightly quieter experience, ask for a room downstairs, since quiet time starts from 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryttu3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I've rated this hostel on HostelWorld but felt the need to rate it on here for those not using the website because I found it so good. The hostel is small which means you get to speak to people easily. Although I didn't get involved as I had other plans, there were lots of things organised for group outings which was good for single travellers. The showers and bathroom area were very clean, as were the dorms. The lockers underneath the beds were the best I've come across and allowed me to fit my large backpack in. Kitchen was well equipped and there were computers to use and free wifi. One small downside, it's about three flights of stairs up. However the staff did come down to meet me at the bottom when checking in and offered to help with bags. The staff were great - very friendly and informative. Great location too. Would definitely recommend and would stay again in the future!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hyly20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This hostel is in a great spot in the vicinity of China town and the financial district, so huge range of local restaurants and prices! Loved the personal care from Pacific Tradewinds, great staff, and a fun place to be, thanks guys....and breakfast included!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I loved this hostel in more ways then I could describe . The staff were extremely friendly, helping me carry my bags, and after a few days we were all great friends. The price is so great for everything you get. A small place but perfect for any person traveling, you really become friends with everyone here. I loved the sense of community you feel within the hostel. Meeting the owner and the family was great, you really could tell they loved doing what they did. I would tell everyone to stay here, once you leave, you just want to go back. I have stayed at numerous hostels around the world, and can honestly say this was the best one by far! I will never forget the memories I had here!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, great for meeting people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

As soon as you arrive at pacific tradewinds you become part of the family. I know that sounds a bit lame but it's true. The staff, mostly travellers themselves, greet you by name during your stay and make sure you feel welcome. They encourage you to socialise upstairs in the common room but unlike most hostels, there isn't a heavy emphasis on drinking alcohol and partying, its all about getting to know the other guests and having a chat. The facilities are good too. The dorms were nice - steel blue beds that don't shake, hot showers, a well stocked kitchen...etc. The hostel is in a great location as well, it's close to market street where you can catch all sorts of public transport, its a 20 min walk to the ferry building (and then you can walk down to fishermans wharf) and union square and chinatown are also extremely close. A good hostel made really great by the fantastic staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bucky219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I love the place. it is a small hostel with 36 (?) beds. people who work there are incredible and I still have contact with them. looking forward to going back there. it's free wi-fi, linen, breakfast, towels, and about 1 time a week they arranged a dinner party for all who live there for only 5 $. (thanks for the barbeque on the roof)
It takes about 30 minutes from SF International airport. location is good, and it is very easy to get around the city on foot from the hostel.

without doubt the best hostel I've stayed at, and that´s for only $ 26 per night!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steinmo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
422 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#112 of 230 in San Francisco
1,056 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
#3 of 54 in San Francisco
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
San Francisco City Center Hostel
#7 of 54 in San Francisco
446 reviews
Union Square
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Tradewinds Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Tradewinds Hostel

Address: 680 Sacramento St, San Francisco, CA 94111-2510
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range: $32 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel is the #1 speciality accommodation for San Francisco on TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pacific Tradewinds Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing