We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel I've ever stayed at!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Tradewinds Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
200 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best hostel I've ever stayed at!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I've rated this hostel on HostelWorld but felt the need to rate it on here for those not using the website because I found it so good. The hostel is small which means you get to speak to people easily. Although I didn't get involved as I had other plans, there were lots of things organised for group outings which was good for single travellers. The showers and bathroom area were very clean, as were the dorms. The lockers underneath the beds were the best I've come across and allowed me to fit my large backpack in. Kitchen was well equipped and there were computers to use and free wifi. One small downside, it's about three flights of stairs up. However the staff did come down to meet me at the bottom when checking in and offered to help with bags. The staff were great - very friendly and informative. Great location too. Would definitely recommend and would stay again in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyly20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    54
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
2
21
233
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

This hostel is in a great spot in the vicinity of China town and the financial district, so huge range of local restaurants and prices! Loved the personal care from Pacific Tradewinds, great staff, and a fun place to be, thanks guys....and breakfast included!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I loved this hostel in more ways then I could describe . The staff were extremely friendly, helping me carry my bags, and after a few days we were all great friends. The price is so great for everything you get. A small place but perfect for any person traveling, you really become friends with everyone here. I loved the sense of community you feel within the hostel. Meeting the owner and the family was great, you really could tell they loved doing what they did. I would tell everyone to stay here, once you leave, you just want to go back. I have stayed at numerous hostels around the world, and can honestly say this was the best one by far! I will never forget the memories I had here!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, great for meeting people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

As soon as you arrive at pacific tradewinds you become part of the family. I know that sounds a bit lame but it's true. The staff, mostly travellers themselves, greet you by name during your stay and make sure you feel welcome. They encourage you to socialise upstairs in the common room but unlike most hostels, there isn't a heavy emphasis on drinking alcohol and partying, its all about getting to know the other guests and having a chat. The facilities are good too. The dorms were nice - steel blue beds that don't shake, hot showers, a well stocked kitchen...etc. The hostel is in a great location as well, it's close to market street where you can catch all sorts of public transport, its a 20 min walk to the ferry building (and then you can walk down to fishermans wharf) and union square and chinatown are also extremely close. A good hostel made really great by the fantastic staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bucky219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fauske, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

I love the place. it is a small hostel with 36 (?) beds. people who work there are incredible and I still have contact with them. looking forward to going back there. it's free wi-fi, linen, breakfast, towels, and about 1 time a week they arranged a dinner party for all who live there for only 5 $. (thanks for the barbeque on the roof)
It takes about 30 minutes from SF International airport. location is good, and it is very easy to get around the city on foot from the hostel.

without doubt the best hostel I've stayed at, and that´s for only $ 26 per night!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steinmo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend enroute back to Boston from Thailand. My earlier plans to stay with friends fell through, but it turned out well in the end as this was a great place to stay.

The hostel is located near Chinatown and the Financial district. It is a quick walk up Montgomery street from the BART station (which connects to the airport). The hostel is on the 3rd and 4th floor. There is a nice common space with two computers for guest use and free wifi. It seems there are always people here eating or playing games or chatting, so it is easy to meet people. There were 3 bunk beds in my room with storage lockers under the bunks which are large enough for a backpack - need to bring your own lock. The beds were comfortable and I slept quite well. Bedding and towels are provided.

The location of the hostel made it easy to get around the city. I went to Berkeley one night on the BART and the rest of the time used the local buses/cablecars to get around ($2 for mutlple rides within a 3 hour period). I believe there are bikes for rent at the hostel as well. The staff at the hostel are very friendly and know the city quite well. They were able to give all sorts of pointers for which bus route to take, what restaurant to go to, etc. The kitchen is small (no oven!) but adequate and there is free breakfast in the morning. I have to give a special thank you to Avi, who made fabulous pancakes one morning and taught me how to make griddle pizza with some great mushrooms and fresh cheese purchased from the Ferry Building Market (definitely recommended - great food).

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend visiting San Francisco. The hostel facilities are pretty good with fast wifi and computers free to use as well as free coffee all day. The common room is quite small but has a nice friendly, relaxed atmosphere and is very conducive for meeting/hanging out with fellow travellers. Good value, great location and great staff. Every member of staff was friendly and helpful and did everything they good to make it a great place to stay. Just don't stay here if you have trouble with stairs! 72 steps to reach the hostel from the street.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,808 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Tradewinds Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Tradewinds Hostel

Property: Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Address: 680 Sacramento St, San Francisco, CA 94111-2510
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel is the #1 speciality accommodation for San Francisco on TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH and HostelWorld so you can book your Pacific Tradewinds Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Tradewinds Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing