We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hostel was situation in a great location, close to what I feel the best part of San Fran.

Pros
- Doors don't slam!
- Friendly staff
- Free breakfast!!
- Great wifi
- Large bathrooms

Cons
- In the four person dorm there wasn't a lot of floor space to put my suitcase
- No charging outlets for top bunks
- The lift took forever

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlaLouise1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    357
    122
    28
    19
See reviews for
44
200
204
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

My partner and i just stayed 3 nights in this hostel and were very impressed- central location, clean, friendly and helpful staff, and the breakfasts could not be faulted. Would recommend this hostel to any travellers wanting a good place in central San Fran!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We got a private room with a private bathroom. Cute, clean, modern looking room. Everything we needed was there. The shower didn't drain however which was slightly gross. It was also noisy as hell due to the traffic and construction in Union Square.

Bottom line, if you are a traveller, this place was great. Wifi, laundry, free breakfast, unreal location, great resting areas with wifi, awesome activities every night, just very cool. Great for students, travellers, and people who don't mind having a story or two to tell.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kait B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We're just coming to the end of a four night stay here.

Positives:
Great location close to all transport links
Good facilities in the room we had an ensuite, plenty of hot water and individual charging points/ reading lights, a sink in our room
Good breakfast - bagels, cream cheese, tea, coffee, fruit, porridge available 7-10am
Clean and well maintained communal areas, a good kitchen with utensils available.
Very knowledgable and friendly staff on the desk who recommended places to visit and how to get around the city
Great value

Overall a great stay exactly what we hoped for- I'd struggle to make even any criticisms although fruit did run out quite early on in the breakfast slot.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank nottmgal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Perfect located, first you thought it is expensive, but when you get in, it's totally worth it. Clean, well organized, plenty of services. At the marathon day, they allowed me to came back to pick up my stuff and take a shower.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank NanHuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I (ages 68 and 60 respectively) got a private room with a bathroom with a shower en suite here, for quite a bit less than we would have paid for a comparable hotel. A good breakfast of bagels, fruit, oatmeal, coffee, etc. in the communal kitchen was included. There was refrigerator space and cooking utensils available if you wished to make your own meals as well. The clientele is mostly young, but they were well-mannered and quiet. The place is clean, secure, and we enjoyed the energy of the young people. This hostel is one of several within a few blocks of the Powell Street BART station (we mistakenly went first to the International Hostel a block or two down the same street), and is very convenient located for sightseeing in the city. The wifi in the room was iffy, but good in the common lounge on the second floor. We plan to stay here again next time we are in San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldyogastudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISFDT, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
On behalf of our entire staff, thank you kindly for your feedback. I'm incredibly happy to hear you elected to stay at our hostel over a hotel, especially since you were able to engage with other guests at our location. Our mission to to help all gain a greater understanding of the world and its surroundings through hosteling, and it sounds like your time with us at HI-SF Downtown was the type of experience we attempt to cultivate. We'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Firstly it has to be said it's in a great location within 5 minutes walk of Union Square and Chinatown. As a note this hostel shouldn't be confused with the other HI Hostel in the Tenderloin where there is a lot of homeless people and can feel unsafe. The hostel is close to lots of eateries and restaurants too so eating well within a budget is not a problem.

The hostel building however is rather old which means some of the decor is dated and the number of bathrooms and showers to beds is rather poor. Rooms are on the small side too and was a little lacking in number of power outlets, but my room had a basin which was convenient. One big positive of the hostel is that it provided the best breakfast of any Hostel i've stayed in with good quality bagels and cream cheese and a selection of organic fresh fruit. Water machines were also present providing chilled filtered water.

Overall i really enjoyed my stay at HI SF downtown and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISFDT, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We're glad you found our downtown location a great place for starting your exploration of San Francisco! We're currently in the process of installing new bunk beds that include two power outlets, two USB outlets, a reading light, and a privacy panel. By August 1st these bunks will be fully installed in all the dorm rooms. I'm genuinely stoked about how enthusiastic you are regarding our breakfast! I hope you'll be joining us again real soon so we can chat over a cup of tea and authentic SF bagels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,909 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Property: Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Address: 312 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the city, just one block from Union Square and steps from Chinatown and the cable cars! HI-San Francisco Downtown is close to the best cafes, clubs, theaters, and shopping. You'll love our new look, low prices, and four-bed dorms (coed dorms range from 4-8 beds). Free continental breakfast, free WiFi, DSL Internet, guest kitchen, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, 24-hour reception, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing