We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hosteling isn't just for college students anymore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown to your Saves list
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   312 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hosteling isn't just for college students anymore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I (ages 68 and 60 respectively) got a private room with a bathroom with a shower en suite here, for quite a bit less than we would have paid for a comparable hotel. A good breakfast of bagels, fruit, oatmeal, coffee, etc. in the communal kitchen was included. There was refrigerator space and cooking utensils available if you wished to make your own meals as well. The clientele is mostly young, but they were well-mannered and quiet. The place is clean, secure, and we enjoyed the energy of the young people. This hostel is one of several within a few blocks of the Powell Street BART station (we mistakenly went first to the International Hostel a block or two down the same street), and is very convenient located for sightseeing in the city. The wifi in the room was iffy, but good in the common lounge on the second floor. We plan to stay here again next time we are in San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldyogastudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISFDT, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
On behalf of our entire staff, thank you kindly for your feedback. I'm incredibly happy to hear you elected to stay at our hostel over a hotel, especially since you were able to engage with other guests at our location. Our mission to to help all gain a greater understanding of the world and its surroundings through hosteling, and it sounds like your time with us at HI-SF Downtown was the type of experience we attempt to cultivate. We'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    333
    115
    26
    18
See reviews for
36
188
183
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Firstly it has to be said it's in a great location within 5 minutes walk of Union Square and Chinatown. As a note this hostel shouldn't be confused with the other HI Hostel in the Tenderloin where there is a lot of homeless people and can feel unsafe. The hostel is close to lots of eateries and restaurants too so eating well within a budget is not a problem.

The hostel building however is rather old which means some of the decor is dated and the number of bathrooms and showers to beds is rather poor. Rooms are on the small side too and was a little lacking in number of power outlets, but my room had a basin which was convenient. One big positive of the hostel is that it provided the best breakfast of any Hostel i've stayed in with good quality bagels and cream cheese and a selection of organic fresh fruit. Water machines were also present providing chilled filtered water.

Overall i really enjoyed my stay at HI SF downtown and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISFDT, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We're glad you found our downtown location a great place for starting your exploration of San Francisco! We're currently in the process of installing new bunk beds that include two power outlets, two USB outlets, a reading light, and a privacy panel. By August 1st these bunks will be fully installed in all the dorm rooms. I'm genuinely stoked about how enthusiastic you are regarding our breakfast! I hope you'll be joining us again real soon so we can chat over a cup of tea and authentic SF bagels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We had a two twins private bathroom room. Ask for one on 5th floor. There are LOTS of homeless people and you'll hear some of them during the night as windows are paper-thin. I felt safer higher up and I'm used to cities.
Clean place. Well decorated with a good atmosphere and a great lounge conducive to meetings others and chilling.
Very friendly staff, patient and helpful.
Only concern was that people were walking in and out as they pleased...who knows if they actually stay at the hostel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The San Francisco Downtown YHA is good value for money. We have stayed there a number of times in a double room with private facilities. It also has dormitory, double and twin rooms and shared bathrooms. It has a large kitchen and common rooms on each floor. They provide breakfast and staff are friendly, patient and helpful despite dealing with a constant stream of people coming and going. Generally, we have found that guests obey the quiet time rules (after 11pm) but street noise can be a problem - but it is possible to request a room that is further from the main streets. The hostel is located in the heart of SF and is central to key attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Im not really a fan of old buildings like this one, prefer a more modern feel but it has charm.
The hostel itself is everything you would expect from a hostel although a little on the pricey side, but thats California.
The rooms are ok, the beds are not fantastic but do the job and the wifi is best down in the lobby.
If you get offered room 203, ask for a different one, preferably on the upper levels, as the windows offer no protection from the 'characters' that roam the downtown area of a night plus the kitchen is directly above so you can hear all the stools and chairs being dragged across the tile floor in the morning which is not fantastic if you are having a lay in.
Overall I would not say I was unhappy with this place but was not amazed either.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank AdzyBizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Quite a nice hostel with a good location. I stayed here for 4 nights in June 2014. The rooms were quite spacious and had their own bathrooms which was handy. The staff were friendly and helpful when we asked them about various things. It was a close walk to quite a few bars, about 40 mins walk back from Fisherman's Wharf, can't really argue with what we got value wise.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eliot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

With two other adults and six 17-year-olds in tow as a chaperone for a Girl Scout trip, I was really pleasantly surprised at the location and quality of this hostel. Too often in the US hostels are in a sketchy area, but this one is in a safe area, near high-end hotels. Bathrooms are clean, showers are fine, but wear flipflops. Kitchen is awesome. My 4-person room was near the stairs but I never heard noise. I had public roommates and they were all considerate and interesting.

The staff is knowledgeable and friendly, and hugs to the one who found my scarf when I apparently put it in the laundry with my towel at checkout.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B_Cable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Encore Express Hotel
#130 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,704 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#93 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#38 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,248 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
#4 of 52 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 795 reviews
San Francisco City Center Hostel
#7 of 52 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Property: Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Address: 312 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the city, just one block from Union Square and steps from Chinatown and the cable cars! HI-San Francisco Downtown is close to the best cafes, clubs, theaters, and shopping. You'll love our new look, low prices, and four-bed dorms (coed dorms range from 4-8 beds). Free continental breakfast, free WiFi, DSL Internet, guest kitchen, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, 24-hour reception, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing