We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$395
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$338
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$233
$209
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$217
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$245
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$289
$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
$309
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$469
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (887)
Filter reviews
887 results
Traveler rating
277
411
145
31
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
411
145
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree earplugsfree breakfastfemale dormprivate room with bathroombottom bunkmovie roombed dormhi hostelgreat locationunion squareusb portshomeless peoplepowell stationshared bathroomcommon areascentral locationstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 887 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hostel was very well kept and clean. There were lots of little extras that made it seem very homey. There were coffee and bagels available all day long, secure luggage storage for before and after checkout, a movie room, lounges, etc. I also appreciated the security passes for added safety.

I also adored all of the green things this hostel did. There were recycling and composting bins. The windows were open for fresh air. The toilets were filled with used sink water (special toilet designed for this.) Decorating was done with reclaimed materials throughout. And more. It was fantastic, and I appreciated all of these touches.

The only reason I would give it 4 stars instead of 5 is that every time I asked the staff for advice, they were very nice and patient with me, however, their information was never very helpful. I usually found better information by googling or asking another traveller. Perhaps they should try to be tourists in their own town for a while as training. ;) Oh, and also, it was too pricey.

Still, it was a fantastic trip. I made friends and touristed with them and had a great time. I'd definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

What a pleasant stay there ! The hostel is very well located (just a few minutes from Market Street) and staff member are very nice and helpful ! The hostel is very clean (shared bathrooms, kitchen, rooms) and my room was quite comfortable. The street is supposed to be noisy but it didn't bothered me at all. Just one negative point, you don't have a lot of choices for the breakfast but it's still a nice place for a good price !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasFNLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISFDT, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Thank you for the tremendously pleasant feedback! Street noise can definitely be seen as the only setback of being so centrally located. We try our best to combat this by offering free earplugs available to all guests located in our lobby and at the front desk. If other rooms are available, we're always happy to attempt to move guests to non-street facing dorms. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here for three nights and stayed in a 4 dorm bedroom. Welcoming staff was very rude and didn't care much for helping us or our arrival.

Room was very small and not much room for all luggage and room was full. Very basic which was surprising considering how much we paid. My bed sheets were dirty and stained, didn't feel comfortable sleeping in it. Bathroom situation was strange, two toilets and showers for each floor. Did not seem enough for the number of rooms.
Breakfast was decent, oatmeal and beagles with coffee or tea. Location was great, a small walk away from the main streets and attractions. I would recommend doing the big bus tours if you are only there was a. Short amount of time.. Everything you need to see is offered .

Was a nice hostel but definitely over priced for what was offered.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aupair123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISFDT, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

On behalf of our entire staff, I apologize you felt your experience during check-in was unsatisfactory. The last thing we would ever want any one to feel upon visiting a new place is unwelcome.

Regarding the restroom situation, each of our floors has three public restrooms and half the dorm rooms have en-suite restrooms. Unlike other hostels, we don't charge a variance for dorm rooms with a restroom or without.

The price of our dorm rooms is based on occupancy of the hostel. Hosteling International is a non-profit organization and we price our rooms to stay operational in the hustle and bustle of downtown San Francisco. Overall, we're glad you enjoyed your trip to San Francisco! We hope you'll consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed in a private room, which was a good size and had a comfortable bed, the street noise can be a bit loud at times, but that's probably why they provide ear plugs downstairs. We didn't have the free breakfast, but it's looked good - bagels and stuff like that.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shillier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We got a private en suite room. Very clean and spacious. Go for it, spend a little more to have some privacy, a view and a big toilet. Felt like a hotel, but hostel price.
Breakfast is FREE. Yummy bagels (lots of them with different flavours), fruits, cereals,...more than any other hostel will provide.
Very nice kitchen area. Very clean
oh ya, free coffee & tea 24/7!!

Free super fast wifi internet!!LOVE!! You can connect wifi in your room, not like other hostel, only in the lounge area

There is a lift for your big luggages. Staffs are forever helpful and answer all questions.

Less than 5 mins walk to Powell Cable Car, or just hop on the cable car infront H&M (jst around the corner)
1 min walk to Union Square
2 mins walk to yummy Chesse Cake Factory

Lot's of activities, but too bad we didn't have time to join any.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Shirniong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISFDT, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you tremendously for leaving your feedback. Your kind words and assessment of our hostel and the surrounding area is 100% spot on. We're extremely excited and pleased you had such a fantastic stay with us. Please do us the honor of hosting you again the next time you visit San Francisco.

With love, from the entire HI-SF Downtown Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews