We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and value”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed as a a large group and the location made it easy to see large parts of SF and the service at the hostel was great. Some of the rooms had toilets and showers while others had to use the shared bathrooms. Overall the value of the hostel is great much because of its location and services.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank hjallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    386
    133
    30
    20
See reviews for
47
215
229
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
595 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

A nice, quiet hostel in a great location. Staff were really friendly & helpful with directions, giving us lots of information on the different types of public transport that are available in SF. The hostel is less that 5 minutes away from the Powell St metro & cable car stations & also close to numerous bus stops & street car stops. Easy to get to Pier 33 for Alcatraz cruises & the famous Pier 39 using the nearby street cars.

We stayed in 4 bed female dorm, which was small but clean & comfortable. Although there are not many shared showers/bathrooms per floor, they were kept clean. The lounge area on the second floor & kitchen on the third floor were nice places to relax & also kept very clean. Free breakfast of bagels, fruit & porridge was provided daily. There was plenty of food, but I would advise to go early as the kitchen gets very full & busy.

There are a couple of nice cafes & diners next to the hostel, which were easy options for a reasonably-priced dinner.


Staff were happy to keep our luggage locked in their storage cupboard once we had checked out. Overall, I would stay again & recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

stayed in a private room with a bathroom, was very spacious and comfortable. location is great, easy to walk or catch public transport. staff was ok but not so helpful if you want some tips etc. just use google/tripadvisor and you will get better advice. breakfast was ok but you need to be there early. laundry room locks at 10pm which is a pain. otherwise i enjoyed my stay, and my room was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadasinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I really liked this place. it's cheap but you will meet a lot of interesting people and get to know what san francisco offers. It's great for entrepreneurs and visitors that want a cheap alternative and prioritise mobility to move across the city.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dttg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

A great location in the city centre, easy to arrive by public transport, a very short walk from the Powell Muni/Bart stations.

Staff were welcoming and friendly. We had a private room (with shared bathroom facilities).
The room was very clean and felt secure. The bed was comfortable and we had no problems with noise (internal or external) but our room was at the rear of the building. Shared bathroom facilities were fine, if toilets were all in use we simply went up or down a floor where there were more.

There were a few nice lounges around the place for relaxation (although there were signs reminding you that you were on holiday and should go out and visit the city). There was also a self-catering kitchen and dining room. This was fine in the evenings but got very crowded in the morning when breakfast (bagels) were being served in there.

The cable car was nearby (but expect long queues). If you plan to use the cable car more than a couple of times get a MUNI passport from Walgreens on Market Street which will give you 3 days unlimited travel on all MUNI services and save you a fair bit. If hiring a car parking is quite expensive in San Francisco so its probably worth returning your car when you arrive (most companies have offices very near - Dollar and Hertz over the road) and getting another car when you leave. I would also advise that if you want to go to Alcatraz be sure to book several days before you arrive in San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We're a young couple in our 20s, and we stayed here for five nights...

Good
- Free wi-fi, free breakfast (bagels from a local shop in SF!), free tea & coffee
- We stayed in a private room, bed was nice and comfy, slept well!
- Nice clean kitchen with a big lounge for relaxation
- Lots of activities and things going on, discount tickets, events, pub crawls etc.

Bad
- VERY small number of toilets and showers
- VERY expensive to use the desktop computer (freakishly so!)
- Terrrrrribly slow elevator. They did have a sign that apologised for this, I assume they can't alter it because of the age of the building?
- It's not an 18+ hostel, so we happened to stay alongside a group of schoolkids. Argh!

If I could give a bit of advice for travellers to this hostel, get a map and DO NOT walk South-West from this hostel. You'll end up in Tenderloin, which is a horrible area full of homeless and drug addicts. Stick with Union Sq, and north to Nob Hill, and you'll be fine.

On the more pleasant side, there's a diner right next door to this hostel which does a great burger and root beer float!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had a private room in this Hostel within easy walking distance of Powell Street station of the BART rail system that conn to to the airport.
It is always a worry when you see earplugs available at the front counter - and for free - I initially thought it was for helping with a snoring room mate, but turns out that the preponderance of street people outside the hotel come alive at night in a soap opera of shouting, dealing, and singing ( "lean on me" was continuously being sung on two of the nights - at least the guy could sing in tune!). Back to the hostel - the facilities are very good (laundry, reading lounges), breakfast okay (if you like bagels and porridge), wifi is good, and they provide nightly social activities such as pub crawl, movie, beer tasting, walking tour, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,346 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,965 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
3,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,235 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
USA Hostels San Francisco
#3 of 52 in San Francisco
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Property: Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Address: 312 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1704
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the city, just one block from Union Square and steps from Chinatown and the cable cars! HI-San Francisco Downtown is close to the best cafes, clubs, theaters, and shopping. You'll love our new look, low prices, and four-bed dorms (coed dorms range from 4-8 beds). Free continental breakfast, free WiFi, DSL Internet, guest kitchen, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, 24-hour reception, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing