We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some service was a bit dodgy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Some service was a bit dodgy”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a good budget option for downtown, but don't think you're getting anything special.
We didn't take part in any of the activities, but they seemed popular and well organised.

The staff - Becky was wonderful and helpful and even when oddities walked in off the street to cause a bit of a ruckus she was always calm and polite. I don't know the name of the ginger guy on the desk but he clearly has an attitude problem. If you see him, try and talk to someone else, the chap really looks down his nose at people.

All in all, it was a fine stay, but you WILL need to use the earplugs provided.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zerodosage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    386
    133
    30
    20
See reviews for
47
215
229
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gardena, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great location and excellent price for our room. It is the basics and clean! That was what we were looking for on a low budget trip we took to San Francisco recently. The staff was friendly. They have a large kitchen area with storage so you can make your meals. The movie theater has great seating. The lounge was cozy. They recycle!

Room Tip: a room with a window in the back of the hotel might be quieter. The rooms facing downtown street Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliehallqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I think the best thing about the hostel was all the activities offered. We did a free walking tour to chinatown/north beach which was exellent! The shared areas of the hostel were also quite good.

However, we stayed in a private room and it could have been nicer. It was impossible to sleep without good earplugs and it was way too hot! Needless to say, we didnt sleep wery well.. . But if you want to stay in the middle of the busy city center I guess the location is perfect. Its also safe (but dont walk towards the dodgy tenderloin area).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sini303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The location is great. A couple blocks south and you end up in a pretty sketchy neighbourhood, but there's nothing sketchy about this location. You are one block from Union Square, a popular meeting spot and with lots of high-end shopping. The hostel is also part of a cluster of hotels, so the streets are naturally safe. There are some good restaurants and 24hr diners on the same street as well.

The building is 100 years old (but what isn't in downtown SF). Inside however the furniture is modern, the floors and facilities are clean. The kitchen is brand new. There is a "hang out" room with lots of couches. The only downside were the oldschool windows that did very little to block out noise from street level. I was on the 3rd floor and it was pretty noisy up until at least midnight. It didn't keep me up, but it was not unnoticeable. There are a few clubs and pubs near by. I'd stay here again and would recommend it. I have stayed at far worse for more money. This is great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milosj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A nice hostel, on a very nice location: right near Union Square. Excellent shopping and sight seeing nearby. The trams and busses on Market Street are easily within reach as well.

The room was clean and decent. The bathrooms were fine. Seems like the management thinks of the environment as well. (e.g. the water you use to wash your hands is also the water to flush the toilet with.)

I'll definitely stay here again on my next stay in SFO.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravellers1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hostel, couldn't be any more central at 5 min walk from Union square. I Stayed in a 4 person dorm, The rooms have recently been renovated to quite a high standard and the only negative about the hostel is that there is still some of this work going on. There is free wifi included. The Hostel is near to a more run down part of town and you can see that from the number of homeless people begging near by. Security is very tight at the hostel due to this and you will be asked to show your pass on each time you enter

The front door staff are very friendly and helpful and you will get to know them over time due to checking your pass.

The Dorm was large with plenty of space for luggage, there were also lockers big enough to put a backpack in but you do need to bring your own lock for these. The mattresses are not particularly thick but they are comfortable enough. The bedding is very new and was very clean. Be aware that the windows are only single glazed and being in Central San Fransisco there its quite noisy all the time. I did have a worry that a homeless guy with a steel drum and limited repertoire, may keep me up but he was moved on.

The Showers and Toilets are very clean and kept to a high standard, the only negative i could see was that one of the toilets was so small it didn't have a wash hand basin it had some weird combie toilet basin.

The Kitchen was clean enough and free breakfast is offered but part of the Awesomeness of the location is the ease at which to eat out in the many fantastic restaurants near by.

Social - There are a couple of weekly events run by the Hostel for Sightseeing and socialising with other guests from the hostel i didn't take part in these but great that they are offered,
they also run wine tasting, movie nights and a hostel pasta dinner.

I would highly recommend this hostel as a good value for money bed in SF

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thebagishalffull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The location is great - 5 min walk from union square and the first station for the cable car.
We stayed in a double room, the carpets were stained, the walls seemed extremely old, and the heating system was making noise and steam was coming out of it.
Staff was rather indifferent with our needs.
For the price of the hostel it is a fair stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,347 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#70 of 229 in San Francisco
3,968 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
3,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,239 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
USA Hostels San Francisco
#3 of 52 in San Francisco
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Property: Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Address: 312 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1704
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the city, just one block from Union Square and steps from Chinatown and the cable cars! HI-San Francisco Downtown is close to the best cafes, clubs, theaters, and shopping. You'll love our new look, low prices, and four-bed dorms (coed dorms range from 4-8 beds). Free continental breakfast, free WiFi, DSL Internet, guest kitchen, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, 24-hour reception, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing