We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, great hostel, great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, great hostel, great facilities”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hostel, couldn't be any more central at 5 min walk from Union square. I Stayed in a 4 person dorm, The rooms have recently been renovated to quite a high standard and the only negative about the hostel is that there is still some of this work going on. There is free wifi included. The Hostel is near to a more run down part of town and you can see that from the number of homeless people begging near by. Security is very tight at the hostel due to this and you will be asked to show your pass on each time you enter

The front door staff are very friendly and helpful and you will get to know them over time due to checking your pass.

The Dorm was large with plenty of space for luggage, there were also lockers big enough to put a backpack in but you do need to bring your own lock for these. The mattresses are not particularly thick but they are comfortable enough. The bedding is very new and was very clean. Be aware that the windows are only single glazed and being in Central San Fransisco there its quite noisy all the time. I did have a worry that a homeless guy with a steel drum and limited repertoire, may keep me up but he was moved on.

The Showers and Toilets are very clean and kept to a high standard, the only negative i could see was that one of the toilets was so small it didn't have a wash hand basin it had some weird combie toilet basin.

The Kitchen was clean enough and free breakfast is offered but part of the Awesomeness of the location is the ease at which to eat out in the many fantastic restaurants near by.

Social - There are a couple of weekly events run by the Hostel for Sightseeing and socialising with other guests from the hostel i didn't take part in these but great that they are offered,
they also run wine tasting, movie nights and a hostel pasta dinner.

I would highly recommend this hostel as a good value for money bed in SF

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thebagishalffull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    376
    130
    30
    20
See reviews for
46
213
223
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The location is great - 5 min walk from union square and the first station for the cable car.
We stayed in a double room, the carpets were stained, the walls seemed extremely old, and the heating system was making noise and steam was coming out of it.
Staff was rather indifferent with our needs.
For the price of the hostel it is a fair stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

awesome hostel in great location with facilities that compare with a hotel. we stayed in a private room, which was great value when compared to San Frans hotel prices. is the model which all other hostels should base their service on.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hostel is in a great location, a couple of blocks away from main square. The staff were helpful with directions and things to do although sometimes in felt like we were an inconvenience! The room itself was basic, bunk beds, chair, table and sink. Although we were close to the bathroom we were also above the stairs which is where the earplugs provided at the front desk came in very handy! Breakfast was good, the bagels they brought in were very tasty, Especially the blueberry. For the price this hostel is worth it, just remember to bring the earplugs :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daffy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
205 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I booked a dorm bed in a female dorm. I needed to be in the city for an early appointment. The location is great, very central. There is a loading zone in front so I could check in quick and they directed me to a close parking garage. The room was nice and had a en-suite bath. The beds were fine and sheets clean. You make up your bed yourself and bring the linens down when you check out...this is normal in dorm rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. This is a great option for staying in the city. I will probably stay again.

Room Tip: Book early through the Hostelling International website and get a membership card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarrsySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked a private room with a bathroom. It was very nice, comfortable, everything clean. Nicer than some hotels I've stayed at, but then it cost $110 too, no super cheap but for SF downtown, pretty good. Free coffee was really good, and you get access to the big kitchen so you can cook/prepare meals if you like. Overall the place was very nice, friendly polite people. I'd stay there again for sure. We didn't do the shared room and bath but that is a lot cheaper... might try that next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artistpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Location of the HI San Fran was perfect. Easy to get around and lots of things to do and see. The staff were very friendly and felt very safe staying there. Rooms were reasonable - bunk bed and sink. Was only there for a couple days with my friend so no problems. Wish I had stayed longer as 2 days was just not enough!! SF is a beautiful place to visit. I happened to catch Ed Sheeran live at Golden Gate Park (for free!) so make sure you see if there are any events happening there while you're visiting :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABarrra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,108 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
#4 of 50 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
San Francisco City Center Hostel
#7 of 50 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Property: Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Address: 312 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1704
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the city, just one block from Union Square and steps from Chinatown and the cable cars! HI-San Francisco Downtown is close to the best cafes, clubs, theaters, and shopping. You'll love our new look, low prices, and four-bed dorms (coed dorms range from 4-8 beds). Free continental breakfast, free WiFi, DSL Internet, guest kitchen, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, 24-hour reception, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing