We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good late night donut” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bob's Donuts & Pastry Shop

Bob's Donuts & Pastry Shop
Ranked #9 of 133 Bakeries in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
2 reviews
“Good late night donut”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Come here when the donuts are fresh. The butter maple bar is to die for. Employees are friendly, but sometimes terse when busy. Overall, a good experience.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    30
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best doughnuts in SF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I fell in love with my husband over Bob's Donuts! :D Best late night, when the donuts are fresh out of the fryer. Do not miss the apple fritters, which are to DIE FOR!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ErinJCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
282 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very tasty donuts!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

I walked a couple of miles to Bob's Donuts & Pastry Shop based on the rave reviews I read. I personally found the donuts to be very good, fresh and inexpensive, but I probably wouldn't walk as far as I did for them again. LOL! The shop is quaint and has an historic charm to it. Definitely worth trying if you are in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Cary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best donuts I've ever had. Ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I went to Bob's twice while visiting San Francisco, both times late at night. They had apple fritters straight out of the fryer that were amazingly fresh and delicious. Much fresher and cheaper than the fancy donut places popping up in Chicago. They also make giant donuts that are literally bigger than your head. Kind of like a bundt cake. We foolishly ordered one the second night and they even gave us extra chocolate frosting. The stomachache was worth it! Can't wait to go back on our next trip to San Fran!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueSki84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Only good part of my trip to San Fransisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Delicious Buttery Sweet and fresh homemade donuts. Although the place could use a scrubbing, I found the doughnuts to be absolutely excellent. I got the cinammon and sugar donuts and i loved them.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob's Donuts & Pastry Shop also viewed

 

Been to Bob's Donuts & Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing