We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hipster hangout” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Barrel

Four Barrel
Ranked #14 of 260 Coffee & Tea in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mission District
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hipster hangout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I tried blue bottle and stumptown before four barrel and four barrel was definitely the best of the three. I had the same in all three - latte as they don't do flat whites in the states.

There can be fairly long queues but the service is good and there is plenty of time in the queue to soak up the cool vibe and look around the large space.

The latte had a good texture and was easy on tongue. No bitterness at all which is always a positive. It had a slight fruity taste but that could have been the passion fruit and chocolate donut that. It's the donut and other interesting treats along with the feel of the place that made me give four barrel 5 stars.

There isn't much seating which is surprising give the size of four barrel but I like the feeling of loft like space. And you can get bar style seating and watch them roast beans. There is also street seating.

There were folk in with laptops but I didn't check for wifi. I've heard they don't have any.

The location is good. Some people find the mission 'sketchy' but I found this part to be fine. There is street art at 16th and Valencia. The park isn't far and you should check out Tartine and Bi-rite creamery too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank awfullybigadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    38
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Coffee, Great People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Four Barrel offers one of the best cups of coffee in San Francisco. If you're a gourmet coffee lover, you must stop by for a cup. The owners were also exceptionally friendly- willing to talk, not rushed, and they donate coffee to local elementary schools (for parents, not students). I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fabulous and fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

a place to hang with friends in a fun-lively social setting and you will get an excellent cup if joe with great customer service. my critique is that i want savory food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark-n-MsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great espresso”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Visited SF recently for a family reunion and sampled a few of the espresso cafes. I am only interested in espresso so cannot comment on the other coffee choices. The shot of espresso was excellent and I was not disappointed. Loved the atmosphere of the shop and watched the roasting process in the back as I sipped my espresso. Will definitely come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenW57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Could be nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in after as long day's walking. You only get one chance to make a good impression, and I'm afraid that's why I've scored For Barrels a 3.

I ordered a soya cappuccino, and the lady at the till mentioned they only stocked almond milk, not soya, and asked if that would be OK. I replied that that was OK, as long as it wasn't dairy milk, as I was intolerant. She confirmed my order, took payment, and when I collected my coffee from the barista, it had been made with dairy milk. It's such a basic request, that I'm afraid I can't look beyond it.

In their defence, I'll say the atmosphere was good, and - had they gotten my order right after checking three times - my rating would be different. Probably worth deciding for yourself, but maybe not worth a special trip.

Helpful?
Thank roosterza
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Four Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Four Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing