We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome store, huge selection”
Review of Amoeba Music

Amoeba Music
Ranked #10 of 286 Shopping in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome store, huge selection”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Was blown away with the sheer range of music on offer here. Will be back next time I am in san fran!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeraintJonesNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    31
    5
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Haven, MI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the last of a dying breed”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Amoeba is a large, boxy record emporium on the last block before Haight street empties into Golden Gate Park. It boasts a knowledgeable staff, impressive vinyl selection and a MASSIVE CD inventory including row after row of blowout-priced used discs. Prices on new stuff are a little higher than I've found at most independent emporiums, but the store is without a doubt a music-lover's haven and a must see for all who fit that description.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ceguruGrandHaven_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cool to see!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

HUGE CD store! Nice, big selection. Cheapo is cheaper though and will order CD's for you if they happen to not have it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AMyers331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth visiting if you're a music fan”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great spot within Haight Ashbury to visit if you're a music fan. We spent 45minutes browsing and probably could've spent longer if we didn't have to get on our way. My boyfriend who is a big music fan was really taken away with the posters, vinyl etc. available. Definitely recommended if in the area!

Helpful?
Thank Karena-macarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
201 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Hidden treasures”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Whatever it is that you're looking for, Amoeba probably has it, in used but good condition, for basically spare change. I got about half a dozen rare Tori Amos singles and special edition albums in mint condition for about 20 bucks (some of which were only a dollar).
You have to check big bags when entering, and your hands will be filthy by the time you're done browsing, but the discoveries will most likely be worth it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amoeba Music also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Amoeba Music? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing