We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delightful, historical Inn that provides many comforts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at the Presidio
Ranked #2 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Wonderfully peaceful setting in the heart of San Francisco. The rooms are spacious and many have a balcony and/or fireplace. Evening wine and cheese reception as well as the breakfast spread is a treat. We took advantage of the outdoor patio and fire pit several nights. Trailhead access to nice hike with pretty, city views. Would recommend rooms towards the back of the property to avoid moderate traffic noise or guests going in and out of the front door.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASWJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
There are newer reviews for Inn at the Presidio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 706 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

Fantastic position, fantastic room, very helpful staff and wonderful breakfast. Bikes to rent and great advice on where to visit and when as well as booking. Would really recommend this, out of town but that makes it very relaxing and special. Suitable for children. There is a very regular bus into town. Nice to experience life outside of the hustle and bustle of the city. Less than 10 minutes to chinatown. Outside fire. Nice tracks to walk and views of the golden gate bridge. Close to museums as well. Definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: If travelling with children, get a room with a double bed and a sofa bed. Sofa bed very comfortable...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellposse14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We checked into the Inn after a couple of weeks travelling a night earlier than we had planned to. We were so thrilled we did! The rooms were really well furnished and spacious, the breakfast was yum! All the staff we met were friendly, helpful and kind. The wine, cheese and nibbles each night was a lovely touch and on our first night although we had missed this, the staff gave us a couple of wines for our room and milk and cookies for our children. All amongst the beautiful city of San Francisco... Would love to come back one day. The staff even contacted us after we had left to let us know we'd left some clothes behind - they also kindly agreed to give these to a charity for us x thanks so much for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxTales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We visited this inn not too long after they opened in 2013, and had a terrible experience. I've been meaning to write this review ever since. Perhaps they were still working out kinks at the time, but the follow up (or lack there of) is what has annoyed me the most.

We splurged to stay at this hotel for two nights, over a weekend. We tried to reserve a normal room, but they upgraded us to a suite, which was nice. However, the receptionist said that we'd have to switch rooms for the second night, and explained that it was very hard to figure out who to put in which room, that it was like a "tetris puzzle". Not a problem, we don't mind being flexible.

Our suite was absolutely lovely, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom amazing. The free apps & wine was a nice touch. The breakfast was "light" but fine.

The second day, it was extremely complicated to switch rooms. We were initially told that we could leave our bags in our room and that they would be moved for us. However, when I went to check on this I was told that no, we had to bring our bags to the front desk and leave them there. Ultimately, after a total headache, we ended up in a room directly across the hall from where we were the first night.

The following morning at 6 am, were awakened by a banging on the room door. I groggily walked out to the sitting room, and was shocked when the door flew open. Apparently housekeeping wanted to clean our room at 6am. When the cleaner saw me, she closed the door and left. I was appalled. When I later asked the front desk about it, she said that the people across the hall had checked out, and only been there one night, and that the cleaner had accidently come to our room instead. This also begs the question as to why we had to move, why couldn't the other couple had been in (our second) room for their only night, and we could have stayed where we were? Very disorganized.

The worst part of this whole ordeal was the follow up. I got a survey asking about our stay. I filled it out. Terry Haney, GM of the hotel, emailed me to apologize and offer me a complimentary two night stay, so that they could make it up to us. He said that since I live on the East Coast, it may not make sense, but he wanted to extend the offer.

I have contacted him TWICE to redeem this offer, and neither time I received a response of any type.

Perhaps they have worked out the kinks with the room organization & cleaning.... but I am still very UNIMPRESSED with Terry's lack of follow up to his offer. There is no excuse for that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Trevler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Inn at the Presidio in early November. The location is beautiful and we had wonderful, warm weather. The property is clean, charming, and has beautiful views. We stayed in a standard queen room so we didn't have a view over the bridge but the room was still very nice, the staff was helpful and kind, breakfast was just right and the wine and cheese was a good segue from day to evening.
Our timing was not too good though. The Disney Museum is open Wednesday through Monday so we were able to enjoy that -- it's amazing. However, the NPS Visitor Center is open Thursday to Sunday so we missed it. We were able to see Andy Goldsworthy's "Spire" and "Wood Line" but not "Tree Fall" since it's open on the weekends (there are private tours other days -- they preferred Thursday though.)
We took both of the free PresidiGo shuttles so that we could see most of the Park. And we stopped at the Palace of the Legion of Honor. With more time we would have taken the shuttle which goes downtown.
Parking is extremely easy and reasonable, especially with the free shuttles, the hotel car which is available to guests, bicycles, and the many walking and hiking trails.
This was a quick and relaxing getaway from our Bay Area home.

Room Tip: If you want a spectacular view be sure to ask when making your reservation.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EHRINCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We came back to the Inn at the Presidio for our wedding anniversary this year. It continues to be a very special place! If you would enjoy a splendid view of the bay, the gentle sound of fog horns at night, walking out the door into the Golden Gate National Recreation Area and superb service, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calgrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I spent one night at this hotel on Dec. 23rd, 2013. It is a charming hotel. I had a large suite on the first floor. The furniture and hardwood floors were beautiful. The bathroom was updated, too. I had a lovely sitting room. When we arrived they provided us with cheese, fruit & crackers. Very nice after a long trip! The bed was King size and very comfortable. Bathrobes were provided, if needed. They had a fire pit on the patio to munch on the cheese & crackers. Also, breakfast was included. They provided fresh pastries, cereal, coffee, tea and juice. I found the staff to be friendly and professional. I did not find this place to be noisy. This was part of my Christmas gift to stay here my first night in San Francisco after my 6 hour plane trip. I do not know the price for my room. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 131 on the first floor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 229 in San Francisco
1,475 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,310 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#46 of 229 in San Francisco
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Presidio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Presidio

Address: 42 Moraga Ave, San Francisco, CA 94129-1122
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $335 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Presidio 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most unique San Francisco hotel experience comes from the Inn at the Presidio. Tucked into the luscious Presidio—a National Historic Landmark—this hotel near Golden Gate Bridge was once an elegant home for bachelor U.S. Army officers. The Inn at the Presidio, in the northwest corner of the city, has 22 rooms, 17 of which are suites including a gas fireplace and sofa sleeper. Complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese receptions are part of your stay. Our San Francisco lodging also features an outdoor patio with a gas fire fit, porches with rocking chairs, and grand public lobby areas. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout the whole Presidio hotel, as well as a daily morning newspaper. In its Georgian Revival-style building, the inn also has meeting spaces for functions of up to 20 people which can be reserved for private, memorable events and meetings. Enjoy easy access to the Pacific Ocean, Crissy Field, Fisherman’s Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Park, and other quintessential sights. For unmatched San Francisco accommodations, book your Inn at the Presidio reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Inn at the Presidio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing