We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at the Presidio
Ranked #3 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent a week at the Inn at the end of September and were so pleased with every aspect of the choice we had made! The room had a fantastic view of the bay; the Inn was spotless and the staff was wonderful and accommodating! They arranged car service to restaurants and to shopping in the city and went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable. We loved it and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Third floor suite on the front!! Great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expresso42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    78
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
193
279
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Our entire family LOVED our one night stay at the Presidio over Thanksgiving. This is, by far, the best value I have ever experienced in a hotel. The property is impeccable, the service was outstanding- a perfect balance of professional and comfortable. The evening wine/cheese as well as the morning breakfast were hands down the most beautiful, simple yet delicious spreads I have ever encountered in a "complimentary" situation. I would highly highly highly recommend the Presidio for anyone looking for a wonderful place to stay that is outside the hustle/bustle of San Fran. I look forward to returning in the near future!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KFPM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
262 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here because our favorite B&B wouldn't take a reservation for just one night over the Thanksgiving weekend. We couldn't have been more surprised or pleased! I had always been curious about how the Presidio in general was faring as a new multiple-purpose National Park that is paying its own way. The Inn is in the restored Bachelors Officers Quarters and has been in existence almost two years. The grounds are absolutely lovely, with hiking trails, and peace and quiet that are hard to find in San Francisco. Tim checked us in and couldn't have been more helpful. We arrived just in time for the 5-7 PM wine and cheese; very tasty! The restored rooms are clean, spacious and feature top-of-the-line furnishings. The windows actually open and do so quite easily. When is the last time you have been able to do this in a hotel? Only complaints: the power plugs on the top of the desk were recessed and hidden beneath the clock radio, which itself was set at the wrong time and there was no instruction manual on how to re-set the time. It is expensive, but if you can afford it, it will be a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: While Room 224 does not face the Golden Gate, it does have what the manager says is one of the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We live and work in San Francisco and sometimes,... most times, time doesn't allow for a true vacation. We loved the relaxed atmosphere, the perfect room, the quiet! It was a true get away only wish we could stay longer than a weekend.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the fire pit which was nice. Otherwise as far as I know they all seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

if you want to go "the city" also known as San Francisco and want to feel removed from all the hullabaloo - then stay at this gem of a hotel. it is beautiful inside, surrounded by history and quiet. the rooms are beautiful (we stayed in a building down the street because we brought a dog) and the breakfast in the main building was absolutely fantastic. I felt taken back to the 50's with the music they played, the history of it all and the beautiful buildings. we tracked down the andy goldworthy installations and there is so much more to do and see. definitely one of the top places I have stayed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabine17093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Besides all the positive reviews that have been written, our stay at the Inn at the Presidio provided us with unique opportunities within a big city. The green space in the Presidio is outstanding, exposing you to hills, forests and valleys that are a treat to view. There are 24 miles of paths that can be walked, and portions of them can be ridden by bicycle. When the trails aren't open to bicycles, the roads are in good shape and have few vehicles to contend with.

For those that wish to bicycle ride across the Golden Gate Bridge to Sausalito, the Inn at the Presidio is close by and minimizes the hills you need to contend with.

The breakfast provided fresh baked goods, and the evening wine & cheese was a pleasant surprise. A very nice stay for those who are familiar with San Francisco. It is not in the 'tourist' area, but the Presidio does provide a free shuttle bus to get into the city, and a bus that circles within the Presidio.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoMoreTuition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a single night at this oasis on the edge of SF.

Property had a historic feel, and nicely recreated the aura of the Presidio. Queen bed rooms were sufficiently large, tastefully furnished and reasonably quiet.

Evening reception was outstanding. We appreciated the fact that the staff didn't remove the cheese/wine immediately at the conclusion of the reception. Warm cookies were a nice touch also.

Concierge couldn't have been easier to work with or more helpful.

Can't wait to return. This will be our go to property whenever we travel to SF.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank father3KansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 227 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Presidio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Presidio

Property: Inn at the Presidio
Address: 42 Moraga Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94129
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Presidio 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most unique San Francisco hotel experience comes from the Inn at the Presidio. Tucked into the luscious Presidio—a National Historic Landmark—this hotel near Golden Gate Bridge was once an elegant home for bachelor U.S. Army officers. The Inn at the Presidio, in the northwest corner of the city, has 22 rooms, 17 of which are suites including a gas fireplace and sofa sleeper. Complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese receptions are part of your stay. Our San Francisco lodging also features an outdoor patio with a gas fire fit, porches with rocking chairs, and grand public lobby areas. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout the whole Presidio hotel, as well as a daily morning newspaper. In its Georgian Revival-style building, the inn also has meeting spaces for functions of up to 20 people which can be reserved for private, memorable events and meetings. Enjoy easy access to the Pacific Ocean, Crissy Field, Fisherman’s Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Park, and other quintessential sights. For unmatched San Francisco accommodations, book your Inn at the Presidio reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at the Presidio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing