We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at the Presidio
Ranked #3 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Franklin, Tennessee, United States
1 review
“A must stay Property”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I travel to San Fran quite often to see our daughter and son-in-law. They recently moved to Laurel Heights so we needed a place to stay. We found this little piece of heaven before our recent visit in September. What a find! The location is great and the hospitality is outstanding! A must do if you ever in the area.

Room Tip: The suites are phenominal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    81
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
210
292
18
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I with our two Beagles enjoyed a three night stay at this lovely property. We had a third floor suite and had a lovely view of the bay. We were impressed with the amount of space in these restored bachelor quarters. The restoration was very well done mixing the original with the new. Two flat screen TV's, great king size bed and a lovely bathroom with all the amenities you'd expect. The windows are original but open with ease to let the fresh air flow. We will definitely return and highly recommend the Inn to anyone looking for a low key peaceful property in the San Francisco area. It is amazing to find such a gem so close to all SF has to offer. The breakfast was a cut above the usual included breakfast and the wine in the evening was excellent. We also loved the fire pit out back. Over all an excellent stay. We do have two suggestions to make it even better, each room should be equipped with an oscillating fan. Also an outdoor trash receptacle would be in order, for snack trash as well as pet waste.

Room Tip: The view are the best from the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvtotrvl_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Recently , my wife and I had the wonderful experience of staying at the Inn of the Presidio.
The room accommodations (2nd floor suite) was super. What an outstanding value to get the amount of living space between the living room, bedroom along with great views from our window and of course the rockers on the front porch that are designed for young , middle aged or seniors.
The Hotel staff could not have been nicer and more professional. Every question or request that we had was handled immediately and with an attitude of "Happy to serve you."
The location of the Inn is perfect. We took several walks, hiked the trails behind the Inn to Inspiration Point.
Course an added plus was being so close to the Bay and even catching some of America's Cup racing which turned out to be a fabulous win for America.
I highly rate the Hotel, Staff, Food and lodging experience.
Doug and Cyndy Kennedy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I can find no fault with this flawless inn. From the moment we entered we felt like welcome friends rather than guests. The accomodations were spacious and beautifully furnished. The breaksfast and evening wine and cheese were generously hosted.
Although the inn is off the beaten path for some tourist activities it opens up a whole new area of San Francisco to explore. Transporation to all parts of the city is easily arranged via shuttle and public transportation.
The staff is knowlegable and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolmomma1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We've always wanted to stay in the Presidio, beneath the pines, within sight of the Golden Gate, the country in the City. Had read about the Inn in a magazine, called on a whim as we were passing through. The excellent concierge, Brett Leonard, recommended room 224, a large, high-ceilinged room with two very tall, wide double hung windows that one can throw open to let in the cool Presidio air. The room has an exceedingly comfortable king-sized bed with excellent linens and pillows, a large sitting area with a writing desk and handsome couch, a wide flat-screen television if you're so inclined, or piles of books, some available for sale in the lobby. The bathroom was spotless, again very large, hosting an enormous shower lined in shiny black subway tiles with a floor to ceiling glass door, a campaign-style commode, well-equipped with clean-smelling herbal soaps, conditioners and lotions, ample soft, cleanly-laundered towels. The entire building was very carefully done, maintaining it's historical dignity while providing guests with the utmost in modern comfort and amenities. Plus, parking is $6 a day! That's an amazing bargain in SF, where hotels routinely charge $50 and up for car park. There are free bikes for riding around the Presidio-we rode down to Crissy Field and beneath the Golden Gate bridge--and free bus service from the Presidio into central SF. They also have a car service available using new Mercedes, at prices just above a cab ride. In the afternoon, there's a delicious afternoon cheese and wine service available which had, among other things, an excellent local salumi and real parmigiano-reggiano in generous chunks, a Northern California cab sauv. and chardonnay which were actually quite good. Ditto the inclusive breakfast, way above standard grade for such places, local pastries, organic cereals, excellent coffee, teas and milks, even a hard-boiled egg that was actually edible (imagine!). Finally, the staff was exceedingly cheerful and helpful, especially Mr. Leonard who made us feel utterly comfortable and welcomed, gave the impression he could make anything happen. Everyone greeted us, were ready to help. Even the breakfast guy waved at us when we saw him walking on the street. Kudos for hiring such a brilliant staff. All in all, it was an entirely pleasant stay for us, a great retreat from the hectic city, yet close enough so as not to be inconvenient. We loved staying there and will choose it the next time we visit. I highly recommend the Inn!

Room Tip: It is an old building, so you will hear things, doors closing and the like, but never so much as to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChefinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Inn at the Presidio while in SF to watch America's Cup sailing. We stayed in the adjacent Funston House while my parents stayed in the main hotel building. Both rooms were lovely, clean, bright, and modern. I love the style of this hotel, nice but not overly stuffy. I enjoyed the morning breakfasts and the wine and cheese hour each night. Also enjoyed spending time at the fire pits outside, and all around the Presidio! As other reviewers have pointed out, the hotel is in a perfect location-away from the hustle of the city, in a beautiful setting, and an easy walk to the water and all the shops and restaurants on Chestnut.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at the Inn overnight, to celebrate a birthday. I mentioned that to Brett as we checked in, and awhile later a hand-signed card from Brett, accompanied by a bottle of bubbly and box of chocolates, was delivered. What an unexpected and wonderful surprise! The room was large, with a sitting area in front of the TV, and a view down on the terrace with the fire pit. The bathroom was spacious with a single sink, plenty of room to put our things, and an impressive large tiled shower. Comfortable bed with crisp linens. We enjoyed the evening wine reception, with fruit, cheese, crackers, nuts, and salamis. We took our snacks outside to the warm and peaceful fire pit. We made dinner reservations at a restaurant listed on the Inn's website, and were thrilled when Brett told us he could arrange a car to take us there and pick us up, so we didn't have to worry about driving or parking--it all worked without a hitch. The included breakfast the next morning was delicious and plentiful. The whole Inn is beautifully decorated and was absolutely spotless. A hiking trail, which leads to other trails, is just beyond the fire pit. We were so impressed by our stay that we purchased a gift certificate for parents-in-law.

A special shout out for Brett, who was on duty during our stay. He made our stay and the Inn extra special. He was knowledgeable, attentive, responsive and, most importantly, pleasant and cheerful. We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mere_du_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 228 in San Francisco
1,446 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,088 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
421 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#45 of 228 in San Francisco
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Presidio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Presidio

Property: Inn at the Presidio
Address: 42 Moraga Ave, San Francisco, CA 94129-1122
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Presidio 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most unique San Francisco hotel experience comes from the Inn at the Presidio. Tucked into the luscious Presidio—a National Historic Landmark—this hotel near Golden Gate Bridge was once an elegant home for bachelor U.S. Army officers. The Inn at the Presidio, in the northwest corner of the city, has 22 rooms, 17 of which are suites including a gas fireplace and sofa sleeper. Complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese receptions are part of your stay. Our San Francisco lodging also features an outdoor patio with a gas fire fit, porches with rocking chairs, and grand public lobby areas. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout the whole Presidio hotel, as well as a daily morning newspaper. In its Georgian Revival-style building, the inn also has meeting spaces for functions of up to 20 people which can be reserved for private, memorable events and meetings. Enjoy easy access to the Pacific Ocean, Crissy Field, Fisherman’s Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Park, and other quintessential sights. For unmatched San Francisco accommodations, book your Inn at the Presidio reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Inn at the Presidio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing