We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Inn is IN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at the Presidio
Ranked #3 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This Inn is IN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We researched just about every hotel in San Fran that cold accommodate a family of four with two teenagers. We like accomodations with plenty of room (at least a sitting room for the kids to sleep and a separate bedroom for us) - also we like it clean, friendly, quiet, and comfortable - and, a nice breakfast to start our day. The Inn at the Presideo was just the ticket! From the moment we arrived, we felt like it was home with warm and attentive hospitality and all we were looking for. Throw in evening receptions with wine, cheese, snack, etc. and even an outdoor fireplace to gather around, and it went beyond our expectations. Situated in the Presideo makes it a charming place to stay - convenient to San Fran, Napa and all the Bay area attractions and you are staying in a Park vs a crowded, noisy city. We stayed for 5 days which was perfect.
A couple of suggestions for management... - put in some A/C and add some drawers in the bathrooms.
All in all....
They are not shy about the price, but worth it...
Would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eeeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    78
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
195
281
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Only there for 1 night, But it was the best stay of out trip to CA.
The breakfast pastries were wonderful, and the wine and cheese are a nice treat before we went to dinner.
Our room had the best shower and I loved the Army style covers for the hair dryer "hot air" and "TP".
We walked to dinner and to the Disney Family Museum the next day.
Thanks for a great start to our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

What a lovely 2 night stay my husband & I had at the Inn! We had a 2 room suite that was impeccably furnished and was extremely clean. We were a bit skeptic about the fact that this was an historic building and wouldn't have any modern luxuries, but we were so wrong! The bed was the most comfortable one we had slept on since leaving home, the bathroom was modern & stocked with wonderful toiletries! The sitting room was very spacious and furnished with Restoration Hardware style furniture which looked amazing in this historical setting. The morning brought a wonderful european style breakfast & the evening wine & cheese was so lovely, especially enjoying it while sitting around the outdoor fire. This was truly a "vacation", absolutely will return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My only regret about this wonderful inn is that we only stayed one night! Our room was spacious and immaculate, the staff (with a shout out to Brett!) could not have been more pleasant and helpful, the included breakfast was terrific, complimentary wine and cheese in the evening was a treat, and it was very reasonably priced. We were there on a Sunday, so we were lucky to be there when the large picnic was going on at the fairground -- music, incredible food trucks, people kicking soccer balls, throwing frisbees, and lounging on blankets. The inn has a car service at taxi prices so there's no wait for a ride into town. I was lamenting moving from the Vitale for our last night but am so happy we did. The views are spectacular and this is a special place. We'll definitely come back on our next trip to San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I would agree with the vast majority of previous reviews that this place is wonderful. To have a quiet place to stay in a major city is a real find. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the building is full of charm and history. We had a king suite on the 3rd floor #323 (be ready to climb stairs - no elevator), which had a view of the bay from the living room and a view of the small rear parking lot and trees from the bedroom. This room was spacious and has a gas fireplace (which unfortunately didn't work consistently - even after the gentleman at the front desk tried to fix it late at night). The bathroom was spacious, and the entire room & bathroom were very clean. The only (very minor) negative comments are: 1) The inn would be even more charming (and I don't mean cutesy) if the tables and dressers, etc. were less stark; the wood furniture seems too plain for the setting. 2) It would be nice to see a heated hors d'oeuvre at the afternoon reception; breakfast pastries tasted store bought - not from a quality bakery. Nice amenities included the fire pit in the back, rocking chairs on the front porch, thick bathrobes, walk-in closet with 2 full-length mirrors, plenty of reading material, easy parking, and more. I would definitely go back and plan to spend more time relaxing at the inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlquestions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night. We absolutely loved every aspect of it. The front desk staff were perfect. We arrived at about 10:30pm and were starving and the check in guy helped us with menus to enable us to order a pizza. The room itself was immaculate. We wished we could have stayed for a few nights rather than the quick one night. The building was very impressive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clyde B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in a King suite, we made the living room into our son's room. The Presidio is a lovely clean hotel where the staff go out of their way to attend your every need. The rooms are spacious with lots of extras and the best hotel dressing gowns I have used. Each night the hotel treats the guests with cheese and wine which you can enjoy either around the fire pit or in the dining room. The area is beautiful and close to the Golden Gate Bridge but if you go downtown then you need a taxi back. I loved this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brightwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 228 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Presidio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Presidio

Property: Inn at the Presidio
Address: 42 Moraga Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94129
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Presidio 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most unique San Francisco hotel experience comes from the Inn at the Presidio. Tucked into the luscious Presidio—a National Historic Landmark—this hotel near Golden Gate Bridge was once an elegant home for bachelor U.S. Army officers. The Inn at the Presidio, in the northwest corner of the city, has 22 rooms, 17 of which are suites including a gas fireplace and sofa sleeper. Complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese receptions are part of your stay. Our San Francisco lodging also features an outdoor patio with a gas fire fit, porches with rocking chairs, and grand public lobby areas. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout the whole Presidio hotel, as well as a daily morning newspaper. In its Georgian Revival-style building, the inn also has meeting spaces for functions of up to 20 people which can be reserved for private, memorable events and meetings. Enjoy easy access to the Pacific Ocean, Crissy Field, Fisherman’s Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Park, and other quintessential sights. For unmatched San Francisco accommodations, book your Inn at the Presidio reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at the Presidio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing