We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A five star military experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at the Presidio
Ranked #2 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 27, 2013

What a treat this overnight stay was for my best friend and I! We remembered when the Presidio was a working Army base and were curious to see how it could be turned into a deluxe place to stay. Well, they did it!! They kept the military flavor and made the old bachelor officer quarters into lovely suites with all the 5star amenities such as mini bar, lots of drawer space, deluxe bed and linens and a lovely porch to sit out on and enjoy the view. A complimentary breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese offering is included - staying here is an experience not to miss!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilynmoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for Inn at the Presidio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

596 - 602 of 708 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a great Inn! Modern top of the line decor. Outstanding customer service, inexpensive available parking, beautiful safe location right inside San Francisco. Great for families and people on vacation! Would definitely stay here again. Free shuttle service right downtown or to the Golden Gate Bridge. Fabulous breakfast and nice happy hour.

Room Tip: You do not need a car
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USAtraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great spot in SF. This hotel could be good for couples or families. It's not as amazing as its sister hotel, Cavallo, across the GG Bridge. But this a great spot that's in the city, but also quiet and relaxing at same time. The restoration of the old Presidio buildings was well done and we enjoyed reading all the literature on historic SF that was in the room. We loved hearing the fog horn in the distance. Next time we'll bring our kids and small dog. The hotel referred me for a massage to SenSpa, which was out of this world. Hotel is also close to Disney Family Museum, which was a nice surprise.

Room Tip: High floor if you want a view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRice68005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a pleasant property set within the Presidio grounds, far removed from the hustle and bustle of the City, within proximity to GG Park, GG Bridge, and actually within a 10min ride to other parts of the City. But be sure you have GPS or a good map because the it is like a maze once you enter the area, even our GPS did not work perfectly because they are doing alot of road diversion works to GG Bridge.

There are not many rooms in the property, but they try their best to make it more lively, but organizing an afternoon drinks gathering and also breakfast, which are held in a communal room. It's more like a B&B experience, and rooms are spacious with a gas fireplace. It can get quite quiet and alittle eerie out there, but if you want a quiet getaway, this would be great.

Room Tip: We were given a room on the ground floor. Nothing wrong but you would have to pull down the blinds...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is quiet and elegant. The rooms and bathrooms are large and beautifully furnished. The breakfasts are nice. The croissants are stupendous. Borrow the bikes from the hotel and go for a ride to Crissy field.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We've just finished an amazing trip to California and I wanted to end it with a relaxing stay somewhere unique and special. I chose the Inn at the Presidio and it lived up to alley expectations. The place is fantastic, the suites are tastefully appointed with contemporary furniture, decent art and the Presidio memorabilia is quirky and interesting.
We arrived for the wine social (great!) and the crowd is really interesting, we met so many interesting people in the other guests, it attracts a cool crowd.
I would definitely recommend planning in a explore of the park as part of your stay, the trails are easy to navigate and we found a few secret places to see the Gilden Gate Bridge from, away from all the tourist crowds.
Beds were really comfy, bathroom well appointed and there were interesting books in the room to read, along with a coffee machine with good coffee for waking up in the morning.
We'll definitely be going back there on our next trip to SF

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My family of four stayed here for three nights in July to be near a camp my son was attending in the Presidio. We stayed on the first floor of the Inn in a "king classic suite" that had a king-sized bed and pullout sofa-bed for the children. The interior was modern, spacious, and comfortable. The best part of our stay here included:

- wine and cheese (and fresh chocolate chip cookies) each evening from 5:00-7:00 p.m.

- a firepit at the back of the Inn where you can warm up while sipping wine.

- delicious selection of rolls, muffins, cheeses, meats and cereal each morning for continental breakfast

- many walking/running trails around the Inn.

- location in a quiet wooded area feels as if you've left the city for awhile. Very relaxing.

- attentive, wonderful staff and guests. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The hotel staff are very attentive to service.

- affordable self-parking.

- historical books for guests to read in the lobby and in the rooms.

Now for a few minor problems we had:

- Cooling the room:

We slept fairly well but only after adjusting the temperature in the room via the windows. For those unfamiliar with San Francisco's summers, they are quite chilly and foggy. The rooms have a gas fireplace and heaters, and warm up comfortably. But we learned after the first night that we didn't need to run the heaters; the rooms stay comfortable all day, even in chilly weather. On the first night we got a bit warm for our sleeping comfort, even with all heaters off. We ended up cooling our suite at night via the windows. Since the front window on our first level suite is right there on the front porch it would be easy for anyone to get in the room through the window. Although the area is quiet and safe, as a parent I'd rather not leave an easy-access window open in a room where my children are sleeping. It's like leaving the room unlocked with the door open. This is the main drawback to a first-level suite for families.

- Pet-friendly can also mean flea-friendly:

Because the Inn is pet-friendly, we had the accidental bad luck of finding a flea in the kids' pull-out bed. Earlier my son had a mysteriously itchy bite on his leg from the night before. We hadn't thought much about it until we were preparing to fold the bed back into a sofa, and saw the flea jumping on the sheets. When we alerted the cleaning staff to this, they gave the room a more-thorough-than-usual cleaning and we had no problems after that. The hotel manager was alerted to this issue as well. Based on the staff's quick and attentive action on this, I'm confident the manager and staff will be more conscientious about the cleaning of rooms in the future after pets have stayed there. We love pets, just not their fleas.

Other than these two issues, we enjoyed our stay here and will probably stay here again in the future. We recommend booking a 2nd or 3rd floor suite in the future though for privacy and the views. Although we had booked our room back in March for our July stay, we were told that all the upper rooms were unavailable when we checked in. So at the time of booking, try to request the upper rooms well in advance.

Room Tip: Try to book a 2nd or 3rd floor room if possible.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATravelingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,480 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,315 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Presidio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Presidio

Address: 42 Moraga Ave, San Francisco, CA 94129-1122
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $335 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Presidio 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most unique San Francisco hotel experience comes from the Inn at the Presidio. Tucked into the luscious Presidio—a National Historic Landmark—this hotel near Golden Gate Bridge was once an elegant home for bachelor U.S. Army officers. The Inn at the Presidio, in the northwest corner of the city, has 22 rooms, 17 of which are suites including a gas fireplace and sofa sleeper. Complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese receptions are part of your stay. Our San Francisco lodging also features an outdoor patio with a gas fire fit, porches with rocking chairs, and grand public lobby areas. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout the whole Presidio hotel, as well as a daily morning newspaper. In its Georgian Revival-style building, the inn also has meeting spaces for functions of up to 20 people which can be reserved for private, memorable events and meetings. Enjoy easy access to the Pacific Ocean, Crissy Field, Fisherman’s Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Park, and other quintessential sights. For unmatched San Francisco accommodations, book your Inn at the Presidio reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Inn at the Presidio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing