We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place and people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at the Presidio
Ranked #3 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place and people”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We've just finished an amazing trip to California and I wanted to end it with a relaxing stay somewhere unique and special. I chose the Inn at the Presidio and it lived up to alley expectations. The place is fantastic, the suites are tastefully appointed with contemporary furniture, decent art and the Presidio memorabilia is quirky and interesting.
We arrived for the wine social (great!) and the crowd is really interesting, we met so many interesting people in the other guests, it attracts a cool crowd.
I would definitely recommend planning in a explore of the park as part of your stay, the trails are easy to navigate and we found a few secret places to see the Gilden Gate Bridge from, away from all the tourist crowds.
Beds were really comfy, bathroom well appointed and there were interesting books in the room to read, along with a coffee machine with good coffee for waking up in the morning.
We'll definitely be going back there on our next trip to SF

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    82
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
219
299
19
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My family of four stayed here for three nights in July to be near a camp my son was attending in the Presidio. We stayed on the first floor of the Inn in a "king classic suite" that had a king-sized bed and pullout sofa-bed for the children. The interior was modern, spacious, and comfortable. The best part of our stay here included:

- wine and cheese (and fresh chocolate chip cookies) each evening from 5:00-7:00 p.m.

- a firepit at the back of the Inn where you can warm up while sipping wine.

- delicious selection of rolls, muffins, cheeses, meats and cereal each morning for continental breakfast

- many walking/running trails around the Inn.

- location in a quiet wooded area feels as if you've left the city for awhile. Very relaxing.

- attentive, wonderful staff and guests. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The hotel staff are very attentive to service.

- affordable self-parking.

- historical books for guests to read in the lobby and in the rooms.

Now for a few minor problems we had:

- Cooling the room:

We slept fairly well but only after adjusting the temperature in the room via the windows. For those unfamiliar with San Francisco's summers, they are quite chilly and foggy. The rooms have a gas fireplace and heaters, and warm up comfortably. But we learned after the first night that we didn't need to run the heaters; the rooms stay comfortable all day, even in chilly weather. On the first night we got a bit warm for our sleeping comfort, even with all heaters off. We ended up cooling our suite at night via the windows. Since the front window on our first level suite is right there on the front porch it would be easy for anyone to get in the room through the window. Although the area is quiet and safe, as a parent I'd rather not leave an easy-access window open in a room where my children are sleeping. It's like leaving the room unlocked with the door open. This is the main drawback to a first-level suite for families.

- Pet-friendly can also mean flea-friendly:

Because the Inn is pet-friendly, we had the accidental bad luck of finding a flea in the kids' pull-out bed. Earlier my son had a mysteriously itchy bite on his leg from the night before. We hadn't thought much about it until we were preparing to fold the bed back into a sofa, and saw the flea jumping on the sheets. When we alerted the cleaning staff to this, they gave the room a more-thorough-than-usual cleaning and we had no problems after that. The hotel manager was alerted to this issue as well. Based on the staff's quick and attentive action on this, I'm confident the manager and staff will be more conscientious about the cleaning of rooms in the future after pets have stayed there. We love pets, just not their fleas.

Other than these two issues, we enjoyed our stay here and will probably stay here again in the future. We recommend booking a 2nd or 3rd floor suite in the future though for privacy and the views. Although we had booked our room back in March for our July stay, we were told that all the upper rooms were unavailable when we checked in. So at the time of booking, try to request the upper rooms well in advance.

Room Tip: Try to book a 2nd or 3rd floor room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATravelingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

the rooms very really large and the bed was so comfy. my 13 yr old had the pull out in the separate sitting room and he said it was also comfy. the bathroom was huge (we had been to 13 other hotels by the time we got home ) It was quiet , really peaceful and you could go for walks around the Presidio. We felt safe walking home from the restaurant at night. Included was a cold buffet breakfast which was yummie. We walked to the golden gate bridge approx 2 hr round trip at a leisurely pace and we returned via the museum of fine arts and thru the gardens of the presidio which were so beautiful. Thank you Tim for all your help.

Room Tip: rooms seem to be all quiet as the hotel is at the far back of the presidio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Absolutely and amazing time. The staff is first rate. I was delayed 4 hours but they made sure my driver was in the loop and waiting for me. I had a spectacular view from my room. It was reasonably quiet and fun to just walk around. the Euro breakfast and especially the oatmeal really cap it off. withou hesitation I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1philipeichorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night (wish it had been more) during our recent trip to San Francisco, Napa, and the Sonoma area. I had read about this Inn in a travel magazine and then checked it out online. It was everything that was promised and more! It was a little more expensive than what we usually do, but it was our splurge stay during the trip....and we felt pampered and special because of how nice it is! The early evening wine and cheese reception was plentiful and delicious, and the breakfast had a number of good selections. While it was continental, it was much better than other places. After a great dinner at nearby wonderful Cliff House, we came back and drank wine by the outdoor fire pit....what more could you want?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoilerSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

So glad I chose here to stay, excellent location for the Golden Gate Bridge! Beautiful surroundings inside and out, welcoming and competent staff, wine & cheese to die for on an evening, great breakfast choice, who could ask for more!
Firepit outside, great to sit round with a glass of red especially if you havent a room with a balcony.
Cant wait to return

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenClaireLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Well, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

For those wanting a quiet, yet luxury base in San Francisco, then this is the place for you. The breakfasts were brilliant - so tasty and varied. Given notification of my wifes wheat intolerance, they provided gluten free cereals and bread for toast. We had one of the smaller rooms in the hotel, but it was still a great room - the bathroom was nice and big, with a really great shower. A great selection if snacks and sweets were left in the room. A mini-bar was also available for those wanting it. Every evening the hotel provided a selection of local wines along with cheese and snacks for all the guests to sample - a great opportunity to chat to fellow guests to swap stories in a great setting. The hotel is set in the grounds of The Presidio, a wonderful park, and there is free bus transport into and back to and from the city centre.

Room Tip: Booking early will enable you to get one of the rooms at the front of the hotel - with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackers57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 229 in San Francisco
1,451 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
438 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#44 of 229 in San Francisco
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Presidio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Presidio

Property: Inn at the Presidio
Address: 42 Moraga Ave, San Francisco, CA 94129-1122
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Presidio 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most unique San Francisco hotel experience comes from the Inn at the Presidio. Tucked into the luscious Presidio—a National Historic Landmark—this hotel near Golden Gate Bridge was once an elegant home for bachelor U.S. Army officers. The Inn at the Presidio, in the northwest corner of the city, has 22 rooms, 17 of which are suites including a gas fireplace and sofa sleeper. Complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese receptions are part of your stay. Our San Francisco lodging also features an outdoor patio with a gas fire fit, porches with rocking chairs, and grand public lobby areas. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout the whole Presidio hotel, as well as a daily morning newspaper. In its Georgian Revival-style building, the inn also has meeting spaces for functions of up to 20 people which can be reserved for private, memorable events and meetings. Enjoy easy access to the Pacific Ocean, Crissy Field, Fisherman’s Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Park, and other quintessential sights. For unmatched San Francisco accommodations, book your Inn at the Presidio reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Inn at the Presidio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing