We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at the Presidio
Ranked #2 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My daughter and I had a wonderful stay at the inn during spring break. They consider every detail and make your stay as comfortable as possible. We enjoyed the nightly reception and of course the breakfast which was very filling. Would definitely stay again in this very comfortable and peaceful setting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ssumner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 745 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful 3 night stay at the Inn at the Presidio. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We found the history of the Presidio fascinating and loved the location near the Golden Gate Bridge. The available shuttle bus for pickup/drop offs on the the grounds was very nice to use! How wonderful to visit property owned by the National Park Service that provides accessible enjoyment of this beautiful property for those staying in the inn, the residents who rent the homes/ office space and for those who want to visit the grounds for its beautiful outdoor spaces and the museums.
We would love to return one day!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgreer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Inn at the Presidio is an elegant, historic, peaceful place to stay. It is located in in many acres of beautiful parkland and full of beautiful, fragrant, eucalyptus trees. The park, which is now federally owned used to be first a fortress established by the Spanish in 1775 and subsequently became a U.S. army base. It stretches from the base of the Golden Gate bridge to the beginning of the piers.Many of the buildings have been converted into rented accommodation and The Inn was the previously housed army officers. There are several restaurants and other amenities on the property. Such a park setting is unique in that it provides serenity yet is only 8 minutes by bus into downtown San Francisco.The rooms preserve the atmosphere of their era and are very large and extremely comfortable. The staff provide excellent service, are friendly and very accommodating.
This is to be recommended for a graceful and peaceful stay.

Room Tip: Water view rooms provide the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IainToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The one thing I always hated about traveling to SF was that all of the good hotels are downtown, which in my opinion is the least desirable area to stay in. This hotel is right in the middle of the lush presidio, walking distance (granted a longer walk) to Chrissy field and all of the great restaurants on Chestnut and Union. They let you use the YMCA down the street for free, but with all of the great running/walking trails around you won't need it.

The hotel itself has a classic yet comfortable feel. You can sense the history but have a modern bathroom and modern amenities. I didn't partake in the wine/cheese reception or the breakfast but they both looked good. I did sit by the fire pit for awhile which was lovely.

The staff is extremely attentive with everything from helping with bags to arranging transportation. My only gripe is the spotty cell service but it is a minor issue. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank yankeetravels27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a two-night stay at the Inn at the Presidio and wish we could have stayed much longer. Our room was lovely, the staff was as friendly and helpful as they could be, the breakfast was good, and the evening wine and cheese was a nice, welcome touch. We were on a business/pleasure trip to San Francisco and with little free time to see the sites, we found more than enough to do within the boundaries of the Presidio. We also appreciated the quiet of the location. There is no street noise to speak of, and we were able to sleep undisturbed with our window open. We are already looking forward to our next stay at this wonderful inn.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the inn are very quiet and less expensive, but rooms at the front have better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EminMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We chose the Inn for a small family reunion on the occasion of our 50th wedding anniversary. It was perfect for everyone, grandparents and toddlers alike. Hotel guests included several other families with children that weekend, yet there was no noisinesss or congestion because public areas are spacious and rooms well separated. There are views of Golden Gate from many windows, rocking chairs on the front porch and a fire pit out back, and a cheery, serene dining room serving buffet breakfast with some of the best croissants west of Paris. The staff were all helpful, providing our daughter and son-in-law with free passes to the excellent YMCA gym down the street, finding the closest RC church for my sister, mapping out nearby walks and the best playground for the children, and identifying birds. The Presidio is an incredibly beautiful place, a retreat from the city bustle, and a place where you can appreciate history. Its new Inn is also convenient for travelers who want to park their car easily. It is surprisingly quick to drive downtown or to Golden Gate Park or across the bridge to the Marin Headlands, and we did see guests using both taxies and car services.

Room Tip: Best views are from upper floor windows on front of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We called for reservations several months before our trip, having read an article that the Inn at the Presidio had just opened. Are we ever happy we did! From the first contact at reservations to the last when settling our bill and departing, we enjoyed our experience. The staff is really friendly, welcoming, knowledgable and anxious to please. They are rightfully proud of the Inn and happy to share the background history of the place. They are also quite knowledgeable about the restaurants on and around the property and will make reservations for you based on your interests.

We arrived late, having flown from the East Coast with a plane change, and missed the Inn's happy hour, but several couples were outside around the fire enjoying themselves so it looked like fun - with canapes and wine choices available for guests. We had wanted to try the Dixie Restaurant, having read and heard very good things about it but it was late, we didn't think we could do justice to fine dining, so tried the staff member's alternate suggestion of the Presidio Social Club----excellent choice. Another historic building, eclectic crowd, great food and wait staff.....well worth a visit too!

Our room was the least expensive as we were staying not even 24 hours, but it was fine. The room looked like an upscale bachelors quarters - not very large but very comfortable, and with everything we needed. Best of all, we could see the Golden Gate Bridge from our window!!!The bathroom was very modern, with all amenities, so we were quite happy.

The breakfast next morning (hearty continental) was excellent - fresh fruits, fresh pastries, yogurts, cereals, etc. and excellent coffee! Before leaving, we took a walk up the hill behind the Inn, which has spendid views of the Golden Gate and Bay Bridges, depending which paths you take. It is well worth spending some time walking around the park - lovely and peaceful with drop dead views!

The hotel is a relatively easy drive from the SF airport, and well situated if you are planning to head to parts north.

All in all we had a wonderful experience here. We wish our trip had allowed longer time to enjoy the Presidio - but will definitely stay here again for a longer visit next time we come to San Francisco!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silverwings928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,506 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
3,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,474 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,759 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Presidio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Presidio

Address: 42 Moraga Ave, San Francisco, CA 94129-1122
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $335 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Presidio 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most unique San Francisco hotel experience comes from the Inn at the Presidio. Tucked into the luscious Presidio—a National Historic Landmark—this hotel near Golden Gate Bridge was once an elegant home for bachelor U.S. Army officers. The Inn at the Presidio, in the northwest corner of the city, has 22 rooms, 17 of which are suites including a gas fireplace and sofa sleeper. Complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese receptions are part of your stay. Our San Francisco lodging also features an outdoor patio with a gas fire fit, porches with rocking chairs, and grand public lobby areas. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout the whole Presidio hotel, as well as a daily morning newspaper. In its Georgian Revival-style building, the inn also has meeting spaces for functions of up to 20 people which can be reserved for private, memorable events and meetings. Enjoy easy access to the Pacific Ocean, Crissy Field, Fisherman’s Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Park, and other quintessential sights. For unmatched San Francisco accommodations, book your Inn at the Presidio reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at the Presidio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing