We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every Way---Do Not Hesitate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at the Presidio
Ranked #3 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
2 reviews
“Perfect in Every Way---Do Not Hesitate”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Book early because this new gem will sell out quickly! On par with Ritz SF or Ritz Half Moon Bay or Hotel Drisco but even better because absolutely everything is new and fresh (even the old architecture). Much smaller property so feels more like home. Fantastic staff: friendly, attentive, accommodating but not overwhelming. Tremendous value. $6 per night parking is unheard of in the city center hotels and plenty of parking spaces here. Free fast wifi. Wonderfully presented European continental breakfast included. High quality bedding and towels. Beautiful spacious bathrooms. Stayed in forest view queen (226) the first evening, as that was all that was available. The suites are already sold out many weekends in the future, so book early. Forest view queen had one of the biggest showers I've ever seen. Moved to classic king suite (331) on Sunday, for the remainder of my stay. King suite included tub and shower, as well as gas burning fire place. Gorgeous landscaped property with cozy fire pit in back for hotel guests. As a solo female traveler, felt perfectly safe the entire time, even walking from car to hotel entrance after a late evening dinner out. Wonderful experience in every way possible.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieRivet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    84
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
226
310
20
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This place is an amazing find: beautiful, historic, fabulously restored building, friendly and attentive staff and you are right smack in the Presidio. Who could ask for more. Great running trails for runners right out the door.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We came up from LA to visit our daughter who lives just south of the Presidio. Thinking about seeing the Golden Gate Bridge just a week after its 75th Anniversary celebration and to play golf at the Presidio Golf Course was another primary motivation for our trip which we have done before. Our daughter mentioned the Inn At The Presidio as a possible place to stay this last weekend. What a great time we had! The Inn's suite was just as it was pictured. The breakfast offered was excellent both days. The backyard setting is fabulous and the service first rate. I left a ring in a black box in the room's safe by mistake and didn't realize it until I unpacked at home. I called the desk Sunday night around 9:30 PM and the clerk located the ring and is sending it back to me. I think the Inn is perfect for a stay that would take you from Marin to Golden Gate Park and from the Cliff House to Ghirardelli's Square after playing 18 at the PGC as well as visiting family or friends in the San Francisco area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We just complete a fantastic four day stay at the Inn at the Presidio! Rooms were also booked for my son's wedding guests and all sixteen of us had an amazing experience staying there. All the staff, especially Terry and Brett, were very accommodating and gracious about fulfilling requests for our guests.The rooms are very clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated to represent the historic significance of the building. The continental breakfast consisted of an great assortment of meats, cheeses, pastries, and muffins. Welcome time from 5-7 pm was delightful since you can take your wine outside to visit around the outdoor fire pit. Transportation arrangements are available and you can walk to the Disney Museum. The Presidio bus pass can take you to the Embarcadero area. The Inn provides a unique experience that captures an integral part of SF history and creates a delightful experience for locals, business travelers, and tourists. I would highly recommend including it in your plans when visiting San Francisco.

Room Tip: The front rooms/suites allow you to easily walk out on the balcony to relax in the chairs and enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

I'll keep it short and sweet! The staff rocks... Especially my new friends Brett & Armando at the front desk! Great reception at night... Drinking wine by the fire place in the rocking chairs.. Awesome breakfast. Hands down the best inn I've ever been to! :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thepugtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

I'll keep it short and sweet! The staff rocks... Especially my new friends Brett & Armando at the front desk! Great reception at night... Drinking wine by the fire place in the rocking chairs.. Awesome breakfast. Hands down the best inn I've ever been to! :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thepugtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I recently stayed here with my family for 2 nights in one of the King Suites on the 3rd floor and I was blown away by the level of service we received by the staff! Check-in was smooth and very private at a desk, not like a busy hotel where you feel like just another last name arriving. Our family was walked to the room and given a full orientation which helped immensely as some of the gadgets in the room were fairly high tech. There was no elevator because it is a historic property but the gentleman lugged our bags up the stairs without a problem! The suites are great for what you pay for and very large and extremely modern! The parlor area has a fireplace which is a nice touch and the beds are SOOO comfortable! We like to get a suite so that we can accommodate the whole family. The parlor had a queen pullout couch that was surprisingly comfortable for my two young sons. I have stayed in a smaller suite in Union Square for over $600/night. The location was great. You feel away from the city.... like vary far away! I don't know annoy other hotel in SF that has a forest with walking trails behind it and a fire pit to enjoy! With that said, you are only 5 minutes to Chestnut Street and Union Street with great restaurants and shops and Union Square/downtown/embarcadero area is only a short ride away. One downfall was that we had a hard time getting a cab. They told us about the free shuttle that was available to downtown but instead we called down to the front desk and surprise surprise, they were able to get a shiny black town car waiting in front of the hotel in about 5 minutes and even better all the charges were billed to our room! (We didn't even have to tip the driver). They even called the restaurant to tell the host that it was our son's birthday and they brought him out a bowl of ice cream! I couldn't believe it! Service is not dead! The breakfast in the morning had a great spread and the evening reception in the evening was very impressive with the wine flowing! We had a live Pianist to serenade us and wow was she good! Would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat! I hesitated to write this review because I didn't want to let people in on our new found secret, but I just can't help but to hope that many more can enjoy this hidden gem as much as we did! -Larry & Kathleen

Room Tip: Spend the extra money to stay on the 3rd floor. Its only $50 more and you get a great view of the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 229 in San Francisco
1,460 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
470 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Presidio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Presidio

Property: Inn at the Presidio
Address: 42 Moraga Ave, San Francisco, CA 94129-1122
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Presidio 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most unique San Francisco hotel experience comes from the Inn at the Presidio. Tucked into the luscious Presidio—a National Historic Landmark—this hotel near Golden Gate Bridge was once an elegant home for bachelor U.S. Army officers. The Inn at the Presidio, in the northwest corner of the city, has 22 rooms, 17 of which are suites including a gas fireplace and sofa sleeper. Complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese receptions are part of your stay. Our San Francisco lodging also features an outdoor patio with a gas fire fit, porches with rocking chairs, and grand public lobby areas. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout the whole Presidio hotel, as well as a daily morning newspaper. In its Georgian Revival-style building, the inn also has meeting spaces for functions of up to 20 people which can be reserved for private, memorable events and meetings. Enjoy easy access to the Pacific Ocean, Crissy Field, Fisherman’s Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Park, and other quintessential sights. For unmatched San Francisco accommodations, book your Inn at the Presidio reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at the Presidio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing