We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place”
Review of Inn at Golden Gate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Golden Gate
Ranked #141 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had the small room above the reception. Clean room & in a quiet area at night. Free parking comes in very handy in the busy city. Leave your car there & use the MUNI system to get around.
The receptionist clued us in to the public transport system & theres a bus stop to all the good stuff just round the corner.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ_Lamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 219 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this motel in San Francisco. It is quite far from the centre but very near to the Golden Gate Bridge and the Presidio Park. Very well served by buses. No subway or tramway or cable cars in the vicinity.
The room was spacious and clean, although not very bright.
Breakfast is available at the reception room but only to take away. Quite poor breakfast and the personnel of the hotel checks the amount of pastries taken, usually not more than one per person. Breakfast not available after 9 o’clock.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonMacLaisheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I normally travel on a budget when coming to SF, since I never spend any time in the hotel other than to shower and sleep. So the Country Hearth Inn (which was mistakenly reported on one of the travel sites as being in Fisherman's Wharf) seemed like a good choice when my normal Wharf Inn was full. The free parking and free WiFi were also attractive. I was forewarned from previous reviews about the parking; there are about 8 spots, but usually (emphasis on "usually") you can find free parking on the streets, assuming you don't mind getting up before 7:30am to move your car. I was impressed by how nice the woman was when I checked in...and that was where I ceased to be impressed. The room was no frills for sure, although it was clean. The carpeting was torn, the TV had a horrible picture, the towels felt like burlap bags, the curtains didn't block out all the light, and the springs could easily be felt through the bed. To top it off, despite signs at the office which read that no guests were welcome in the rooms (which should have been a clue), someone came pounding on all of the doors at 2am until he found his friend--who unfortunately was in the room next to mine. Which furthered my impression that the walls are paper-thin, as I could hear their conversation until about 5am. There goes the sleep portion of my stay. They offered pastries and coffee in the morning, with a sign insisting that the guest take the pastries back to the room. I guess because eating them in the 10ft square office was appealing? Oh yeah, and the WiFi worked for about 4hrs before crapping out. Next time, I'll pay an additional $50 to get some sleep somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

As many have written here, the Country Hearth Inn on Lombard Street near the Presidio is a lovely, no-frills motel convenient to just about everything in San Francisco. It is clean, well taken care of, it's lovely owners are friendly and very helpful, and it is off the busiest part of Lombard, so it's decently quiet as well.

How close are you from this little gem to the majors of the city? How about:

Golden Gate/Crissy Field: 1.5 miles
Marina District/Presidio: cross the street, Marina eighth of a mile or less
Palace of Fine arts: 3-4 blocks
Giradelli square: mile or so
Lombard Street: mile or so
Chinatown: 2.5 miles
Castro/Downtown: 2.8 miles
.... and the list goes on

The muni buses go right by the motel, so you can get anywhere in the city easily; there are 20 or more good restaurants within 6 block radius; two of the best bars in the city (the FinalFinal and Liverpool Lil's) are steps away.

So yes, you might have to park on the street, but does it really matter? The money you will save staying at this "plain jane" motel will still leave money in your pocket.

And here's one last little secret: You can be out of the city and on your way in less than 20 minutes.......

Room Tip: All the rooms are exactly the same.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KingGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights with friends during a visit to San Francisco. Parking is VERY limited, we were lucky to get there early and didn't move our car during our stay. The location is quite a distance from Fisherman's Wharf, so you might want to take the bus Muni 30 on Chestnut and Filmore, cheap at $2 a ride. The room was clean but very a standard, just a place to lay your head after a fun day of sightseeing. The staff was very helpful. Overall a good stay, but there may be better alternatives, we just didn't shop around very much.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fore4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Very clean, quiet, and convenient hotel for an affordable (compared to other SFO hotels) price. Glad we didn't pay top dollar (or rack rate) for this as it was not really worth the posted rate. Got a decent rate off a discount site. Parking was available in the afternoon but not at night; however, it was very easy to find street parking. This advantage (free/easy parking) gives the hotel a definite advantage. Don't believe the "free breakfast" - think not-so-great donuts and basic cup of brewed coffee. Room was dark (back in a corner) but it was servicable. Nothing to do at the hotel except sleep -- which was all we needed. Not sure it would be a great choice if you have small kids along (just because of size). A good choice for a night or two.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter (away from Lombard Street); they are also quite dark. Didn't need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunfishrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The owners are Indian and quite helpful. We stayed here for 3 nights, total price was $225, this was less than the price we saw on the internet.

Parking space is very limited, I guess there were 10 available places so we got one and left the car there for all of the three days.
Location is great, you can reach everything by foot or bus, we did everything by foot because we liked to walk and see the beautiful city.

The wifi connection is very good.

The room was clean and the shower was good.

The breakfast was very small but we were ok with that.

I would really recommend this motel to anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guido W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#108 of 230 in San Francisco
1,046 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#161 of 230 in San Francisco
680 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#114 of 230 in San Francisco
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#150 of 230 in San Francisco
559 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#125 of 230 in San Francisco
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Golden Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Golden Gate

Address: 2707 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2411 (Formerly Country Hearth Inn San Francisco)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $123 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Golden Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Golden Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hearth Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Country Hearth Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing