We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service is very poor and we'll not be back!”
Review of Inn at Golden Gate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Golden Gate
Ranked #137 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
6092521381
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Customer service is very poor and we'll not be back!”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

There is free WiFi but very limited parking space. The room is clean but very noisy. We heard the garbage truck type of noise every morning (all three mornings). Customer service is the worst among all the equivalent places we had stayed in many years. For the same among of money, we will not go back to this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 120565123J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    98
    55
    13
    13
See reviews for
48
85
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This place is cheap (we got the summer deal) and convenient (it's right on the edge of Golden Gate Park and a short walk to buses that will take you to all the main attractions. But don't expect any frills to come with it. The 'continental breakfast' is comprised of stale pastries and tiny cups of coffee in the corner of the reception area, the room is old, the safe is broken and the fridge can be used at a daily fee. However, it's in a safe neighborhood and we never felt like it was a problem walking back late at night. You get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a deal - the rooms are not worth the regular rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hta88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I just needed a place to store my luggage, take a bath, lay my head down, and get dress. One of my concerns was location. I wanted someplace nice but cheap and with Country Hearth that is exactly what I got. The surrounding neighborhood is filled with expense homes and expenses cars. There are two main Muni lines close by, an I HOP and a Walgreens down Lombard street and the entrace to Presidio Park up the hill. And two block down you have the Palace and a clear view of the Golden Gate bridge. For shopping and meals a few quick blocks on your on Chestnut Street (down hill). We skipped the free breakfast and did not use the wifi so I can't comment on that. The room itself was clean, and the bed was comfortable to me. I was happy with what I paid for.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zendora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in late May 2011. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was nice. The location is on Lombard Street, which is a busy thoroughfare, but the hotel is two blocks away from where the traffic veers off towards the Golden Gate Bridge, so it's actually on a fairly quiet block. There are only 5 or 6 on-site parking spaces, but there was always free parking on the street (the Presidio is only a block away). There are not a lot of attractions within walking distance, but SF has such great public transportation that it's easy to get around without your car.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarryBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Bad smell in the room. Felt old and dirty. Too exepnsive due to the standard. No parking.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stina00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Nievre France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed here on the 02 April 2011, before flying home to France. In 10 days we had stayed in a lot of motels through California and Arizona. I can honestly say that this was the best. From the really friendly welcome, to the really comfortable room, it was a great stay and I wish that we could have stayed longer. It was ideally placed for seeing Fishermans Wharf, China Town etc, but also really quite, which for an insomminac like me is very important. The morning we left, they even helped me to do on-line check in for our flights and print off our boarding passes. Brilliant people, fantastic motel, can't recommend it high enough!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie58NievreFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2011

This inn was good, though no parking. Receptionist was good and very polite. Inn is by Golden Gate Bridge and Exploratorium, and bus number 30 runs all along Chestnut street just adjacent to the street this inn is on.

Now the room. Room was comfortable, clean, and economical with all the essentials, hair dryer, ironing devices, tele, phones, and etc.
Quiet and romantic
The price I paid was not much.

I recommend this inn to anyone who is looking for a Bargain.

Lincoln golf is just in to the Presidio.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zhodhan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#158 of 228 in San Francisco
577 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#156 of 228 in San Francisco
647 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#113 of 228 in San Francisco
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#130 of 228 in San Francisco
150 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#145 of 228 in San Francisco
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Golden Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Golden Gate

Property: Inn at Golden Gate
Address: 2707 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2411 (Formerly Country Hearth Inn San Francisco)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Golden Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Golden Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hearth Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Country Hearth Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing