We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Big Bus Tours
from $35.00
More Info
from $110.00
More Info
from $35.00
More Info
from $75.00
More Info
Reviews (8,962)
Filter reviews
8,962 results
Traveler rating
4,645
2,110
901
555
751
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,645
2,110
901
555
751
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night tour live guide hop on hop the golden gate bridge sausalito tour top deck hour pass union square great tour treasure island fisherman's wharf haight ashbury painted ladies lombard street audio tour blake driver
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 8,962 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a really great way to see the city of San Francisco! Our guide (Neal) was FANTASTIC!! So knowledgeable and a great sense of humour. You can get off and stay as long as you want at any of the stops and just hop back on another bus when you’re ready to leave. Highly recommend this tour to see a bit of everything, with the option of seeing more of what interests you the most!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Hison1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolinaBBT, Customer Service Agent at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of Big Bus San Francisco. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour with Neal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I don’t write that many reviews but I feel I need to complain about the treatment my family and I got. Firstly, this tour is not a circuit tour, you get sold tickets for $55 at union square and get told that it will take you back. You get to fisherman’s Wharf and they kick you off to get another bus as apparently your tour ends there. So moral of the story is do not listen to the ticket sellers at union square. When you get to fisherman’s Wharf you have to line up to get the next available bus which is as much as 30 minutes. It should be renamed, hop on, kicked off, wait for 30 mins and begrudgingly get on again. Both times getting asked to tip - for a non service. Also a party in my family has special needs which at no point was catered for - especially standing in the heat for the next bus whilst the big bus tour operators at stop one argued that we should have known - as if it is our fault. Finally, if you are looking for a tour that is full of historical facts and entertaining commentary - you will be left wondering - especially if your headphone port does not work which mine did not and I had to plug into the one behind me. I was lucky as my bus was full so I was able to do that. Would definitely not recommend this tour.

2  Thank teatime121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolinaBBT, Customer Service Agent at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and feedback of Big Bus San Francisco. I am sorry to hear about your tour experience. All our routes are effectively loops. In most cases, yes the tour will head back to where it started. However due to operational reasons you may be required to change buses at the last stop of the route. Our buses depart from Stop 1 every 15-20 minutes during peak seasons. I am sorry to hear the audio malfunctioned on your tour. If you would like to further discuss your tour experience please contact me directly at Carolinaf@bigbustours.com or via live chat in the contact us section of our Big Bus App

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They kept us over 30 minutes at 1030 am to board the bus! There were 3 buses parked, no one had common courtesy to explain what's going on, they turned head the other way when asked! Such a bed start of the day!!!
Another thing was our guide Morgan. He tried hard but it was quite unpleasant and challenging listening to his raspy and accented voice.
The city is absolutely stunning, it it worth to do the bus tour, just with different company.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank TrailBlazer485409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolinaBBT, Customer Service Agent at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and feedback of Big Bus San Francisco. I am sorry to hear about your tour experience. Our buses depart from stop 1 every 15-20 minutes. Not all buses are equipped with a live guide, generally every other departing bus will contain a live guide. The free Big Bus app, is available to download the app will indicate which buses contain live guides versus pre-recorded commentary that you can switch to if you are not enjoying the storytelling style of the live guide. If you would like to further discuss your tour experience please contact me directly at Carolinaf@bigbustours.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have used the Big Bus tour all around the world and never before have we experienced such bad service! We queued in union square for 1 1/2 hours just to get on a bus! If we hadn’t already paid for the tickets at our hotel we wouldn’t have continued. Hop on hop off wasn’t really an option because if you got off, there was no way you would get a seat when you wanted to get on again so we endured a tedious boring ride round the city, our bus didn’t have a guide! When we finally got off at the Golden Gate Bridge to visit Sausalito we waited another hour for the green route! The only saving grace of our trip was big Mike, the driver and tour guide who took us around Sausalito. ( he’s the reason for 2 stars rather than 1). At the end of our very long day when we waited for the shuttle back to union square, yet another delay and 2 bus changes, a manager gets on to apologise and asks how our day has been, when we gave her feedback on how we had wasted so much time, her response was staff sickness. Reading the reviews below I would say this is a regular occurrence for this company. I would definitely not recommend using Big Bus in SF.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank unocrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolinaBBT, Customer Service Agent at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and feedback of Big Bus San Francisco. Not all buses are equipped with a live guide, generally every other departing bus will contain a live guide.The free Big Bus App will indicate which buses contain live guides versus the pre-recorded commentary. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your tour with Big Mike. If you would like to further discuss your tour experience please contact me directly at Carolinaf@bigbustours.com or via live chat in the contact us section in our Big Bus App

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have done this experience in other cities and loved it but not in San Francisco! Company very poorly run and definitely no focus on customer service. They oversold tickets. When I arrived for to start my day I had to wait 45 minutes to get on a bus. I asked if I could get a refund and was told to look on the web site which states no refunds due to long lines even if you had not started the tour. When I finally got on the bus it was standing room only. It was so packed you couldn't see anything. The driver was the only person on the bus. He did his best but, people were upset and twice had to stop to break up arguments almost all out fist fights from frustrated and angry customers. Do not waste your money on ruin your vacation experience by using this company. Horrible experience!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Jebhart62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolinaBBT, Customer Service Agent at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and feedback of Big Bus San Francisco. I am sorry to hear about your tour experience. All of our refunds are handled online by our finance department in New York. I would like to talk more about your tour experience to further investigate what you experienced on the bus. If you would like to further discuss your tour experience please contact me directly at Carolinaf@bigbustours.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews