We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anthony & Anthony”

Big Bus Tours San Francisco
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #37 of 284 Tours in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy the beautiful city of San Francisco on top of an open top, double-decker bus. Experience the diverse culture of the city by visiting the unique neighborhoods including Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, Haight/Ashbury District, Union Square, SoMa, Civic Center, Alamo Square.Journey through Golden Gate Park and cross the infamous Golden Gate Bridge! Hop on and hop off at any of our 20 stops located throughout the city. All tickets include free bike rental and walking tours of North Beach neighborhood and Chinatown. Visit us at our San Francisco Visitor Center at 99 Jefferson Street in Fisherman's Wharf.
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Anthony & Anthony”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Anthony & Anthony are a fantastic team as driver and guide. We spent an afternoon and evening with them Great time!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerry-Howell-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,262
    1,158
    471
    278
    354
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good way to get a feel of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Big Bus is a good way of getting a feel of the city. The full trip takes 2 hours++, but do make hop offs. The best part I found was the explanations and anecdotes the guides give on the tour. If possible sit close to the guide as they can be difficult to hear from the back. The two day tour is worthwhile if you want to see Sausalito. It includes shuttle to town plus an evening tour (90 minutes, take warm clothing!) for 12 $ extra.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellehoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dissatisfied”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

After an hour wait at Unilm Square the bus did not follow the route on the map. We did cross the Golden Gate which was one of the reason I chose this tour but the rest of the ride was very disappointing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lesbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Buses never came, got a refund”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We chose to take a big bus tour since we only had a day in the city left. The agent that sold us our tickets told us the busses pass every 15 minutes. We waited at Union Square for over 45 minutes and only 2 busses, all of which were full, came. As the lineup grew bigger, and after seeing multiple busses from other companies pass us by, we decided to ask for a refund. If we were to wait this long for the bus on every stop we wanted to make, it would not be worth it. The agent told us they do not process refunds. He instructed us to wait for the bus and go to the Big Bus head office. After waiting another 15 mins to no avail, we decided to ask the agent again. He told us all of their busses were stuck on the golden gate bridge traffic as another bridge in the city was closed that day. The other companies had decided to ré-route in order to avoid this traffic and Big Bus still wanted to offer the bridge sightseeing. The agent instructed us to walk across town to get our refund (to fisherman's wharf). After 30 minutes, we get to the office to get told that refunds are only processed by mail....

Very bad experience. I cannot recommand such a service. You are able to take my money on the street but cannot process refunds. The agent at Union Square was not only aggressive and incredibly impolite, he offered no help with regards to directions or alternatives to the tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ericmartineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good option to see the city!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Great option, loved Doug, the tour guide. He was fun and made it a great experience with lots of fun facts and tips. The guys selling the tix a bit pushy though. Once they found out we already had tickets the customer service ended.

Helpful?
Thank BDTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Big Bus Tours San Francisco also viewed

 

Been to Big Bus Tours San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing